Economics | Library & Archives

Cite your references!

The recommended style manual for Economics is the Chicago Manual of Style. Kate Turabian's A Manual for Writers of Research Papers, Theses, and Dissertations is based on the Chicago Manual.

Use Zotero to help import, manage and export bibliographic references in various styles.

Dictionaries

Lexicon of Economics. 1988. Online.

MIT Dictionary of Economics. 1986. Print.

New Palgrave Dictionary of Economics. 2018. Online.

Routledge Dictionary of Economics . 2002. Online/Print.

Encyclopedias

Encyclopedia of Macreconomics . 2002. Print.

Oxford Encyclopedia of Economic History. 2003. Online.

More Help

In the library: The Library User Assistance Desk to your immediate left as you enter the library is a good place to start.

By email: Email the librarian responsible for your faculty for a reply during regular working hours.

Research consultations: Book a research consultation with the librarian responsible for your faculty by Zoom or phone.

By chat: With our "Ask the Library" service. For more information, see About Ask a Librarian.

For Distance Education students: Telephone: 1-800-661-1058, ext. 2 or email: bibdesmaraislib@laurentian.ca

Workshop on Library Resources

Our online workshop on discovering the library's resources is available in Laurentian's Desire2Learn platform.

Subject Librarian

Name: Natasha Gerolami, MLIS, PhD

Position Title: Bibliothécaire agrégée / Associate Librarian

Email Address: ngerolami@laurentian.ca

Extension: (705) 675-1151 poste 3325

Office Location: Bibliothèque J.N. Desmarais Library 30-250

Core Resources

EconLit ?
Description: Indexes full-text articles in all fields of economics including capital markets, country studies, econometrics, economic forecasting, environmental economics, government regulations, labor economics, monetary theory, and urban economics. Produced by the American Economics Association since 1969.

Related Resources

Academic OneFile ?
Description: More than 14,000 titles, including more than 9,000 peer-reviewed journals and more than 6,000 in full text. Extensive coverage of the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects since 1980.
Canadian Business & Current Affairs™ (CBCA) Complete ?
Description: More than 4.5 million records from 1,730 titles covering current events, business, education, science, the arts, and academic information as produced in Canada. The database also includes a few Canadian legal journals that are in neither Hein Online nor Lexis-Nexis, also full-text.
NBER Working Paper Series ?
Description: The National Bureau of Economic Research's (NBER) activities are mostly identified by 20 research programs on different subjects and 14 working groups. The research programs are: Aging, Asset Pricing, Behavioral/Macro, Capital Markets and the Economy, Children, Corporate Finance, Development of the American Economy, Economics of Education, Economic Fluctuations and Growth, Energy and the Environment, Health Care, Health Economics, Industrial Organization, International Finance and Macroeconomics, International Trade and Investment, Labor Studies, Law and Economics, Monetary Economics, Political Economy, Productivity, and Public Economics. From this research come the NBER's Working Papers. --Wikipedia description
RePEc (Research Papers in Economics) ?
Description: "Over 1400 archives from 75 countries have contributed about 1.2 million research pieces from 1,500 journals and 3,300 working paper series."
Scholars Portal - Ejournals ?
Description: Scholars Portal is a digital repository of over 20 million scholarly articles drawn from journals covering every academic discipline.

E-books

E-books are located in two different places:

Some may be located by using the library’s catalogue and selecting "Books & eBooks" as the "Material Type" and then further filtering your results by "Available online".
E-books can also be located by searching in e-book collections. Searching in these collections is the same as searching in a database. Recommended e-book collections can be found below.

E-book Collections for Economics

Ebook Central ?
Description: close to 40,000 ebooks in multiple subject areas
Oxford Scholarship Online ?
Description: 22,909 ebooks in multiple subject areas as of April 2024.
Springer LINK ?
Description: SpringerLink currently offers 2,777 fully peer-reviewed journals and over 151,000 books online.

Shelf Searching

Laurentian uses LC Classification. Some patrons may wish to browse for books in the stacks; Economics is classified under Social Sciences (H), more specifically under subclasses HB - Economic Theory. Demography and HC - Economic history and conditions, as well as related to other various subclasses.

Subclass HB:

HB71-74 - Economics as a science. Relation to other subjects

HB75-130 - History of economics. History of economic theory

HB135-147 - Mathematical economics. Quantitative methods

HB238-251 - Competition. Production. Wealth

HB522-715 - Income. Factor shares

HB848-3697 - Demography. Population. Vital events

HB3711-3840 - Business cycles. Economic fluctuations

Data and other resources

Sources of Economic Data

Statistics Canada Data ?
Description: Statistics Canada's Data service provides free access to data tables, community profiles, thematic maps, and public-use microdata files (PUMFs). It replaces the CANSIM database.
CANSIM from CHASS ?
Description: Provides alternative access to Data from Statistics Canada (formerly CANSIM). Updated daily.
IMF eLibrary Data ?
Description: The IMF publishes a range of time series data on IMF lending, exchange rates and other economic and financial indicators. Manuals, guides, and other material on statistical practices at the IMF, in member countries, and of the statistical community at large are also available.
World Bank Open Data ?
Description: Free and open access to data about development in countries around the globe, including World Development Indicators (WDI) and other datasets.

Scholarly Societies

American Economic Association

Canadian Economics Association

International organizations

International Monetary Fund

World Bank

Library & Archives

You are here

Welcome & reference resources