You are here
Track Your Research
Zotero, a free, browser-based citation manager, is the standard tool at Laurentian. It can:
- Directly import references from article databases, the library catalogue, e-book collections, etc.
- Manage and organize your references.
- Create a bibliography.
- Share your references with others
- Add in-text citations and a bibliography directly into your assignment.
Welcome to the Research Guide for Ancient Studies! The purpose of this guide is to recommend print and electronic resources for conducting research in Ancient Studies.
The Ancient Studies program is taught at Thorneloe University, a federated partner of Laurentian University. For more information on the Ancient Studies Program, including course descriptions, please visit the Thorneloe Website.
Classical Association of Canada
The Classical Association of Canada is a national non-profit organization that aims to advance the study of the civilizations of the Greek and Roman World. The Association’s projects include an annual conference, two international scholarly journals, an electronic newsletter, translation and essay competitions, and much more.
In the library: The Library User Assistance Desk to your immediate left as you enter the library is a good place to start.
By email: Email the librarian responsible for your faculty for a reply during regular working hours.
By telephone: 705-675-4800, or toll free at 1-800-661-1058, ext. 2
For Distance Education students: Telephone: 1-800-661-1058, ext. 2 or email: firstname.lastname@example.org
Greek-English Lexicon. 1958. Print.
Oxford Latin Dictionary. 1982. Print.
William Whitaker's Words. Online. English to Latin and Latin to English.
Oxford Classical Dictionary. 3rd ed. 1999. Print.
Oxford Dictionary of the Classical World. 2005. Print.
Perseus Digital Library. Online. Provides Greek and Latin texts as well as translations with lexicon entries available for most words.
Internet Archive: Digital Library. Online. Includes Loeb volumes and other texts available electronically.
Compitum. Online. This is a French website on Roman antiquity, but under the resources tab there is a wealth of links in French and English for ancient texts, reference works, online journals, bibliographies, thematic websites and more.
Barrington Atlas of the Greek and Roman World. 2000. Print.
Historical Atlas of the Ancient World. 2010. Print.
Brill's New Pauly: Encyclopaedia of the Ancient World. 2002. Print. Originally published in German, this is a multi-volume encyclopaedia of antiquity in English.
Encyclopaedia Universalis. Online.
Oxford Dictionary of Byzantium. Online.
Oxford Encyclopedia of Ancient Egypt. Online.
Materials relevant to Ancient Studies fall under several areas of the Library of Congress classification schedule. The following call numbers are the most important for materials on Ancient Studies:
B - Philosophy, Psychology, Religion
BL - Religions, Mythology
C - Auxiliary Sciences of History
CB - History of Civilization
CC - Archaeology
CJ - Numismatics
CN - Inscriptions, Epigraphy
D - History
DE - Mediterranean Region - Classical
DF - Greece
DG - Italy
P - Language and Literature
PA - Classical languages and literature
Laurentian's print collection includes multiple volumes from the Loeb Classical Library. Each volume contains the ancient text on the left page and an English translation on the right page.
The Corpus Scriptorum Latinorum provides a catalogue of Latin texts that are currently available online.
The Library of Ancient texts Online provides a catalogue of Greek texts that are currently available online.
Citations of ancient authors (Hdt. 8.45, Thuc. 1.23, etc.) are enclosed in brackets within the text of the essay. They should be referenced by their traditional divisions, e.g. Hdt. 8.45 (= Herodotos, Book 8, chapter 45) or Pl. Symp. 175d3-5 (=Plato, Symposium 175d3-5). Poetry (including poetic translations of epic and drama) should be cited by line number, not page number, e.g. Verg. Aen. 4.285 (= Virgil The Aeneid book 4 line 285) or Hor. Carm. 2.10.3 (= Horace Odes book 2 poem 10 line 3). Unless it is absolutely necessary, ancient authors should not be referred to by the page number of a modern translation (if that is absolutely the only way to do it, then you must ensure that all the publishing information for that particular translation is also included with the essay).
Abbreviations of names of Greek and Latin authors and works should in general follow those used in the Oxford Classical Dictionary.
(see the University of Waterloo's citation of sources, from which this is partly drawn, for more information on citing sources).