You are here


Library Instruction - Information Literacy

Orientation and Instruction

The Library’s core workshops have been mounted in the Links section of our new home page under the heading "Research Skills Tutorial." 
 
Senate regulations require that these workshops “be integrated as a required component into each undergraduate program in the earliest-level course (or courses) that expect(s) the use of the library." However, we encourage you to make these workshops a compulsory part of any course requiring the use of library resources. The workshops teach students library fundamentals; they require no class time on your part; they may be done at any time by students; and best of all, once they have been done, they need not be done again as students can print off as many certificates as they require. Students need the information in these workshops if they are to exploit the library to the fullest. If you would like your own password, please contact the E-Learning Office, ext. 3962.
 
In addition to the online workshops, special in-class instruction in your discipline is also available. To make your arrangements, contact Ashley Thomson at ext. 3322. For instruction about the Archives, contact Marthe Brown, ext 3339.

 

Services

Class Space

The Library has small rooms available that may be reserved on special occasions for classes. Contact the Access Services Desk, ext. 4800.

The Library Instruction Room (30-230) which seats up to 40 and the Brenda Wallace Computer Centre, which has 25 terminals,  are also available for your classes. To book, contact Ashley Thomson, ext. 3322.

Exams

Exams are available on the library's web site pursuant to the following motion passed by Senate on March 17, 1994: "that past examination papers be made available to students and that these examinations be accessible through the library in electronic format. An exception can be authorized by the Senate Committee on Teaching and Learning." Please send your exams in .pdf format to librarywebmaster@laurentian.ca.

GIS/DATA

Numeric and geospatial data are available for teaching and research. Laurentian has a site licence for software such as SPSS and ArcGIS Desktop. For assistance, contact gis@laurentian.ca.

Photo Identification Cards

Photo identification cards are the property of Laurentian University and are used by University faculties, services and staff to identify you as a member of Laurentian and to give access to campus services. These include library privileges, photocopier use, cafeteria, and entrance to the gym. For faculty, these cards are available at no charge.

If you are a new faculty member or have not yet obtained a card, should complete the Online Application Form and return it to the Access Services Desk.  If you already have a card, you may also obtain a renewal sticker at that desk. For more information, please click here.

Promotion

Each year, the library has over 1,000 high school students participate in orientation sessions, and we have space available in the classroom for attractive unit/program promotional brochures and posters. Contact Ashley Thomson, ext. 3322.

Research Assistance

Librarians are available to give you personalized assistance in conducting literature reviews.

Circulation

Faculty may borrow a maximum of 50 books. Books are due 120 days from the date of borrowing, and are subject to recall after 3 weeks if requested by another borrower, or after 3 days if required for Reserve.

Faculty may renew books once using the My Account link in the catalogue; for additional renewals, books must be presented at the Access Services Desk.

Late returns are subject to a fine of $0.50 per day per item. For more information, please contact Access Services.

Email Notification

For items with a loan period of more than 4 days, a reminder notice will be sent to the email address associated with your library system account before the item is overdue. Two overdue notices will be sent to the same email address after the item is overdue. After an item is more than 30 days overdue, you will be sent another notice, and a $5 fine will be applied to your account.

Your LU Library Account

Login to your library account through the catalogue to renew your books, to see which books you have out, to place holds, and to verify whether you have fines owing.

Your username and password are the same as your GroupWise and D2L account.

If you do not know your password, click below the login screen.

Access to Resources @ LU

The reserve collection, periodicals, the reference collection, atlases, recreational paperbacks, newspapers, as well as indexes and abstracts are located on the second floor.

Circulating books and the government documents collection are located on the third.

The Archives, located on the first floor of the Desmarais Library, houses the following special collections: Regional; Faculty; Mining Environment Vertical Files; Rare Books; 4th Years Honours Essay and Theses; and Archives.

The J.N. Desmarais Library also contains several specialized collections spread throughout the building such as the Collection franco-ontarienne and the Mining Environment collection.

E-books

E-books are a terrific new resource that the library in acquiring, largely because they may be accessed anywhere there is an internet connection.

They are located in two different places:

  • Some may be located by using the library’s catalogue. These records will have [electronic resource] in the title.
  • E-books can also be located by searching in e-book collections. Searching in these collections is the same as searching in a database.
  • A complete list of ecollections is available here.

Access to the Collections

Access to Laurentian’s library collections starts with the catalogue. Electronic collections are also available from off-campus through our proxy server. For faculty, the default log-in and password are your Novell log-in and password. For assistance, contact Information Technology, 706-675-1151, ext. 2200.

Books within the library are accessible through the catalogue in various ways including by author, title and subject. So too are all the special collections housed in the Archives as well as government documents . If you need help finding government information in print or online,  consullt  Mr. Tomasz Mrozewski, ext. 3325

Periodical articles are found using online indexes and abstracts from the library’s home page from on- and off-campus. For recommended databases and other online and print resources by subject, click on the "Databases" link on the home page.

The library subscribes to over 50,000  periodicals in full-text electronic format. For those available only in print or in microformat, use the catalogue to see whether the J.N. Desmarais Library has the periodical title containing the article you want. Like books, periodicals In print are organized on the shelves by Library of Congress call number; periodicals in microformat are organized by title.

Archives

The archival fonds are all on or from Northern Ontario. These primary sources mostly pertain to (by alphabetical order) : Arts, culture and communications media; Clubs & social organizations;  Economy; Education; Labour; Mining industries and related activities; Politics & Politicians; Population & socio-ethnic groups; Religious communities; and Sudbury.

Finding aids for Laurentian’s archival fonds are most easily accessed from the the Archives website on the Library’s Home Page. Ask at the Library Information Desk for details or contact Ms. Marthe Brown, ext. 3339.

Paperbacks

A selection of popular paperbacks, most contributed by the SGA, is available on the south side of the second floor.  In 2011,  graphic novels were added to this collection.

Newspapers

Current issues of local and Toronto newspapers are available daily in a special rack at the entrance to the newspaper shelves.

DVD's and Interfilm

All DVD's formerly in the Instructional Media Centre have been moved to the Reserve Section and equipment is available on site to view such films. The IMC has retained all VHS tapes.

If you wish a DVD or VHS tape for class purposes, please search the Watmedia Catalogue to ensure it is available--and then email Laurentian Interfilm with the specifics of your request, including the date(s) you will need the item.  Plan ahead a couple of weeks before submitting your request. For more information, contact Ashley Thomson, ext 3322.

Maps

Topographical maps for the country and base maps for Ontario are located in the centre of the second floor of the library.

Music

The library has a large collection of 33 1/3 rpm (long play) recordings comprised mostly of classical music from the baroque era through to the twentieth century.

There also is a selection of jazz and popular music recordings. The loan period is one week.

Collection Development

How Librarians Can Help You

Librarians are responsible for ensuring the balance and integrity of the collection by working in close collaboration with departments, schools and program leaders.

Responsibilities for collection development are outlined in the tables below:

Unit Subject Librarian
Architecture Cindy Derrenbacker
Anthropology Ashley Thomson
Archeology Ashley Thomson
Archives Marthe Brown
Biology Alain Lamothe
Chemistry & Biochemistry Alain Lamothe
Commerce Ashley Thomson
Computer Science Dan Scott
Data and GIS Tomasz Mrozewski
Earth Sciences Alain Lamothe
Economics Tomasz Mrozewski
Education (EN) Diane Michaud
Education (FR) Diane Michaud
Engineering Leila Wallenius
English Ashley Thomson
Environmental Studies Tomasz Mrozewski
Forensic Science Alain Lamothe
Français TBA
Geography Tomasz Mrozewski
Government Documents Tomasz Mrozewski
History Ashley Thomson
Human Kinetics Dan Scott
Indigenous Social Work Ashley Thomson
Law and Justice Ashley Thomson
Library Science Cindy Derrenbacker
Mathematics Dan Scott
Midwifery Diane Michaud
Modern Languages Diane Michaud
Music Dan Scott
Nursing Ashley Thomson
Philosophy Tomasz Mrozewski
Physics Alain Lamothe
Political Science Tomasz Mrozewski
Psychology Ashley Thomson
Social Work Ashley Thomson
Sociology Ashley Thomson
Sports Administration Dan Scott
 
Special Programs Subject Librarian
Behavioural Neurosciences Alain Lamothe
Collection franco-ontarienne TBA
Interdisciplinary Health (MA) Tomasz Mrozewski
Humanities MA Ashley Thomson
Indigenous Relations (MA) Ashley Thomson
Labour Studies Ashley Thomson
Orthophonie TBA
Radiation Therapy Alain Lamothe
Science Communication Leila Wallenius
Sport Psychology Dan Scott
Théâtre AC
 
 
PhD Programs Subject Librarian
Biomolecular Sciences Alain Lamothe
Boreal Ecology Alain Lamothe
Human Studies Leila Wallenius
Materials Science Alain Lamothe
Mineral Deposits Alain Lamothe
Natural Resources Engineering Leila Wallenius
Rural and Northern Health Tomasz Mrozewski
 
 
 
 

Library Representatives

Library representatives, selected by their colleagues, are the departmental/school/program contact persons. Library representatives are encouraged to assist librarians in developing a collection that will support the academic needs of students and the research needs of faculty.

Building the Collection

Ordering
To ensure that the available budget is expended responsibly, we strongly encourage all ordering units to submit orders to their unit's library representative by the end of December. Library representatives will pass these orders on to the librarian responsible for each discipline. After Friday 28 February 2015, no new orders will be accepted for this academic year.
 
Collection Principles
The Library normally does not purchase two copies of a book; it does not as a general rule purchase textbooks.
 
Reading Lists
Please send copies of your assignments/reading lists to the appropriate librarian so that the Library can determine whether the items are available. You will be contacted if there are any problems regarding specific titles.
 
Gifts
The Library welcomes gifts of either money or materials and is prepared to offer a receipt for income tax purposes. Materials are added to the collection as appropriate. Contact: Alain Lamothe, ext. 3304 or for archival material, Marthe Brown, ext. 3339.
 
Faculty Publications
If you have published a book, we would appreciate your donation of a signed copy for the Faculty Authors’ Collection and a second copy for circulation. All donations are acknowledged, and you will receive a charitable donation receipt upon request. We strive to make faculty publications available within a day of receipt. Contact: Alain Lamothe, ext. 3304.
 
Institutional Repository
The J.N. Desmarais Library institutional repository, called LU|ZONE|UL, enables you to deposit electronic copies of your journal articles, creative works, presentations, and other scholarly materials to support open access to information and significantly increase the visibility and impact of your work. For more information, contact Ashley Thomson, ext 3322.

Reserve Material

In nearly all cases, material is placed on Reserve for specific courses at the request of faculty. An Online Reserve Form is available from the Library’s home page. Most books are drawn from the stacks, although faculty may also put personal copies on reserve.
 
To ensure that the material you want is available when needed, please contact the Access Services Desk at least 1 week ahead of time. If any item must be ordered from a supplier, please allow at least 2 extra weeks for the order to be processed.
 
Because of a copyright agreement, you may also place more than 1 copy of an article on reserve provided that extra copies are added at the ratio of 1 per 15 students. For articles that will be heavily used, the Library encourages all faculty to make them available through the bookstore’s course package service.
 
Detailed guidelines for the Reserve collection are available from the Access Services  Desk, ext. 4800. For further information, contact Lise Seguin, ext 3336.

Getting Material not held @ LU

Interlibrary Loans - RACER

For material not held in the J.N. Desmarais Library, use RACER, which is accessible from our home page. 

Normally articles are emailed to your GroupWise account. Books must be picked up at the Access Services Desk.

Please note that you must register before launching your first request.

There is generally no charge to obtain either books or articles although small changes apply if ordered items are not picked up within three weeks.

A book may only be borrowed once.  It may not be renewed or borrowed a second time. Books which are not returned on time also incur a charge of $1.00 per each day overdue.

For further information, please click here, or contact Ashley Thomson, ext. 3322.

Direct Borrowing

Faculty who visit other university libraries in Canada may borrow directly from these libraries with a valid ID card, and may return their books at Laurentian at no charge. For information, please contact circulation@laurentian.ca.

Equipment

Cash Card Loader

Located on the second floor, the cash card loader will allow you to replenish your LU ID card. You can redeem money from your card throughout the campus at various photocopiers, printers, vending machines, coffee shops and the cafeteria.

Laptops, IPADS, and Netbooks

The library loans laptops, IPADS, and Netbooks at the Access Services Desk. For details, contact Ms. Lise Séguin, ext 3336.

Microform Readers

New equipment has been placed in the Microform section of the second floor, which gives you the option of converting pages on microform to .pdf documents.

Photocopiers

Photocopiers are available on the second floor. Your student photo ID card serves as your photocopy card. Visit the Access Services Desk to add money to your card, or do it yourself on the machine in the photocopy area. With a card, the cost per page is 8 cents.

Printers

Printers are located in the Learning Commons on the second floor. Printing is available in black & white or colour. Once the document is sent to the printer, login to the touch screen monitors next to the printers to retrieve your document using the same username and password you used to login to the computer.

Scanner

You can scan from any of the library photocopiers and email the output to yourself. There is no charge for the use of this and  it is capable of scanning in black & white, grey, or colour. For help using the photocopiers to scan, please ask for help at the Access Services Desk.

 

Self-Checkout

A self-checkout machine has been installed opposite the Access Services  Desk on the second floor.

Telephone

A public phone is available by the elevator outside the library opposite the entrance on the second floor. An in-house phone which reaches university numbers is available near the book bin on the first floor.

Vending Machine

You may buy various types of small equipment and supplies, such as memory sticks and pens from a machine placed just inside the library entrance, second floor.

Policies

Collection Development Policy

To view specific details of the Collection Development Policy, click here.

Donation Policy

To view specific details of the Donation Policy, click here.

Policy on the Access and Loan of Library Materials

 

To find out the specifics on loan periods, renewals, and charges, click here.

Library Code of Conduct

 

To view specific details of the Library Code of Conduct, click here.

Feedback

We are always interested in your opinion about our collections and services. If you have a suggestion you may complete our online form, or visit, phone or write:

Alain Lamothe
Chair, Department of Library and Archives
ext. 3304 or alamothe@laurentian.ca

or

Brent Roe
University Librarian
ext. 4841 or broe@laurentian.ca