This guide brings together recommended resources for finding and doing research within the Education program.
Dictionaries, encyclopedias and handbooks
Academic subject specific resources offer definitions, as well as short introductions to key topics, concepts, methods and areas of study in the discipline.
Entries will often include a bibliography so you can learn about key authors in the subject area and get references to articles and books on the topic.
Explore this collection in Omni.
Curriculum Resource Centre (CRC)
The Education Resource Center is located in Room AR-102 of the Alphonse Raymond Building and it supports School of Education students in their studies and in their teaching placements. Its collection of over 16 000 items includes curriculum materials, textbooks, pedagogy, indigenous studies materials, as well as teaching aides such as picture books, novels, literacy games, science kits, charts, and math manipulables.
Searching for items in the Education Resource Center
Omni, Laurentian University’s library catalogue, includes all items held by the Education Resource Center. You can consult the Omni Help Guide for tips on searching the catalogue.
However, if you are looking for a children’s book about penguins, you may find that items held by other libraries make it difficult to find something suitable for children.
Instead, you can filter your search results to show just the Education Resource Center:
- Search Omni for the keyword(s) in which you are interested.
- On the left-hand side, click Laurentian Library to display the list of libraries and their number of matching results in parentheses.
- Click Education Resource Center to limit the results to just those held by the CRC.
Curriculum Resources
Access the Ontario Ministry of Education Curriculum Documents online through the Ministry of Education.
The Trillium List includes details about all textbooks approved by the Minister of Education. Search the list of textbooks educators can use to teach students in kindergarten to Grade 12.
Canteach provides free online resources for primary school educators.
Cube for Teachers includes over 95,000 open resources created by educators around the world.
National Centre for Collaboration in Indigenous Education
National Centre for Collaboration in Indigenous Education provides access to lesson plans to support learning about Truth and Reconciliation in Canada.
OER Commons provides access to numerous Open Educational Resources at no cost. The resources include K-12 lesson plans, worksheets and class activities. OER Commons is a searchable database and material can be located by subject and grade level.
Ontario Educational Resource Bank
The Ontario Ministry of Education provides a Resource Bank for resources by grade, subject/course, and expectations. A password is required for access and can requested through an Ontario school board.
The Elementary Teachers’ Federation of Ontario provides access to interactive lesson plans geared to the Ontario curriculum.
Tvolearn includes k-12 resources aligned with the Ontario curriculum.
Books for Children and Young Adults
CM: Canadian Review of Materials
Reviews Canadiana of interest to children and young adults, including publications produced in Canada, or published elsewhere but of special interest or significance to Canada, such as those having a Canadian writer, illustrator or subject.
World of Words is from the Univ. of Arizona College of Education. This Web site's mission is to promote high-quality, culturally authentic children's literature. “The goal of integrating global literature into classrooms and libraries is to challenge children and adolescents to understand and accept those different from themselves, thus breaking cycles of oppression and prejudice between people of different cultures. “
Users may do quick or advanced searches for books and receive bibliographic information and a brief description for each book found. The site presents the option of choosing from the categories of Region, Age, or Genre. Advanced Search allows users to specify one age group, one region, and one genre but precludes choosing multiple options under a category. Worlds of Words features two online journals: WOW Stories: Connections from the Classroom, containing vignettes written by educators about children's experiences reading and responding to literature, and WOW Review: Reading across Cultures, a quarterly whose reviews focus on the cultural authenticity of the text and illustrations. Also available are the WOW Currents blog and an events calendar limited to the University of Arizona area. Although somewhat narrowly focused, this site will be useful for teachers, parents, and librarians trying to pick the best books for children. Educators also will benefit from the teaching helps in the blog and from WOW Stories.
Education : main resources
ERIC provides education research literature (in the context of the North American educational system) to improve practice in learning, teaching, educational decision-making, and research. ERIC includes journal articles, conference proceedings, government documents, theses, dissertations, reports, audiovisual media, bibliographies, directories, and books. Coverage starts in 1966.
Content from the first part of the 20th century; "Education Index Retrospective provides a vast record of important education literature in an easily-searchable format. Find information on societal trends affecting education, for example segregation, multiculturalism, feminism, economic developments, and more." - from: http://www.ebscohost.com/academic/education-index-retrospective
Provides indexing and abstracts for nearly 300 peer-reviewed journals. Topics covered include Best Practices, Curriculum Development, Literacy Standards, Pedagogical Research, Instructional Media, Language Arts, Science & Mathematics, School Administration etc.
More than 4.5 million records from 1,730 titles covering current events, business, education, science, the arts, and academic information as produced in Canada. The database also includes a few Canadian legal journals that are in neither Hein Online nor Lexis-Nexis, also full-text.
To access full-text content click on "Click to Access H&PE Curriculum Resources" button (bottom right hand corner). Ophea works in partnership with school boards, public health, government, non-government organizations, and private sector organizations to develop groundbreaking programs and services that support healthy active schools and communities.
To access full-text content click on "Click to Access Safety Guidelines" button (bottom right corner). The Ontario Physical Education Safety Guidelines, managed by Ophea, represent the minimum standards for risk management practice for school boards. They focus the attention of teachers, intramural supervisors and coaches on safe practices, in every activity, in order to minimize the element of risk.