You are here
- Reference Sources
- Helpful Databases
- Quick Database Links
- Architecture Journals
- Image Sources
- Architectural Drawings
- Materials Collection
- Writing Architecture Sources
- Citing Sources and Zotero
- Professional Practice
- MArch Thesis Resources
- Printing FAQ
- One School, One Book
- GSPL Resources
- Contact Us
The Architecture Library is located on the second floor of the McEwen School of Architecture at 85 Elm Street in downtown Sudbury.
If you wish to access the Architecture Library and are not a LU architecture student, staff or faculty member, please contact the library (email: firstname.lastname@example.org or telephone: 705-675-1151, extension 7273) in advance to schedule a visit.
CLOSED: September 3 (Labour Day)
Library hours are subject to change on short notice. For an up-to-date view of our library hours, go to laurentian.ca/library-hours.
Follow us on Instagram
Follow us on Instagram for updates and events at the Architecture Library.
Photograph. Paseo del Prado, Madrid. Available from: Artstor Digital Library, http://library.artstor.org/asset/ARTFILE_DB_10311365737 (accessed March 7, 2018).
Library staff on the move...
Picking up the J. P. Carlhian collection in Concord, MA, USA.
Mies Van Der Rohe in Detroit
Cindy and Dorothy at the AASL conference in Detroit touring Mies Van Der Rohe in Lafayette Park.
Note: Most book materials may be referenced at Laurentian University’s McEwen School of Architecture Library.
Association of Architecture School Librarians (AASL)—Core Reference List:
For a list of key architectural reference materials recommended by AASL, see: http://woodbury.libguides.com/content.php?pid=576715. Note that the list has an American orientation and that Laurentian does not carry every title.
Association of Architecture School Librarians (AASL)--Core Periodicals List:
For a list of key architectural periodicals recommended by AASL, see http://www.architecturelibrarians.org/page-1364618. Note that Laurentian does not carry every title. A list of the architecture-related holdings through Laurentian University is forthcoming.
Architecture: An Introduction
Jacobsen, Max. Invitation to Architecture: Discovering Delight in the World Built Around Us. Newtown, CT: The Taunton Press, 2014. Call # NA 2550 J33 2014
Simitch, Andrea and Val Warke. The Language of Architecture: 26 Principles Every Architect Should Know. Beverley, MA: Rockport Publishers, 2014. Call # NA 2550 S56 2014
Roth, Leland M. and Amanda C. Roth Clark. Understanding Architecture: Its Elements, History, and Meaning. 3rd ed. Boulder, CO: Westview Press, 2014. Call # NA 2500 R68 2014
Architectural Theory: (western emphasis)
Davies, Colin. Thinking About Architecture: An Introduction to Architectural Theory. London: Laurence King Publishing, 2011. Call # NA 2500 D38 2011
Mallgrave,, Harry Francis, ed. Architectural Theory, 2 vols. Malden, MA: Blackwell Pub., 2006-<2008>. Call # NA 2500 A7115 2006 vols. 1 & 2 (This is an anthology.)
The American Institute of Architects. The Architect’s Handbook of Professional Practice. Hoboken, NJ: Wiley, 2014. Call # NA 1996 A726 2014
Cuff, Dana. Architecture: The Story of Practice. Cambridge, MA: MIT, 1992. Call # NA 1996 C84 1992
Delaney, Miriam and Anne Gorman. Studio Craft and Technique: the Architecture Student’s Handbook. Dublin: University College Dublin, 2011. Call # NA 2708 D45 2011
Pressman, Andrew. Professional Practice 101: Business Strategies and Case Studies in Architecture. 2nd ed. Hoboken, NJ: Wiley, 2006. Call # NA 1996 P76 2006
Cole, Emily. A Concise History of Architectural Styles. London: Herbert Press, . Call # NA 204 C66 2003
Kalman, Harold. A History of Canadian Architecture. Toronto, ON: Oxford University Press, 1994. Call # NA 740 K35 1994 vols. 1 & 2
Ricketts, Shannon et al. A Guide to Canadian Architectural Styles. Peterborough, ON: Broadview Press, 2004. Call # NA 740 R53 2004
Smith, Roger T. An Illustrated History of Architectural Styles. London: Omega Books, 1987. Call # NA 200 I55 1987
Architectural Drawings (available at the McEwen School of Architecture Library) - lists:
Biographical: (Note: perform a subject search in library catalogue using the terms “architects” and “biography” to retrieve expanded biographical resources.)
Biographical Dictionary of Architects in Canada from 1800-1950 http://www.dictionaryofarchitectsincanada.org/introduction
Canadian Encyclopedia (thru the Web)
Grierson, Joan et al. For the Record: The First Women in Canadian Architecture. Toronto, ON: Dundurn Press, 2008. Call # NA 1997 F67 2008
Jodidio, Philip. 100 Contemporary Architects. Hong Kong: Taschen, 2013. Call # NA 680 J567 2013 vols. 1 & 2
Van Vynckt, Randall, ed. International Dictionary of Architects and Architecture. Detroit, MI: St. James Press, 1993. Call # NA 40 I48 1993 vols. 1 & 2
-----LAL Visions in Canadian Design Inaugural Lecture Series (2013)
Using the keywords above, search YouTube for the six available videos.
Building Types: General Resources
Clark, Roger H. and Michael Pause. Precedents in Architecture. 2nd ed. New York: Van Nostrand Reinhold, 1996. Call # NA 2750 C55 1996
Pevsner, Nikolaus. A History of Building Types. London: Thames and Hudson, 1976. Call # NA 4170 P48 1976
Phaidon Press. Phaidon Atlas of Contemporary World Architecture. [London]: Phaidon, 2004. Call # NA 680 P378 2004
Vellinga, Marcel, Paul Oliver, and Alexander Bridge. Atlas of Vernacular Architecture of the World. Abingdon, Oxon; Routledge, 2007. Call # NA 208 V45 2007
www.OntarioArchitecture.com, see Building Styles
Bloom, Jonathan M. and Sheila S. Blair, eds. The Grove Encyclopedia of Islamic Art & Architecture. Oxford: OUP, 2009. Call # N 6260 G75 2009 vols. 1-3
Campbell, Gordon, ed. The Grove Encyclopedia of Classical Art and Architecture. Oxford: OUP, 2007.
Hourihane, Colum P., ed. The Grove Encyclopedia of Medieval Art & Architecture. New York: OUP, 2012. Call # N5965 G76 2012 vols. 1-6
Graphic and Time-Saver Standards:
Harris, Charles W. and Nicholas T. Dines, co-eds. Time-Saver Standards for Landscape Architecture: Design and Construction Data. NY: McGraw Hill, 1998. Call # SB 475.9 S72 T55 1988
Pressman, Andrew. Architectural Graphic Standards. 11th ed. Hoboken, NJ: John Wiley & Sons, 2007. Call # TH 2031 A84 2007
Watson, Donald and Michael J. Crosbie, eds. Time-Saver Standards for Architectural Design: Technical Data for Professional Practice. NY: McGraw Hill, 2005. Call # TH 151 T55 2005 + CD-ROM
See Local History Collection housed in the Mary C. Shantz Room on the (basement) Reference Level of the Greater Sudbury Public Library’s Main Library, 74 Mackenzie Street, Sudbury, ON P3C 4X8
See also Laurentian’s J. N. Laurentian University Library & Archives
The Architecture Library is developing a small, but useful materials library. Materials are available for loan, introducing students to a range of materials that can be used in the design and construction of the built environment.
Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals - Vendor: ProQuest
“The Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals offers a comprehensive listing of journal articles published worldwide on architecture and design, archaeology, city planning, interior design, landscape architecture, and historic preservation” (http://library.columbia.edu/locations/avery/avery-index.html).
Art & Design Database:
Art & Architecture Source - Vendor: Ebscohost
Description: “A useful resource for art and architecture research…Content includes over 750 full-text journals and more than 220 full-text books…with detailed indexing and abstracts…as well as an Image Collection” (https://www.ebscohost.com/academic/art-architecture-source).
Historical Abstracts - Vendor: ABC-CLIO
Description: Historical coverage of the world from 1450 to the present.
ASTM Standards (American Society for Testing and Materials) - Vendor: ASTM Int.’l.
Description: Electronic edition of nearly every ASTM book, paper, or chapter from nearly every piece of work published by ASTM. The new ASTM Digital Library provides over 30,000 papers and chapters and more than 400,000 pages of information.
Useful, All-Round Database:
JSTOR - Vendor: JSTOR
Description: “JSTOR is a shared digital library” including “more than 2,000 academic journals…along with thousands of monographs and other materials relevant for education…[T]he content on JSTOR comes from a broad range of disciplines, predominantly in the humanities, social sciences and field sciences”
Visual Resource Database:
Artstor Digital Library - Vendor: ARTstor
Description: “the Artstor Digital Library shares 1.8 million images in the arts, architecture, humanities, and sciences from outstanding museums, photo archives, photographers, scholars, and artists” (http://www.artstor.org/mission).
Architecture Journal Titles at Laurentian (print/electronic)
Architect: The Magazine of the American Institute of Architects
Architects’ Journal (AJ)
Architectural Design (AD)
Architectural History: The Journal of the Society of Architectural Historians of Great Britain
Architectural Science Review
Architectural Theory Review
Architecture and Culture
Arkitektur: The Swedish Review of Architecture
ARQ Architectural Research Quarterly
Azure: Design Architecture & Art
Detail (English): Review of Architecture and Construction
Energy and Buildings
Future Anterior: Journal of Historic Preservation History, Theory & Criticism
Harvard Design Magazine
JAPA: Journal of the American Planning Association
Journal of Architectural Education (JAE)
Journal of Architectural Engineering
Journal of Architecture
Journal of Landscape Architecture
Journal of the Society of Architectural Historians
Journal of Urban Design
Studies in the History of Gardens and Designed Landscapes
The PLAN Journal: Research in Architecture and Urbanism
Traditional Dwellings and Settlements Review
Werk Bauen + Wohnen
West 86th: A Journal of Decorative Arts, Design History, and Material Culture
*Last updated May 29, 2018
Visual Resource Database
Searching for Images on the Web
Sources for Architectural Drawings
Architectural Drawings (at the McEwen School of Architecture Library) - lists:
Artstor Database (available through Laurentian University's catalogue): http://library.artstor.org/library/
Canadian Centre for Architecture (Montreal): http://www.cca.qc.ca/en/search
Canadian Architectural Archives (University of Calgary): http://asc.ucalgary.ca/collections/archival/architectural
The Architecture Library is developing a small, reference collection of core architectural building materials samples. The Materials Collection introduces students to a range of materials that can be used in the design and construction of the built environment.
CSI MasterFormat Divisions
The Materials Collection is organized by the Construction Specifications Institute’s (CSI) MasterFormat to familiarize students with industry standards before entering the design profession.
CSI MasterFormat is the standard for organizing construction specifications of commercial and institutional building projects in the U.S. and Canada.
MasterFormat is a product of the Construction Specifications Institute (CSI) and Construction Specifications Canada.
External Material Collection Resources
Materia - Materia is the global network in the area of innovative materials. Materia encourages joint innovation on the road to a more beautiful, sustainable and high-quality built environment.
The University of Texas at Austin Materials Laboratory - The Materials Lab maintains the largest and most comprehensive academic material collection in the world. The ever-growing collection features 27,000+ material samples and is reflective of the current building and design markets with a particular focus on smart, emerging and sustainable materials and technlogies.
Allen, Edward. Fundamentals of building construction: materials and methods. Hoboken, NJ: Wiley, 2014. Call # TH 145 A417 2014
Berge, Bjørn. The Ecology of Building Materials. Oxford: Architectural Press, 2000. Call # TA 403.6 B456613 2000
Bounoure, Guillaume and Chloé Genevaux. La paille dans l'architecture, le design, la mode et l'art. Paris: Éditions Alternatives, 2017. Call # NK 8714 G45 2017
Bounoure, Guillaume and Chloé Genevaux. Le Liège dans l'architecture, le design, la mode et l'art. Paris: Éditions Alternatives, 2017. Call # NK 4699 G45 2017
Brownell, Blaine. Material strategies: innovative applications in architecture. New York: Princeton Architectural Press, 2012. Call # TA 403.6 B76 2012
Brownell, Blaine. Transmaterial next: a catalog of materials that redefine our future. New York: Princeton Architectural Press, 2017. Call # TA 403.6 T153 2017
Ching, Frank. Building construction illustrated. Hoboken, New Jersey: John Wiley & Sons, 2014. Call # TH 146 C52 2014
Dernie, David. Material Imagination in Architecture. London: Routledge, Taylor & Francis Group, 2016. Call # NA 2750 D38 2016
Fernandez, John. Material architecture: emergent materials for innovative buildings and ecological construction. Boston: Architectural Press, 2006. Call # TA 403.6 F47 2006
Foster, Michael. Architecture: style, structure and design. New York: Excalibur Books, 1982. Call # NA 2500 A73 1982
Gerber, Eckhard. Architectural Material & Detail Structure: Advanced Materials. London: Design Media Publishing, 2016. Call # TA 403 G35 2016
Hebel, Dirk, Marta H. Wisniewska, and Felix Heisel. Building from Waste: Recovered Materials in Architecture and Construction. Basel: Birkhäuser, 2014. Call # TA 403.6 B82 2014
Howes, Philip. Material matters: new materials in design. London: Black Dog Pub., 2012. Call # TA 403.6 H69 2012
Hoyet, Nadia. Matériaux et architecture durable: fabrication et transformations, propriétés physiques et architecturales, approche environnementale. Paris: Dunod, 2017. Call # NA 2542.35 H69 2017
Kottas, Dimitris, Oriol Vallès and Roberto Bottura. Matériaux: architecture et construction. 2016. Call # NA 4100 K68 2016
Kultermann, Eva. Construction materials, methods, and techniques: building for a sustainable future. Boston, MA: Delmar, Cengage Learning, 2017. Call # TH 145 K85 2017
Lefteri, Chris. Making it: manufacturing techniques for product design. London: Laurence King Pub., 2007. Call # TS 183 L44 2007
Lyons, Arthur. Materials for architects and builders. London: Routledge, Taylor & Francis Group, 2014. Call # TA 403 L95 2014
Spiegel, Ross. Green building materials: a guide to product selection and specification. Hoboken, N.J.: Wiley, 2012. Call # TH 455 S65 2012
Taylor, Geoffrey D. Materials in Construction: An Introduction. Harlow, Essex: Pearson Education, 2000. Call # TA 403 T39 2000
Bétocib. Peaux de béton: 65 architecture contemporaines. Paris: Dunod, 2013. Call # NA 4125 B48 2013
Canadian Portland Cement Association.Call # TA 683.2 C576 1995Concrete Design Handbook. Ottawa, ON: Canadian Portland Cement Association, 1995.
Kottas, Dimitris. Architecture and construction in concrete. Barcelona: Links, 2012. Call # NA 4125 K68 2012
Peck, Martin. Modern concrete construction manual: structural design, material properties, sustainability. München: Institut für internationale Architektur-Dokumentation, 2014. Call # TH 1461 A85313 2014
Rogue, Conrad. House of Earth: a complete handbook for earthen construction: cob, straw-clay, adobe, earthbags, plasters, floors, paints. [United States]: House Alive, 2015. Call # TH 4818 A3 R64 2015
Volhard, Franz. Construire en terre allégée. [Arles]: Actes Sud, 2016. Call # TH 1421 V6514 2016
Volhard, Franz. Light Earth Building: A Handbook for Building with Wood and Earth. Basel: Birkhäuser, 2016. Call # TH 1421 V65 2016
Desveaux, Delphine. Nouvelles architectures en métal. Anthony: Moniteur, 2016. Call # NA 4133 N68 2016
Kottas, Dimitris. Architecture and construction in metal. Barcelona: Links, 2012. Call # NA 4133 K68 2012
Aicher, Simon. Materials and joints in timber structures. Dordrecht: Springer, 2014. Call # TH 1101 M38 2014
Désveaux, Delphine. Nouvelles architectures en bois. Antony: Éditions Le Moniteur, 2016. Call # NA 4110 D48 2016
Forest Products Laboratory. Wood handbook: wood as an engineering material. Madison, WI: U. S. Dept. of Agriculture, Forest Service, Forest Products Laboratory, 2010. Call # TA 419 W66 2010
Galindo, Michelle. Wood architecture & design. Salenstein: Braun, 2012. Call # NA 4110 G26 2012
Glasner, Barbara. Wonder wood: a favorite material for design, architecture, and art. Basel: Birkhäuser, 2013. Call # NK 9604 G53713 2013
Green, Michael. Tall wood buildings: design, construction and performance. Boston: Birkhäuser, 2017. Call # TA 666 G74 2017
Hall, William and Richard Mabey. Bois. Paris: Phaidon, 2017. Call # NA 4110 W6514 2017
Hansen, Hans Jürgen. Architecture in wood: a history of wood building and its techniques in Europe and North America. New York, NY: Viking Press, 1971. Call # TH 1101 H2913 1971
Herzog, Thomas. Timber construction manual. Basel: Birkhäuser, 2004. Call # TA 666 T472 2004
Hoadley, R. Bruce. Understanding wood: a craftsman’s guide to wood technology. Newton, Conn: Taunton Press, 1980. Call # TT 180 H59 1980
Jeska, Simone. Emergent timber technologies: materials, structures, engineering, projects. Basel: Birkhäuser, 2015. Call # TH 1101 N42213 2015
Jodidio, Philiip. 100 contemporary wood buildings. Cologne: Taschen, 2015. Call # NA 4110 J635 2015 V.1 & V.2
Lennartz, Marc Wilhelm. New architecture in wood: forms and structures. Basel: Birkhäuser, 2016. Call # NA 4110 L45713 2015
Mayo, Joseph. Solid wood: case studies in mass timber architecture, technology and design. New York: Routledge, 2015. Call # NA 4110 M29 2015
McLeod, Virginia. Detail in contemporary timber architecture. London: Laurence King Pub., 2010. Call # NA 4110 M354 2010
Meyhöfer, Dirk. Touch wood: the rediscovery of a building material. Berlin: Braun, 2008. Call # NA 4110 T68 2008
Monies, Finn. Wood in architecture. New York, NY: F.W. Dodge Corporation, 1961. Call # NA 1218 M613 1961
Norman, Anne. Made in wood: l’art de construire en bois. Bruxelles: Mardaga, 2014. Call # NA 4110 N675 2014
Pryce, Will. Architecture in wood: a world history. London: Thames & Hudson, 2016. Call # NA 4110 P79 2016
Schwinn, Tobias. Advancing wood architecture: a computational approach. New York: Routledge, 2017. Call # NA 4110 M456 2017
Steiger, Ludwig. Basics timber construction. Basel: Birkhäuser, 2007. Call # TA 666 S685 2007
Wilk, Christopher. Plywood: A Material Story. New York, NY: Thames & Hudson, 2017. Call # TS 870 W55 2017
Barnet, Sylvan. A Short Guide to Writing About Art. Boston, MA: Pearson Education Inc., 2015. Call # N 7476 B37 2015
Booth, Wayne C., Gregory G. Colomb, Joseph M. Williams, Joseph Bizup, and William T. Fitgerald. The Craft of Research. Chicago: The University of Chicago Press, 2016. Call # Q 180.55 M4 B66 2016 Ref.
Borden, Iain and Katerina Rüedi Ray. The Dissertation: A Guide for Architecture Students. New York, NY: Routledge, 2014. Call # NA 2108 B67 2014
Ewald, Thorsten. Writing in the Technical Fields: A Practical Guide. Donmills, ON: Oxford University Press, 2014. Call # T 11 E93 2014
Hart, Chris. Doing a literature review: releasing the research imagination. Thousand Oaks, CA: SAGE Publications, 2018. Call # H 62 J46 2018
Kalin, Mark, Robert S. Weygant, Harold J. Rosen, and John R. Regener. Construction Specifications Writing: Principles and Procedures. Hoboken, NJ: John Wiley & Sons, 2010. Call # TH 425 R59 2010
Lange, Alexandra. Writing About Architecture: Mastering the Language of Buildings and Cities. New York, NY: Princeton Architectural Press, 2012. Call # NA 2599.6 L36 2012
Laycock, Elizabeth, Tim Howarth and Paul Watson. The Journey to Dissertation Success: For construction, property, and architecture students. London: Routledge, 2016. Call # NA 2500 L387 2016
Schmaltz, Bill. The Architect's Guide to Writing: for Design and Construction Professionals. Mulgrave, Victoria: The Images Publishing Group, 2014. Call # NA 2540 S34 2014 Ref.
Spector, Tom, and Rebecca Damron. How Architects Write. New York: Routledge, Taylor & Francis, 2017. Call # NA 2540 S59 2017
Strunk, William. The Elements of Style. New York, NY: SoHo Books, 1920. Call # PE 1408 S772 1959 Ref.
Wiseman, Carter. Writing Architecture: A Practical Guide to Clear Communication about the Built Environment. San Antonio, TX: Trinity University Press, 2014. Call # NA 2540 W67 2014
Zinsser, William. On Writing Well: The Classic Guide to Writing Nonfiction. New York, NY: Collins, 2006. Call # PE 1429 Z5 2006 Ref.
The Chicago Manual of Style
Chicago-Style Citation Quick Guide made available by the University of Chicago Press, is an abbreviated, online citation guide based on the much more detailed, hard copy edition, The Chicago Manual of Style (Call # Z 253 U69 2017 Ref).
The Chicago Manual of Style is most commonly used in Humanities and Social Sciences, and is the preferred style for research papers at the McEwen School of Architecture. The most recent version of Chicago is the 17th Edition which is available at the McEwen School of Architecture Library, or you may consult Purdue University’s well-respected and up-to-date online guide.
N.B. Chicago uses two different forms: the Author-Date system and the Notes and Bibliography system. The latter is the most commonly used in humanities. Turabian Style is based on the two Chicago forms, but it does not constitute Chicago. Make sure you use the proper style and form as requested by your professor.
In the following quick reference guide, we will be using Chicago Notes and Bibliography. For the first notation, include all of the source information: author, title, and publishing data. When citing a source a second time, include the author’s last name, the abbreviated title, and the pages. If a source is cited more than two times successively, use “Ibid.” followed by the page numbers (if differing). Notes are formatted as footnotes or endnotes beginning with “1.”
N.B. Chicago style uses hanging indents in its bibliography (which is not replicated here).
|BOOK||Lastname, Firstname. Book Title. Location of publication: publisher, year.
Obama, Barack. The Audacity of Hope: Thoughts on Reclaiming the American Dream. New York: Vintage Books, 2006.
Lastname, Firstname. Book Title. Translated by Firstname Lastname. Location of publication: publisher, year.
De Saint-Exupéry, Antoine. The Little Prince. Translated by Katherine Woods. San Diego: Harcourt, Brace, & World, 1971.
|CHAPTER IN A COLLECTED WORK||
Lastname, Firstname. “Chapter Title.” In Book Title, edited by Firstname Lastname, pages. Location of publication: publisher, year.
Barman, Jean. “Taming Aboriginal sexuality: Gender, Power, and Race in British Columbia, 1850-1900.” In In the Days of our Grandmothers: A Reader in Aboriginal Women’s History in Canada. Edited by Mary-Ellen Kelm and Lorna Townsend, 270-300. Toronto: University of Toronto Press, 2010.
Lastname, Firstname. “Article Title.” Journal Title, Volume, no.# (year): pages. Accessed Month day, year (if applicable). URL or doi.
Buchanan, Brett. “The Time of the Animal.” PhaenEx: Journal of Existential and Phenomenological Theory and Culture, 2 no.2 (2007): 61-80. Accessed >November 7, 2012. http://search.proquest.com/docview/43243630?accountid=12005.
Lastname, Firstname. “Article Title.” Newspaper (place of publication), Month day, year. URL (if applicable).
Smith, Teresa. “Drought-Stricken Almonte Farmer Receives Much-Needed Hay from Saskatchewan.” Ottawa Citizen (Ottawa), October 31, 2012. http://www.ottawacitizen.com/news/ottawa/Drought+stricken+Almonte+farmer...
|ONLINE PRESENTATION / CONFERENCE||
Name of presenter. “Presentation Title if available.” Presented to Name of conference and organization, place, date. URL.
Brown, Brené. “The Power of Vulnerability.” Presented to Ted Talks, Houston, June 2010. http://www.ted.com/talks/lang/en/brene_brown_on_vulnerability.html.
Author, screen name, or editor. “Title of page.” Website name, date last modified (if available). Date accessed (if not modified). URL.
Historica Dominion Institute. Richard Pierpoint. Historica Dominion Institute. Accessed November 8, 2012. https://www.historica-dominion.ca/content/heritage-minutes/richard-pierp...
Generally, blogs are listed in the notes and not the bibliography. However, if it is a blog of significance you may add it to your bibliography. If the title includes the word “blog” there is no need to repeat it within parentheses.
In the notes:
(recommended by LU Library staff and freely available through the Web)
Description: “…a free and open-source reference management software to manage bibliographic data and related research materials” (Wikipedia).
Link to Zotero User Guide
Academic Integrity for Students at Laurentian University
While working on your research papers and various written assignments, please be mindful to cite your sources and protect yourself against plagiarism. Please consult the Academic Integrity for Students at Laurentian University policies.
Allen, Edward and Iano Joseph. The Architect's Studio Companion: Rules of Thumb for Preliminary Design. Hoboken: Wiley, 2017. Call # NA 2750 A556 2017
American Institute of Architects. The Architect's Handbook of Professional Practice. Hoboken, NJ: Wiley, 2014. Call # NA 1996 A726 2014
American Institute of Architects. The Architecture Student's Handbook of Professional Practice. Hoboken, New Jersey: Wiley, 2016. Call # NA 1996 A726 2016
Bender, Diane. Design Portfolios: Presentation & Marketing for Interior Designers. New York, NY: Fairchild Books, an imprint of Bloomsbury Publishing Inc., 2017. Call # NA 1996 B453 2017
Brause, Caryn. The Designer's Field Guide to Collaboration. New York: Routledge, Taylor & Francis Group, 2017. Call # NK 1172 B83 2017
Brown, Gregg D., and Jon Hobbs. Manuel Canadien de pratique de l'architecture. Ottawa: Institut royal d'architecture du Canada, 2009. Ebook
Cuff, Dana. Architecture: The Story of Practice. Cambridge, MA: MIT Press, 1992. Call # NA 1996 C84 1992
Fisher, Thomas. Ethics for Architects: 50 Dilemmas of Professional Practice. New York: Princeton Architectural Press, 2010. Call # NA 1995 F57 2010
Fletcher, Margaret. Constructing the persuasive portfolio: the only primer you'll ever need. New York: Routledge, Taylor & Francis Group, 2017. Call # NA 1996 F58 2017
Foxell, Simon. Starting a Practice: A Plan of Work. London: RIBA Publishing, 2015. Call # NA 1996 F69 2015
Fullmer, Donna Lynne. Presentation Basics. New York: Fairchild Books, 2014. Call # NA 2714 F85 2014
Gutman, Robert. Architectural Practice: A Critical View. New York, NY: Princeton Architectural Press, 1988. Call # NA 1996 G86 1988
Hobbs, Jon. Canadian Handbook of Practice for Architects. Ottawa: Royal Architecture Institute of Canada, 2009. Ebook
Kanaani, Mitra and Dak Kopec. The Routledge Companion for Architecture Design and Practice: Established and Emerging Trends. New York: Routledge, Taylor & Francis Group, 2016. Call # NA 1995 R68 2016
Luescher, Andreas. The Architect's Portfolio: planning, design, production. London: Routledge, 2010. Call # NA 1996 L84 2010
Pressman, Andy. Professional Practice 101: Business Strategies and Case Studies in Architecture. Hoboken, NJ: Wiley, 2006. Call # NA 1996 P76 2006
Silver, Pete, Will McLean and Peter Evans. Structural Engineering for Architects: A Handbook. London: Laurence King Pub., 2013. Call # TA 633 S55 2013
Spector, Tom. The Ethical Architect: the dilemma of contemporary practice. New York: Princeton Architectural Press, 2001. Call # NA 1995 S68 2001
Van Emben, Joan and Lucinda Becker. Presentation Skills for Students. London: Palgrave, 2016. Call # PN 4129.15 V36 2016
Wakita, Osamua A., Nagy R. Bakhoum, and Richard M. Linde. The Professional Practice of Architectural Working Drawings. Hoboken: Wiley, 2017. Call # NA 2713 W34 2017
More information coming soon...
How to Print
Log on to an LU workstation. You can review your funds or access your OneCard account via the pop-up window that appears.
You can choose between colour and black (B&W) ink printers, as well as the option for two-sided printing. See prices below:
1 Page B&W = $0.09
2 Sided B&W = $0.09
1 Page Colour = $0.25
2 Sided Colour = $0.25
To print from a mobile device, please review the web printing instruction at https://laurentian.ca/printing-onecard.
Please refer to OneCard Tips for adding funds online (see Part 2) and help troubleshooting various printing problems.
Adding Funds to your OneCard Account
Funds can be added via credit or debit card, 24/7 from any location.
Go to intranet.laurentian.ca/onecard and, choose Add Funds and follow the onscreen instructions.
One School, One Book
The One School, One Book initiative is designed to create a shared reading experience within our learning community. The purpose is to bring our students, staff and faculty together by reading one book over the winter term.
Stay tuned! Next year's book selection will be announced soon.
Greater Sudbury Public “Pop-up” Library
During the fall term each year, the staff of the Greater Sudbury Public Library visit the McEwen School of Architecture and stage a “Pop-up Library” for the first year class, highlighting aspects of the public library’s collections (satellite, planning, zoning and historical maps and resources) and services that might capture the imagination of design students and providing the opportunity to sign up for a public library card.
Online Learning and Tutorials
lyndaLibrary is online education service that offers more than 5500 courses and over 144 000 video tutorials geared to the beginner, the expert and everyone in between. Learn from industry experts in business, technology and creative skills, earn certificates of completion, and learn anytime, anywhere across multiple platforms. This is the perfect way to add to your skill-set - and it is free with your GSPL card!
Mango Languages' PhD-created and linguist-approved software teaches real conversations in over 60 languages and makes it fun by providing step by step lessons plans, learning through film, and with a mobile app. Learn English as a second language from Arabic, Armenian, Cantonese, Mandarin, French, German, Greek, Italian, Japanese, Korean, Polish, Portuguese, Russian, Spanish, Turkish, and Vietnamese.
Access the database