You are here

Data Services

JND Library Data Services

The JND Library offers the following services offered by Dan Scott, the acting Data Librarian:

DOI Creation and Data Registration with Datacite Canada

A digital object identifier (DOI) enables your work to be uniquely identified and retrieved from the entire set of documents available on the Web. Datacite Canada, a service of National Research Council Canada, provides free DOI creation and data registration services.

Laurentian University is partnered with Datacite Canada. Researchers may have DOIs created for their datasets and have them registered with Datacite for free. Registered datasets will usually be stored and publicly accessible in LU Zone, also for free. Where privacy and confidentiality issues prevent a dataset from being publicly accessible, alternative storage options may be arranged.

The Data Librarian is available to deposit the dataset and create standards-compliant metadata, as well as for consultation on storage formats and documentation.

Data Management Plan (DMP) Advisory Services

An increasing number of funders request Data Management Plans (DMPs) as part of the application process. We can help! The Data Librarian is available for consultation and assistance in developing DMPs. The Data Librarian recommends using Portage's DMP Assistant to create comprehensive DMPs.

RedCap Advisory Services

RedCap is Laurentian's online data collection tool, a great way to securely and efficiently administer surveys and aggregate and analyze the results. The Data Librarian is available for consultation and assistance in implementing surveys in RedCap.

Data Publication and Storage Advisory Services

Should LU-affiliated researchers desire to publish and store their data with services other than Datacite and LU Zone, the Data Librarian is available for advisory services and to assist with the publication and deposit process. Possible services include: metadata scheme selection, metadata creation, preparation of data for deposit, selection of data repository, and advice on copyright/IP/licensing options.

Searching for Research Data

The data librarian is available for assistance with and instruction in search and retrieval of outside data repositories and archives.

Home

Getting started

Statistics: Power from Data! is an e-book from Statistics Canada that will help in getting the most from statistics. It includes definitions, examples, exercises and a glossary.

OECD Glossary of Statistical Terms: contains a comprehensive set of definitions of the main data items collected by the Organisation. The Glossary also contains definitions of key terminology and concepts and commonly used acronyms.

Data management planning with DMP Assistant now available

Portage logo

DMP Assistant is a bilingual tool for preparing data management plans (DMPs). The tool follows best practices in data stewardship and walks researchers step-by-step through key questions about data management.

  1. Sign up with DMP Assistant
  2. Sign in and select a template under Organizations. The Portage template is the default.
  3. Answer the questions that are relevant to your work. Guidance and examples are provided.
  4. Revisit the tool throughout your research to review or revise your answers.

Access DMP Assistant.

Data librarian

Dan Scott - dscott@laurentian.ca

 

or data@laurentian.ca

Tel.: 705-675-1151 ext. 3325

Need help?

I am available for research consultations throughout the academic year.

Proxy access

 Proxy server accounts are available to Laurentian University members who wish to use licensed products from off campus.

 
Questions and data requests can be sent to data@laurentian.ca

Statistics

Canadian Statistics

Statistics Canada Data. Statistics Canada provides tables, thematic maps, public-use microdata files and many other useful resources. Webpage updated daily. 

CANSIM Multidimensional: contains over 900,000 time series covering a wide variety of enhanced access to CANSIM data. While Statistics Canada no longer uses the term CANSIM, information is up to date with materials from Statistics Canada.

Statistics Canada surveys and statistical programs: a list of Statistics Canada surveys by topic. The page for each survey provides links to the relevant tables and to the survey documentation. 

Ontario open data: the Provincial Government’s data portal provides statistical tables and data sets from many government departments and agencies.

International Statistics

Eurostat : This is the statistics office of the European Union, its mission is to provide high quality statistics for Europe. 

OECD Data : Find, compare and share the latest OECD (Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development) data: charts, maps, tables and related publications.

UNdata: This portal to United Nations databases covers a whole range of statistics including Population, Industry, Energy, Trade and National Accounts. 

World Bank Open Data: Free and open access to global development data.

International Monetary Fund (IMF) Data: The IMF publishes a range of time series data on IMF lending, exchange rates and other economic and financial indicators. 

Census

2016 Census of Population

Access Census data - This is an excellent starting point for nearly all things Census-related, including previous years.

2016 Census Profile - These 2016 Census products provide statistical information about the population, age and sex, type of dwelling, families, households and marital status, language, income, immigration and ethnocultural diversity, housing, Aboriginal peoples, education, labour, journey to work, language of work and mobility and migration, as measured in the census program.

2016 Census Data Tables: These tables present a portrait of Canada based on the various census topics (Age and sex, Education, Income, etc.). They range in complexity and are available for various levels of geography.

Census Datasets (1991-2016): Census data and tables from 1991 to 2016.

For more information visit the Statistics Canada Census Program site.

2011 National Household Survey (NHS)

In 2011 Statistics Canada replaced the mandatory long-form census with the voluntary National Household Survey (NHS). Please see StatCan's notes on NHS data quality and comparability of the NHS to the previous Census before using NHS data.

NHS data tables: provide data for various levels of geography on topics including Aboriginal People, Immigration and Ethnocultural Diversity, Education and Labor, Mobility and Migration, Income and Housing.

NHS profile: this profile presents information from the 2011 National Household Survey for various levels of geography, including provinces and territories, census metropolitan areas, communities and census tracts.

2011 Aboriginal Population Profile: provides data about Aboriginal children, youth and adults (Métis, Inuit and off-reserve North American Indian) living in urban, rural and northern locations across Canada.

Additional Census Information

History of the Census of Canada

How to Cite Statistics Canada Products

Census-related Topics and Subtopics

Canadian Census Analyser from CHASS: enhanced access to Canadian Census data maintained by the CHASS Facility at the University of Toronto.  Can be accessed by users from Canadian universities that are members of Data Liberation Initiative consortium.  Bilingual interface for data extraction. How to use the Canadian Census Analyser.

Archived Census websites:

Research Data

Search Data in

What is <odesi>?: (Ontario Data Documentation, Extraction Service and Infrastructure) is a digital repository for social science data, including polling data with a web-based data exploration, extraction and analysis tools. (more on <odesi>)
Laurentian users can use <odesi> to access Statistics Canada microdata files (PUMFs), extracts from the CIHI Discharge Abstract Database (DAD), an extensive collection of Canadian opinion polls, and assorted, historical datasets unavailable elsewhere. <odesi> allows users to explore variables and values, and to create customs tabulations and subsets in a web browser.
 
Scholars Portal Odesi data repository

Statistics Canada Microdata

Data Liberation Initiative (DLI): Statistics Canada division which makes available public use microdata files (PUMFs), databases and geographic files. The DLI primarily distributes StatCan microdata but also includes the Postal Code Conversion File (PCCF) and some data from the Canadian Insistute for Health Information's Discharge Abstract Database (DAD). Some of these files may be retrieved from the <odesi> portal. Other files must be requested directly from the Data Librarian. For more information, please contact data@laurentian.ca.

Research Data Centers (RDC): RDCs provide researchers with access, in a secure university setting, to microdata from population and household surveys. The centres are staffed by Statistics Canada employees. RDCs are located throughout the country; the closest RDC to Laurentian is in North Bay, Ontario at Nippising University. For more information, please contact data@laurentian.ca.

Health Data

Statistics Canada Sources

Canadian Community Health Survey: The central objective of the Canadian Community Health Survey (CCHS) is to gather health-related data at the sub-provincial levels of geography (health region or combined health regions). CCHS microdata files are available through <odesi>.

Canadian Institute for Health Information (CIHI): an independent, not-for-profit organization that provides essential information on Canada’s health system and the health of Canadians. Access to Discharge Abstract Database (DAD) microfiles is available through the Data Liberation Initiative (DLI) email data@laurentian.ca for details.

Health Data from the Government of Canada: A collection of statistics, facts, reports and data from various contributors including, Canadian Institutes of Health Research, Health Canada, Public Health Agency of Canada and Statistics Canada.

Health Statistics in CANSIM: See a list of all StatCan statistics on health-related topics, including aggregate tables from the CCHS.

 

 

Statistical Analysis Software

SPSS

Most downloadable data and metadata are compliant with SPSS. Some campus computer labs have SPSS installed. Students can purchase a personal copy of SPSS at a discounted rate directly from IBM for more information on the software and installation, please contact IT services.

Extensive tutorials, videos and instructions on all aspects of SPSS can be found by doing a web search. You can also find many books on how to use SPSS in the library catalogue.
 
 

Beyond 20/20

Beyond 20/20 may be required to access some legacy Statistics Canada data. This program designed to help non-specialist users manipulate tabular data. This browser is mouse-driven and creates custom tables, retrieves the information in them and displays this information in table, chart, and map views.
 
You can download Beyond 20/20 from Statistics Canada for free. Note: Beyond 20/20 is only available for Windows.