- Home
- Research Guides
- Anthropology
- Data and Statistics
- Education
- Geospatial Data at LU
- Government Information
- Guide to Library & Archive Services for Faculty 2011-2012
- Guide to Library and Archive Services for Students 2011-2012
- Human Kinetics
- Interlibrary Loans (RACER)
- Labour Studies
- Law and Justice
- Modern Languages
- Music
- Off-Campus Library Services
- Psychology
- Sociology
- Sports Administration
- General Reference Resources in the English Language
Government Information
- Home
- City of Greater Sudbury
- Ontario
- Canada
- Other Provinces and Territories
- Other Countries and International Organizations
- Finding CODOC Call Numbers
Home
Welcome
The J.N. Desmarais Library is a full depository library for the Government of Canada. Our collection of government documents is the largest in Northern Ontario. Search the library's catalogue for documents in print or electronic format.
We have the following print collections.
- Federal Government
- Provincial Governments
- International Governments
- International Organizations
Also, please visit the Government of Canada Publications website as most documents are only available online.
Did you know....
In February 2012, the long awaited report of the Commission of the Reform of Ontario's Public Services entitled "PUBLIC SERVICES FOR ONTARIANS: A PATH TO SUSTAINABILITY AND EXCELLENCE" was released. It is also called the "Drummond Report", after the Chair of the Commission, Don Drummond.
Government Information Librarian
Sylvie Lafortune, MA, MLIS
Email: slafortune@laurentian.ca
Tel. : 705-675-1151 ext. 3330
Need help?
I am available for research consultations throughout the academic year.
City of Greater Sudbury
Maps
Maps of the City of Greater Sudbury
Core:
| Downtown | Lockerby |
| Flour Mill - Donovan | Minnow Lake |
| Gatchell - Westend | New Sudbury |
Outlying communities:
Electoral Districts
General Information
- Key Facts
- Pearson, David A.B. and J. Roger Pitblado. (1995). Geological and Geographic Setting. In J. M. Gunn (Ed.), Restoration and Recovery of an Industrial Region. (pp. 5-15). New York, NY: Springer-Verlag.
- Greater Sudbury on Wikipedia
Municipal Elections
Ontario
Ontario Municipalities (produced and maintained by the Association of Municipalities of Ontario)
Our Ontario Government Documents
How Bills become law
Flowchart style diagrams of the legislative process for each type of Bill.
Acts and Regulations - when they come into force
Other Provinces and Territories
Provincial and Territorial Governments
Provincial and Territorial Legislative Assemblies
Other Countries and International Organizations
France
United Kingdom and the Commonwealth
The Stationary Office (TSO) Parliamentary and Legal Bookshop
The Official Website of the British Monarchy
United States of America
United States Government Printing Office
Finding CODOC Call Numbers
How to Find CODOC Call Numbers
-
CODOC is used to classify many of the print government publications. The call numbers are a combination of letters and numbers and are arranged on the shelves alphabetically by issuing country.
-
The Government Publications collection is located on the 3rd floor. Note that the collection is split in 2 sections: REFDOC and DOC.
-
The REFDOC collection covers mainly parliamentary publications (eg. Statutes of Canada, Senate and House of Commons, Canada Gazette, etc.) and material from Statistics Canada.
- The DOC collection includes departmental publications of federal, provincial and international governments.
-
Publications with CODOC call numbers are listed in the Catalogue. It is important to note the EXACT call number including all spaces.
Reading CODOC Call Numbers
Spaces in CODOC call numbers are used to indicate the end of each line in the call number.
For example, CA2ON H90 99S21 will appear on the publication as shown below:
| CA2ON |
CA - identifies the country (Canada); 2 - identifies the government level within the country (provincial); ON - identifies the province (Ontario) |
| H90 |
H - identifies the department (Ministry of Health); 90 - identifies the branch (Substance Abuse Bureau) |
| 99S21 |
99 - identifies the year of the publication (1999); S21 - unique document identifier |
*** Important Additional Information***
After 1999, the date field changed to 4 digits: i.e CA1 HW245 2000P23 where 2000 identifies the year of pulication
REFDOC documents are indicated by Ref.Doc. at the end of the call number - in a few cases it may only be indicated in the Copy Location information of the Catalogue record Government documents (Ref. ) (3rd floor)
CODOC call numbers are devised according to the following codes:
Country Code:
CA - Canada
Codes for Level of Government:
1 - Federal
2 - Province/Territory
3 - Region/County
4 - Municipal
Provincial Codes for Canada:
AL - Alberta
BC - British Columbia
MA - Manitoba
NB - New Brunswick
NF - Newfoundland
NT - Northwest Territories
NV - Nova Scotia
ON - Ontario
PE - Prince Edward Island
PQ - Quebec
SA - Saskatchewan
YU - Yukon Territory

