- Home
- Research Guides
- Anthropology
- Data and Statistics
- Education
- Geospatial Data at LU
- Government Information
- Guide to Library & Archive Services for Faculty 2011-2012
- Guide to Library and Archive Services for Students 2011-2012
- Human Kinetics
- Interlibrary Loans (RACER)
- Labour Studies
- Law and Justice
- Modern Languages
- Music
- Off-Campus Library Services
- Psychology
- Sociology
- Sports Administration
- General Reference Resources in the English Language
Off-Campus Library Services
- Getting Started
- Accessing Electronic Resources
- Your RACER Account
- Your LU Library Account
- Getting a Photo I.D. Card
- LU @ Georgian Students
- Contact Us
Getting Started
What services do we provide?
The Laurentian University Libraries will provide you with supplementary readings and books and/or articles on the subjects you are researching for your off-campus courses. The University's Online Catalogue as well as a series of Online Journal Indexes and Abstracts have been made available for searching. Please feel free to browse through our collection.
You are also encouraged to pursue information resources in your local community to complement the Library's materials.
Are you eligible to receive these services?
You must live 50 kilometres or more from Sudbury.
You must be presently enrolled in a Laurentian University course offered through the Centre for Continuing Education, or
You are registered in a course given by Huntington University, Thorneloe University, or the University of Sudbury.
NOTE: Off-Campus Library Services are not provided for on-campus courses, regardless of the distance you live from Sudbury.
For Laurentian students at the Georgian College campus, please refer to the LU@Georgian students information tab.
Getting Books & Articles
If you wish to obtain books or articles from Laurentian's print collection or from other libraries, you will use our interlibrary loan system called RACER.
Be sure to check the catalogue first before you place a RACER request to determine whether the material you require is available to you electronically.
For more information on RACER, please click here.
Textbooks
Check online at university Bookstore for current listings of required and/or suggested texts for your course. You may purchase your texts online through the Bookstore, or fax or mail a completed Textbook Order Form.
To contact the university bookstore call 1-800-461-4030, extension 2606 or 705-673-6504, or fax 705-675-4801.
Accessing Electronic Resources
LU Proxy Accounts

LU distance education students have access to all of LU's electronic resources (e-journals, e-books, databases, statistical information & more) through Laurentian University's proxy (off campus) access.
What is a proxy?
A proxy is a special login and password that allows you to authenticate yourself as an LU student, regardless of your physical location.
What is my proxy?

Your proxy user name & password are included in your registration package with your GroupWise and Web Advisor information. It should look like this:
- Username follows the format: first initial middle initial (mg) underscore (_) last name or first initial last name. If there are duplicate usernames, a number will follow. The middle initial may be x or y. Examples: mg_thomson / mthomson / mthomson02
- Password is your birth date + last 3 digits of your Laurentian student number. Example: mmddyy####
If you have access problems, please contact the Information Technology help desk:
Telephone: 1-800-461-4030, extension 2200
Email: lcts@laurentian.ca
Your RACER Account
What can I borrow?
Any library material that is not available to you electronically, can be ordered through RACER, whether the material is located in Laurentian's own collections - or elsewhere.
Note: Laurentian is unable to supply any loaned materials from other libraries to students residing outside North America.
Registering for a RACER account
Please register for RACER by completing the online registration form. For the "Choose your location" field select "Home Delivery - for Distance Education students only".
Important
Check the catalogue to make sure the desired material is not available online as either an e-book or electronic journal article. For information on how to access our online resources, click here.
In addition to searching our catalogue, WorldCat is an excellent resource for finding books on a topic.
When searching for articles on a specific topic, please consult your subject databases.
Unable to access your account?
If you have incurred any library fines you will be banned from using RACER.
For information on how to pay library fines click on Your LU Library account information tab.
After payment of fines, you must also email RACER@laurentian.ca to have your borrowing privileges reinstated. You must send this email or the ban will continue.
Home Delivery
Articles will be delivered to your email address only. Library materials will be shipped to the address you registered with for a RACER account. If you move, please be sure to update your RACER account details.

A postage paid shipping label will be provided in your package, taped to the front of the book. When finished with your library material, return the books to the J.N. Desmarais Library taping the postage paid shipping label onto the original envelope sent to you.
Loan Period
When borrowing books from Laurentian's collections, you will have them for a period of 3 weeks. The due date will be stamped on the bookband and this date allows one week for shipping. Please ensure that the material is back at Laurentian by the due date which means you must ship the material at least one week before it is due. It is important to make note of the due date as overdue fines are applicable at $0.50 per day. A book, if not requested by another borrower, can be renewed up to 3 times. For information on how to renew, click here.
When borrowing materials outside of Laurentian's collections, the loan period is 3 weeks with no renewals and no re-orders. Borrowers will be charged $1 per day for any material which is overdue.
No more than 30 books may be borrowed at any one time.
Inquiries
For more information, please refer to the Interlibrary Loan policies.
For general inquiries, please email racer@laurentian.ca.
If you would like to talk to someone about RACER, please contact Dorothy Robb at 1-800-461-4030, extension 3318.
You may lso contact Mr. Ashley Thomson, Interlibrary Loan Coordinator, at 1-800-461-4030, extension 3322.
Your LU Library Account
Checking Your Account
At any time, you can view your library account to see which books you have signed out, when they are due, whether you have any fines owing, etc.
To learn how to access to your library account, please click here.
Loan Period
Undergraduate students may borrow Laurentian books for a period of 21 days to a maximum of 30 books.
Graduate students may borrow Laurentian books for a period of 120 days to a maximum of 50 books.
Renewing Books
All books from Laurentian's collection may be renewed up to 3 times, for a further 21 day loan period, unless requested by another borrower. A 120-day book may be renewed once.
To learn how to renew your Laurentian University library material, please click here.
Your username is your Laurentian email address. If you do not know your password, click below the login screen.
If you have no remaining renewals on your library account and still require a book, please contact Off-Campus Library Services by phone (1-800-661-1058, extension 2) or by email.
Lost Books
Loss of documents must be reported immediately.
Materials not returned 28 days after the due date are presumed lost. The charge for lost Laurentian books is either $30 per item or the replacement cost of the item. There also is a $5 service charge. The loss of documents from other libraries will be governed by RACER policy.
The user will also owe any overdue fees that have accumulated, until the item has been returned or claimed as lost.
Library Fines
If you have incurred any library fines, you may pay by cheque, money order, or credit card.
Cheques and money orders can be made out to Laurentian University and sent to:
Attention: Circulation
J.N. Desmarais Library
935 Ramsey Lake Road
Sudbury ON P3E 2C6
Credit card payments can be made by telephone. Please call the Circulation Department at 1-800-661-1058, extension 4 or 705-675-4800 to pay with VISA or Mastercard.
Getting a Photo I.D. Card
Why should I get a student photo I.D. card?
To borrow books in person from a Laurentian University library or any other Canadian university library, a Laurentian student must present a student identification card. This card may also be used for photo identification purposes when writing exams.
A student card can also get you great discounts locally and nationally, as many services and shops will give students special offers and reductions. So don´t forget to use your student card and always ask what student offers are available; you are guaranteed to save some money!
How do I renew my student I.D. card?
To renew your student identification card, please email Off-Campus Library Services indicating your student number and mailing address. A renewal sticker will be shipped to you. Please place it over top of the previous school year's expiration date.
How do I order a student I.D. card?

To request a student identification card, please email a recent digital photo of yourself to distance_l@laurentian.ca, complete the photo I.D./library card form
(168k) and either fax this form to 705-675-4877 or mail to:
Off-Campus Library Services
J.N. Desmarais Library
935 Ramsey Lake Road
Sudbury Ontario, P3E 2C6
LU @ Georgian Students
Library Services

Laurentian University @ Georgian College students have access to a wide variety of library services and resources at both Georgian College and Laurentian University. Please click here to find out what is available to you and how to access it.
Accessing Electronic Resources
For information on how to access Laurentian's electronic resources (e-books, e-journals, databases & more), click here.
Contact Us
You can inquire about Off-Campus Library Services by telephone, fax, mail, or email.
Telephone: 1-800-661-1058, extension 2 or 705-675-1151, extension 3317
Fax: 705-671-3803 (Attention: Off-Campus Library Services)
Email: distance_l@laurentian.ca
Mailing Address: Off-Campus Library Services
J.N. Desmarais Library, Laurentian University
935 Ramsey Lake Road
Sudbury Ontario, P3E 2C6

Ashley Thomson, Librarian
Interlibrary Loans & Distance Education Coordinator
Telephone: 705-675-1151 or 1-800-461-4030, extension 3322
Email: athomson@laurentian.ca
Office: J.N. Desmarais Library, 30-245
