You are here
Welcome to the Biology Research Guide! Here you can find tips on how to find and use information pertaining to Biology. Please explore the links and feel free to contact us for any additional information or help using our resources.
Cite your References!
Find information on popular reference styles through our "Citation Style Guide." Remember to use the style asked for by your professor, and to check your work.
Use Zotero to help import, manage and export bibliographic references in various styles.
Quick Access to E-Resources in the Natural Sciences
Dictionaries & Encyclopedias
Forensic Science: An Illustrated Dictionary (through Ebook Central)
The Forensic Laboratory Handbook Procedures and Practice (through SpringerLink)
Kirk-Othmer Encyclopedia of Chemical Technology
Wiley Encyclopedia of Forensic Science
SciFinder Scholar (First time users: click here to Register)
Ebooks and Ejournals Collections
Alain Lamothe, BSc., MSc., MLIS
Book a research consultation
705-675-1151 Ext. 3304
For Distance Education students :
Telephone : 1-800-661-1058, Ext. 2
Fax : 705-671-3803 (Attention: Off-Campus Library Services)
Email : email@example.com
Basic online library instruction is available in either official language using Laurentian's Desire2Learn platform or as videos . For further information consult Alain Lamothe, ext 3304.
For special instruction in this subject during class time, ask your professor to arrange a class by contacting Mr. Lamothe, ext 3304.
In the library: The Library User Assistance Desk to your immediate left as you enter the library is a good place to start.
By email: Email the librarian responsible for your faculty for a reply during regular working hours.
Research consultations: Book a research consultation with the librarian responsible for your faculty by Zoom or phone.
By chat: With our "Ask the Library" service. For more information, see About Ask a Librarian.
For Distance Education students: Telephone: 1-800-661-1058, ext. 2 or email: firstname.lastname@example.org
Searching for books
Searching the Catalogue
The catalogue is your primary tool for finding books in the J.N. Desmarais Library. You can also use the catalogue to find other materials, including government publications and journals (including individual articles).
You can search the catalogue by:
- Call Number
When you know the book you are searching for, pick Title or Author; when you are searching for a topic, start with Keyword unless you know the exact Subject heading describing your topic.
More on searching the Catalogue is available in Module 5 of the Research Skills Tutorial in D2L.
Additional Print Resources
- A Concise Dictionary of Biology (2nd Floor: Ref. QH 302.5 C66 1990)
- Concise Encyclopedia of Biology (2nd Floor: Ref. QH 302.5 A2313 1995)
Laurentian uses LC Classification. Some patrons may wish to browse for books in the stacks; Biology is classified under science (Q) and more specifically, under QH - Natural History. The following are the Natural history designations:
QH1-278.5 Natural history (General)
QH1-(199.5) General (Including nature conservation, geographical distribution )
QH301-705.5 Biology (General)
QH705-705.5 Economic biology
Theses and Dissertations
Proquest Theses and Dissertations
For additional information on advanced research as well as theses and dissertations, please consult our Research Guide for Advanced Studies.
Biology Related Databases
- Some may be located by using the library’s catalogue and selecting "Books & eBooks" as the "Material Type" and then further filtering your results by "Available online".
- E-books can also be located by searching in e-book collections. Searching in these collections is the same as searching in a database. Recommended e-book collections can be found below.