- Home
- Research Guides
- Anthropology
- Data and Statistics
- Education
- Geospatial Data at LU
- Government Information
- Guide to Library & Archive Services for Faculty 2011-2012
- Guide to Library and Archive Services for Students 2011-2012
- Human Kinetics
- Interlibrary Loans (RACER)
- Labour Studies
- Law and Justice
- Modern Languages
- Music
- Off-Campus Library Services
- Psychology
- Sociology
- Sports Administration
- General Reference Resources in the English Language
Anthropology
- Home
- Get Started
- Get Books
- Get Articles
- Human Relations Area Files
- Citing Sources
- Get References into RefWorks
Home
Research Consultations
I am available for research consultations throughout the academic year. If you would like to arrange for an individual research consultation, please e-mail me with a requested date and time, and a brief description of your research interest.
Courses
For information about Laurentian's Department of Anthropology and the courses it offers, please visit the Department of Anthropology web site.
Welcome!!
The purpose of this guide is to recommend print and electronic resources for conducting research in anthropology in the Library. Click on the tabs above for suggestions about starting your research, getting books and articles, and finding other useful tools for research in anthropology.
Connect from Off Campus
Most of the Library's online resources are available to you from anywhere off campus. See: Proxy Server Accounts
Get Started
Quick Tips on Preparing For Research
Before you start:
- understand the key terms you may be using as well as the general area that interests you;
- think about ways to narrow your topic, making it as specific as possible (unless you have been given a specific topic to research!);
- create a thesis statement;
- list the main concepts (key words) included in your thesis statement (research question), then based on your readings;
- find as many synonyms as you can for each main concept. You are now ready to start searching in the library's catalogue and databases.
When you are looking for definitions or if you don’t know much about a specific subject, referece works such as dictionaries and encyclopedias become invaluable because they contain relatively short—and understandable—articles. These articles often lay out the parameters of a subject and can assist you in trying to narrow your topic. Often such articles are accompanied by lists of readings (bibliographies) which allow you to explore your topic further.
Two of the very best general reference works are:
The right panel features some of the key resources in each one of the three areas in which the discipline of Anthropology is studied at Laurentian (leaving aside, therefore, Linguistic Anthropology, the fourth sub-discipline).
Archaeology
- Dictionaries
The Concise Oxford dictionary of archaeology. 2003. (Print)
- Encyclopedias
Encyclopedia of historical archaeology. 2002.
Encyclopedia of human evolution and prehistory. 2000.
- Bibliographies
Cultural Anthropology or Ethnology
- Dictionaries
Dictionary of concepts in cultural anthropology. 1991. (Print)
- Encyclopedias
Countries and their Cultures. 2001. (Print)
Encyclopedia of cultural anthropology. 1996. (Print)
Encyclopedia of world cultures. 1991-2002. (Print)
Physical (or Biological) Anthropology
- Dictionaries
Dictionary of concepts in physical anthropology. 1991. (Print)
- Encyclopedias
The Cambridge encyclopedia of human evolution, 2002. (Print)
Encyclopedia of human biology, 1997. (Print)
Get Books
Search the Catalogue
The catalogue is your primary tool for finding books in the J.N. Desmarais Library. You can also use the catalog to find other materials, including government publications and journals (the journals themselves- not individual articles).
You can search the catalogue by:
- Keyword
- Title
- Journal Title
- Author
- Subject
- Series
When you know the book you are searching for, pick Title or Author; when you are searching for a topic, start with Keyword unless you know the exact Subject heading describing your topic. More on searching the Catalogue is available in Module 1 of the online library workshop program in D2L.
IMPORTANT: The Catalogue wil tell you what books are available in the J.N. Desmarais Library--well almost all books. There are e-books available to you as well, not all of which are listed in the catalogue.
And if you want to find what books are available in libraries around the world--many of which will not be available on campus--then you need WorldCat, which you would use in conjunction with RACER, the interlibrary loan service.
E-Books
E-books are located in two different places:
- Some may be located by using the library’s catalogue. These records will have [electronic resource] in the title.
- E-books can also be located by searching in e-book collections. Searching in these collections is the same as searching in a database.
Recommended E-Book Collections
Ebrary (close to 40,000 e-books in multiple subject areas)
Scholars Portal E-Books (over 250,000 e-books in multiple subject areas. Select Full Text Only to find only those e-books with full text)
WorldCat
With nearly 200 million records representing titles held by nearly 75,000 libraries you will find almost any book every published in WorldCat.
Maximum Simultaneous users: Unlimited
Search Tips: Once you log-in, click on the Help Button: 

After your search, when you see a title that interests you, click it on and within the record you will see:
When you click that on, you will be led to a menu which allows you to check for availability in Laurentian’s catalogue or order the item through Interlibrary Loan.

Note: There is a "public" version of WorldCat accessible over the internet. You will find that the version available through the university contains a much more powerful search engine; further because of the "Get it @ Laurentian" feature, the university's version makes it much easier for you to obtain the books you want.
Get Articles
Quick Tips
The databases to the right provide references to many scholarly journal articles and papers.
- Start off with keyword searches expressing your topic.Keyword searching crosses all fields.
- Use Search Operators (below) to Expand or Reduce your results.
- Review those items that look relevant, then,
- Exploit the details within those entries to help lead you to other relevant articles. Pay attention to the subject headings (typically called "descriptors") to see how the database describes your topic and use them to find related articles.
Search Operators
|
Function
|
To EXPAND Results
|
Example
|
|
Truncation (*. $, !)
|
Replaces one or more characters of a search term.
|
Canad* (searches Canada, Canadas, Canadian etc.)
|
|
OR
|
The result contains at least one of the search terms.
|
(Cultural anthropology or Ethnology)
|
|
To REDUCE Results
|
||
|
AND
|
The result contains all of the search terms.
|
Archaeology AND Canada
|
|
NOT
|
The result does not contain the specified term.
|
Anthropology NOT Linguisitic Anthropology
|
Note: Always place (Terms separated by OR in parentheses)
Peer Review
Peer Review is the evaluation of creative work by scholars in the same field in order to maintain or enhance the quality of the work in that field.
In the case of peer reviewed journals, which are usually academic, peer review generally refers to the evaluation of the articles in them prior to publication.
For more follow this link.
Subject Databases
Anthropology Plus |
|
| Database Description: |
Recommended starting database. Offers worldwide indexing of all core periodicals, in addition to lesser known journals, from the late 19th century to today. In addition to journal articles, indexes reports, commentaries, edited works and obituaries in the fields of social, cultural, physical, biological and linguistic anthropology, ethnology, archaeology, folklore, material culture and interdisciplinary studies. Maximum simultaneous users: 15 Search Tips: Once you log-in, click the Help Button |
Abstracts in Anthropology |
|
| Database Description: |
Abstracts contain short summaries of articles and Abstracts in Anthropology is the only comprehensive abstracting journal in the field providing a thorough coverage of anthropological scholarship in all its subfields: * Cultural Anthropology * Physical Anthropology * Archaeology and * Linguistic Mamimum simultaneous users: Unlimited |
Annual Review of Anthropology |
|
| Database Description: |
Note: Works better in Mozilla Firefox. Comprehensive review of the literature in anthropology. Identifies major tends in the field as well as find general overviews of research in specific subject areas of anthropology. Mamimum simultaneous users: Unlimited |
Anthrosource |
|
| Database Description: |
Is a digital searchable database containing the past, present and future publications of the American Anthropological Association (AAA. It includes: * more than 250,000 articles from AAA journals, newsletters, bulletins and monographs in a single place, and * cross-disciplinary resources for all things anthropological. Mamimum simultaneous users: Unlimited |
Getting Articles @ Laurentian
In any database, when you see an article that interests you, click it on and within the record you will see:
![]()
When you click that on, you will arrive at a menu which will lead to an electronic copy of the article you want, or, if not available electronically, to Laurentian's catalogue which will allow you to check if the article is available in print, and if not, to a final link which allows you to order the item through Interlibrary loan.
Some Related Databases
Academic Search Complete |
|
|
Database Description: If you have never done research before in Anthropology, ASC is good for basic research. Indexes nearly 11,000 scholarly and other publications covering academic areas of study including social sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, language and linguistics, arts and literature, medical sciences, and ethnic studies. Includes full text for about 5300 of the periodicals. Mamimum simultaneous users: Unlimited |
|
JSTOR |
|
|
Database Description: JSTOR includes the archives of over one thousand leading academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, as well as select monographs and other materials valuable for academic work. The entire corpus is full-text searchable, offers search term highlighting, includes high-quality images, and is interlinked by millions of citations and references. Note: Normally the journals in JSTOR are five years from current; further, all JSTOR journals are available through the "Get it @ Laurentian" link from other databases. JSTOR should NOT be used as at the first resort. Mamimum simultaneous users: Unlimited |
|
Social Sciences Citation Index |
|
|
Database Description: The Social Sciences Citation Index is a multidisciplinary index to the journal literature of the social sciences. It fully indexes over 1,950 journals across 50 social sciences disciplines. It also indexes individually selected, relevant items from over 3,300 of the world's leading scientific and technical journals. In addition, as a citation index it allows you to start with a relevant article--and see what literature has cited this article after it was published. Mamimum simultaneous users: Unlimited |
|
Human Relations Area Files
Human Relations Area Files
Human Relations Area Files, Inc. (HRAF) is an internationally recognized organization in the field of cultural anthropology. Founded in 1949 at Yale University, HRAF is a not-for-profit membership consortium of universities, colleges, and research institutions. Its mission is to provide information that facilitates the cross-cultural study of human behavior, society and culture.
In the 1930s, behavioral scientists at Yale's Institute of Human Relations started to develop a classification of cultural information by subject, providing quick access to research materials. HRAF grew out of these efforts. Today, HRAF is committed to developing dynamic, fully-indexed electronic collections on the World Wide Web. HRAF has two electronic collections: eHRAF Collection of World Cultures and eHRAF Archaeology.
eHRAF World Cultures
eHRAF World Cultures is an online cross-cultural database that contains information on all aspects of cultural and social life. The annually-growing eHRAF database is unique in that the information is organized into cultures and ethnic groups and the full-text sources are subject-indexed at the paragraph level. This ethnographic database is unique because each culture or ethnic group contains a variety of source documents (books, articles, and dissertations) that have been indexed and organized according to HRAF's comprehensive culture and subject classification systems:the Outline of World Cultures and the Outline of Cultural Materials (OCM). These retrieval systems extend search capability well beyond keyword searching thus allowing for precise culture and subject retrieval, even in a foreign language.
Mamimum simultaneous users: Unlimited
eHRAF Archaeology
eHRAF Archaeology is a cross-cultural database containing information on the world's prehistory. This annually-growing eHRAF database is organized by archaeological traditions. The full-text sources are subject-indexed at the paragraph level. eHRAF Archaeology is a unique resource designed to facilitate comparative archaeological studies.
Mamimum simultaneous users: Unlimited
Citing Sources
Why Cite?
We cite sources to acknowledge the work of others, as well as to avoid academic dishonesty or plagiarism.
Laurentian's Psychology Department has made available a comprehensive set of guidelines on How NOT to Plagiarize that is based on one prepared 1998 by Margaret Procter, Coordinator of Writing Support, for distribution at the University of Toronto. It deserves to be read by every student since at Laurentian academic dishonesty is a very serious offence.
Style Guides in Laurentian's Anthropology Department
At Laurentian, professors will specify the citation style to be used.
In Archaeology, for example, the American Antiquity style guide is the default.
In the other branches of the field, many require The Chicago Manual of Style (15th edition, 2003) and Merriam-Webster’s Collegiate Dictionary (11th edition, 2006). This guide is an outline of style rules basic to our journal editing. Where no rule is present on this list, follow Chicago. In Webster’s, use the first spelling if there is a choice and use American spellings, not British ones. (This guide does not apply to newsletters, which deviate frequently from these guidelines in the interest of space and tend to follow many Associated Press style rules.)
- AAA Style Guide (PDF document)
Source: American Anthropological Association. Publications
Get References into RefWorks
Refworks
RefWorks is a web-based bibliography manager that allows you to :
- Import references from electronic resources such as research databases or catalogues into a personal database;
- Organize the references according to your needs;
- Create a bibliography in the style of your choice;
- Export it into a file to be included with your assignment, report, or project.
You will need to sign up (using your laurentian email account) for an individual account the first time you use RefWorks
Transferring References from a Subject Database
This database provides no exporting feature to RefWorks. Instead, the desired citations will need to be copied manually into your RefWorks account: Annual Review of Anthropology (one citation at a time, unless browsing articles within a single issue)
- Click on article title to view full record.
- Click on Download to Citation Manager.
- Select Citation and abstract for this article and RefWorks as the file format.
- Click on Download Chapter Metadata.
Anthrosource
Transferring References from a Related Database
Social Sciences Citation Index

