You are here

Ancient Studies - Home

Track Your Research

Zotero, a free, browser-based citation manager, is the standard tool at Laurentian. It can: 

  • Directly import references from article databases, the library catalogue, e-book collections, etc.
  • Manage and organize your references.
  • Create a bibliography.
  • Share your references with others
  • Add in-text citations and a bibliography directly into your assignment. 

Citing Your Sources

The Department's recommended style guide is the MLA Handbook, published by the Modern Languages Association. See Laurentian's Citation Style Guides for quick reference guides on commonly used citation styles, including MLA.

Welcome

Welcome to the Research Guide for Ancient Studies! The purpose of this guide is to recommend print and electronic resources for conducting research in Ancient Studies. 

Program

The Ancient Studies program is taught at Thorneloe University, a federated partner of Laurentian University. For more information on the Ancient Studies Program, including course descriptions, please visit the Thorneloe Website

Classical Association of Canada

The Classical Association of Canada is a national non-profit organization that aims to advance the study of the civilizations of the Greek and Roman World. The Association’s projects include an annual conference, two international scholarly journals, an electronic newsletter, translation and essay competitions, and much more.

Librarian for Ancient Studies

DMaley's picture
Name: Desmond Maley
Position Title: Associate Librarian
Email Address: dmaley@laurentian.ca
Extension: 3323
Office Location: 30-246, J.-N. Desmarais Library

More Help

In the library: The Library User Assistance Desk to your immediate left as you enter the library is a good place to start.

By email: Email the librarian responsible for your faculty for a reply during regular working hours.

By telephone: 705-675-4803, or toll free at 1-800-661-1058, ext. 2

By chat: With our "Ask the Library" service. For more information, see About Ask a Librarian.

For Distance Education students: Telephone: 1-800-661-1058, ext. 2 or email: Distance_l@laurentian.ca

Get Started

Quick Tips on Preparing For Research

Before you start:

  • understand the key terms you may be using as well as the general area that interests you;
  • think about ways to narrow your topic, making it as specific as possible (unless you have been given a specific topic to research!);
  • create a thesis statement;
  • list the main concepts (key words) included in your thesis statement (research question), then based on your readings;
  • find as many synonyms as you can for each main concept. You are now ready to start searching in the library's catalogue and databases.

When you are looking for definitions or if you don’t know much about a specific subject, reference works such as dictionaries and encyclopedias become invaluable because they contain relatively short—and accessible—articles. These articles often lay out the parameters of a subject and can assist you in trying to narrow your topic. Often such articles are accompanied by lists of readings (bibliographies) which allow you to explore your topic further.

Dictionaries

Useful Resources

Encyclopedias

Get Books

Shelf Searching

Materials relevant to Ancient Studies fall under several areas of the Library of Congress classification schedule. The following call numbers are the most important for materials on Ancient Studies:

B - Philosophy, Psychology, Religion

BL - Religions, Mythology

C - Auxiliary Sciences of History

CB - History of Civilization
CC - Archaeology
CJ - Numismatics
CN - Inscriptions, Epigraphy

D - History

DE - Mediterranean Region - Classical
DF - Greece
DG - Italy

P - Language and Literature

PA - Classical languages and literature

Ebook collections

The library has e-book collections that include books on antiquity. These books are listed in the catalogue, but this is another way to search for them.

The Library Catalogue

The catalogue is your primary tool for finding books in the J.N. Desmarais Library. You can also use the catalogue to find other materials, including government publications and journals (the journals themselves--not individual articles).

You can search the catalogue by:

  • Keyword
  • Title
  • Author
  • Subject
  • Journal Title
  • Series

When you know the book you are searching for, pick Title or Author; when you are searching for a topic, start with Keyword unless you know the Subject heading describing your topic.

Worldcat allows you to search for books worldwide. If we don't have it, you could request it through interlibrary loan.

Get Articles

Subject Databases

  • Année philologique ?

    Description: This is a specialized bibliographic database of scholarly works relating to all aspects of ancient Greek and Roman civilizations. L’Année philologique covers a wide array of subjects, including Greek and Latin literature and linguistics—which includes early Christian texts and patristics—Greek and Roman history, art, archaeology, philosophy, religion, mythology, music, science, and scholarly subspecialties such as numismatics, papyrology and epigraphy. Abstracts of journal articles are in English, German, Spanish, French or Italian. Books entries often include tables of contents and book review information. Access is limited to 5 concurrent users.

  • TOCS-IN (Tables of Contents of Journals of Interest to Classicists) ?

    Description: Provides the tables of contents of a selection of Classics, Near Eastern Studies, and Religion journals. Where possible, links are given to articles for which the full text or an abstract is available online (about 15%). The project began to archive current tables of contents in 1992, and now contains circa 185 journals, and over 45,000 articles

Related Online Resources

Related Databases

  • Arts & Humanities Citation Index ?

    Description: Fully indexes over 1,700 arts and humanities journals, as well as selected items over 250 scientific and social sciences journals — from 1975 to present. Covering subjects that include archaeology, art, architecture, asian studies, classics, dance, folklore, history, language, linguistics, literary reviews, literature, music, philosophy, poetry, radio, television, & film, religion and theatre.

  • Artstor ?

    Description: The Artstor Digital Library is a nonprofit resource that provides over 1.8 million digital images in the arts, architecture, humanities, and sciences with an accessible suite of software tools for teaching and research. Our community-built collections comprise contributions from outstanding international museums, photographers, libraries, scholars, photo archives, and artists and artists' estates.

  • Cairn ?

    Description: European French-language database with over 200 full-text journals in the humanities and social sciences.

  • Eureka (Biblio Branchée) ?

    Description: Canadian French-language database containing more than 5000 reliable and pertinent news sources covering international, national, regional and local news.

  • FRANCIS ?

    Description: Multilingual social sciences and humanities database. English and French searching options available.

  • Humanities & Social Sciences Index Retrospective: 1907-1984 ?

    Description: Humanities & Social Sciences Index Retrospective™: 1907-1984 offers a broad range of subject coverage in the humanities and social sciences with high-quality indexing of more than 1,300,000 articles in nearly 1,100 periodicals, dating as far back as 1907, as well as citations of over 240,000 book reviews.

  • JSTOR ?

    Description: JSTOR includes the archives of over one thousand leading academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, as well as select monographs and other materials valuable for academic work. The entire corpus is full-text searchable, offers search term highlighting, includes high-quality images, and is interlinked by millions of citations and references. Note: Normally the journals in JSTOR are five years from current; further, all JSTOR journals are available through the "Get it @ Laurentian" link from other databases. JSTOR should NOT be used as at the first resort.

  • Scholars Portal ?

    Description: Scholars Portal is a service of the Ontario Council of University Libraries. Founded in 2002, Scholars Portal provides a shared technology infrastructure and shared collections for all 21 university libraries in the province.

  • Periodicals Archive Online ?

    Description: Periodicals Archive Online is a major archive that makes the backfiles of scholarly periodicals in the arts, humanities and social sciences available electronically, providing access to the searchable full text of hundreds of titles. The database spans more than two centuries of content, 37 key subject areas, and multiple languages.

  • Project MUSE ?

    Description: Project MUSE offers full-text current and archival articles from 600+ scholarly journals from major university presses covering literature and criticism, history, performing arts, cultural studies, education, philosophy, political science, gender studies, and more. Updated continually.

  • Philosopher's Index ?

    Description: The Philosopher's Index is a comprehensive, bibliographic database covering worldwide research in all areas of philosophy. It features: the inclusion of documents from philosophy and interdisciplinary publications, extensive indexing, and author-written abstracts. Philosophers prescreen potential source documents for relevance to the field of philosophy; this enables the inclusion of articles from interdisciplinary journals and contributions from interdisciplinary anthologies that pertain to philosophy. The database provides global coverage, with source publications from more than 135 countries, and has records from 1940 to present, with additional records dating back to 1902. It includes more than 530,000 records in 37 languages. Sources includes: journals (print and e-journal articles from more than 1600 philosophy and interdisciplinary journals); books/monographs, including encyclopedias, dictionaries and book series; anthologies; contributions to anthologies from philosophy and interdisciplinary anthologies; and book reviews.

Primary Sources

 

Laurentian's print collection includes multiple volumes from the Loeb Classical Library. Each volume contains the ancient text on the left page and an English translation on the right page. 

The Corpus Scriptorum Latinorum provides a catalogue of Latin texts that are currently available online. 

The Library of Ancient texts Online provides a catalogue of Greek texts that are currently available online. 

 

Citations

Citations of ancient authors (Hdt. 8.45, Thuc. 1.23, etc.) are enclosed in brackets within the text of the essay. They should be referenced by their traditional divisions, e.g. Hdt. 8.45 (= Herodotos, Book 8, chapter 45) or Pl. Symp. 175d3-5 (=Plato, Symposium 175d3-5). Poetry (including poetic translations of epic and drama) should be cited by line number, not page number, e.g. Verg. Aen. 4.285 (= Virgil The Aeneid book 4 line 285) or Hor. Carm. 2.10.3 (= Horace Odes book 2 poem 10 line 3). Unless it is absolutely necessary, ancient authors should not be referred to by the page number of a modern translation (if that is absolutely the only way to do it, then you must ensure that all the publishing information for that particular translation is also included with the essay).

Abbreviations of names of Greek and Latin authors and works should in general follow those used in the Oxford Classical Dictionary

(see the University of Waterloo's citation of sources, from which this is partly drawn, for more information on citing sources).