Dictionaries, encyclopedias and handbooks
Academic subject specific resources offer definitions, as well as short introductions to key topics, concepts, methods and areas of study in the discipline.
Entries will often include a bibliography so you can learn about key authors in the subject area and get references to articles and books on the topic.
Explore this collection in Omni.
Indigenous Studies : main resources
A bibliographic database covering all aspects of Indigenous peoples in North American culture, history, and life. This resource covers a wide range of topics including archaeology, multicultural relations, gaming, governance, legend, and literacy. BIPNA contains more than 141,000 citations for books, essays, journal articles, and government documents of the United States and Canada. Dates of coverage for included content range from the sixteenth century to the present.
Produced in partnership with the Assembly of First Nations, Inuit Tapiriit Kanatami, the Métis Nation, the National Centre for Truth and Reconciliation and Indspire, this open access four-volume set shares the stories, perspectives, voices and history of the Indigenous Peoples of Canada. The Atlas includes historic and contemporary maps and explores themes of language, demographics, economy and culture. Important topics such as treaties and residential schools are covered in-depth, as well as the contributions of Indigenous Peoples, their oral traditions and land-based knowledge. -- Publisher's description
A collection of historical images, maps and written sources concerning Inuit/Eskimo peoples. Covers 19th and 20th century, but is not meant as a source of current information. The emphasis is on items written by explorers, missionaries, ethnographers, and others who were among the first non-natives to travel among these peoples. Out of print and hard to find materials were given priority.
The Native Health Database contains bibliographic information and abstracts of health-related articles, reports, surveys, and other resource documents pertaining to the health and health care of American Indians, Alaska Natives, and Canadian First Nations. The database provides information for the benefit, use, and education of organizations and individuals with an interest in health-related issues, programs, and initiatives regarding North American Indigenous peoples.
From the University of Saskatchewan, the Indigenous Studies Portal (iPortal) connects researchers with electronic resources: books, articles, theses, documents, photographs, archival resources, maps, etc. The vision of iPortal is to provide one place to look to find resources for Indigenous Studies.