You are here
- Education - Home
- Get Started
- Get Books and Theses
- Get Articles
- Get Films
- Curriculum Resources
- Citing Sources and Zotero
To learn more about the library and its resources and how you can exploit them to your advantage, register in the Research Skills Tutorial on D2L. There are several sections in the tutorial with a short quiz at the end of each; at the end you will receive a Certificate of Completion. Many professors require you to take this tutorial--and once you finish it, you can save your certificate to reprint as often as necessary.
In the fall, the library hosts live Orientation tours as well as Zotero classes which you can sign up for at the library's entrance, and even after the formal schedule is finished, we are very happy to put on special classes at the request of at least 5 students. If you would like to arrange a special class, or you think your course would benefit from some in-class library instruction, please ask your professor to contact the librarian responsible for your faculty to set up some sessions.
Help with a Paper
I am available to help you throughout the academic year. If you would like to arrange for an individual appointment, please e-mail me (email@example.com) with a requested date and time, and a brief description of your project.
In the library: The Library User Assistance Desk to your immediate left as you enter the library is a good place to start.
By email: Email the librarian responsible for your faculty for a reply during regular working hours.
By telephone: 705-675-4800, or toll free at 1-800-661-1058, ext. 2
For Distance Education students: Telephone: 1-800-661-1058, ext. 2 or email: firstname.lastname@example.org
Quick Tips on Preparing for Research
Before you start:
- understand the key terms you may be using as well as the general area that interests you;
- think about ways to narrow your topic, making it as specific as possible (unless you have been given a specific topic to research!);
- create a thesis statement;
- list the main concepts (key words) included in your thesis statement (research question), then based on your readings;
- find as many synonyms as you can for each main concept. You are now ready to start searching in the library's catalogue and databases.
When you are looking for definitions or if you don’t know much about a specific subject, reference works such as dictionaries and encyclopedias become invaluable because they contain relatively short—and understandable—articles. These articles often lay out the parameters of a subject and can assist you in trying to narrow your topic. Often such articles are accompanied by lists of readings (bibliographies) which allow you to explore your topic further.
One of the very best general encyclopedias is: The Encyclopedia Britannica.
The Encyclopedia of Education. 1971. 10 vols.
There are also more specialized encyclopedias of education in print on such topics as Early Childhood Education, Educational Administration, and Educational Research. To find more using the catalogue, click on the subject heading: Education--Encyclopedias
At the moment, there is one online encyclopedia,The Encyclopedia of Language and Education. 2nd ed. 2008
Searching the Catalogue
The catalogue is your primary tool for finding books in the J.N. Desmarais Library. You can also use the catalogue to find other materials, including government publications and journals (including individual articles).
You can search the catalogue by:
- Journal Title
When you know the book you are searching for, pick Title or Author; when you are searching for a topic, start with Keyword unless you know the exact Subject heading describing your topic.
More on searching the Catalogue is available in Module 5 of the Research Skills Tutorial in D2L.
E-books are located in two different places:
- Some may be located by using the library’s catalogue and selecting "Books & eBooks" as the "Material Type" and then further filtering your results by "Available online".
- E-books can also be located by searching in e-book collections. Searching in these collections is the same as searching in a database.
Recommended E-Book Collections
- EBook Central (close to 40,000 e-books in multiple subject areas)
- Ebsco eBook Collection (over 7,000 ebooks in multiple subject areas)
- MyiLibrary (over 100 e-books in education--all accessible through the catalogue)
- Scholars Portal E-Books (over 250,000 e-books in multiple subject areas. Select Full Text Only to find only those e-books with full text)
In addition to books, you may wish to search for book-length Master's theses or Ph.D dissertations.
Best bet: Dissertations and Theses (ProQuest).
If you are also looking for recent theses or dissertations produced by Laurentian graduates, check out our Research Repository - LUZONE. Note that since 2013, before graduation all Masters and Doctoral candidates MUST deposit their theses or dissertations in this repository.
Articles: Quick Tips
The databases to the right provide references to many scholarly journal articles and papers.
- Start off with keyword searches expressing your topic. Keyword searching crosses all fields.
- Use Search Operators such as "OR" and "AND" to expand or reduce your results.
- Review those items that look relevant, then, exploit the details within those entries to help lead you to other relevant articles.
- Pay attention to the subject headings (often called "descriptors") to see how the database describes your topic and use them to find related articles.
- Find other papers written by the same author; these will typically be on similar subjects.
- Follow citation trails: other articles that have cited this article will probably be on a related subject and will include citations to other articles of interest.
- For more Secrets of Searching a Database, review that section in How to Research Like a Librarian.
Peer Review is the evaluation of creative work by scholars in the same field in order to maintain or enhance the quality of the work in that field.
In the case of peer reviewed journals, which are usually academic, peer review generally refers to the evaluation of the articles in them prior to publication. For more, check out this definition of peer review.
- To ascertain whether a journal is peer reviewed, consult Ulrichsweb.
Getting Articles @ Laurentian
In any database, when you see an article that interests you, click on it and, unless the article is available within the database itself, within the record you will see a "Get it @ Laurentian" image such as the following:
When you click on that, you will arrive at a menu which will lead to an electronic copy of the article you want, or, if not available electronically, to Laurentian's catalogue which will allow you to check if the article is available in print in the library, and if not, to a final link which allows you to order the item through ILL - Interlibrary loan.
Need a Film Not in Laurentian's Online Film Collections?
Consult: Watmedia (Provincial Multi-media Catalogue). Material held by Laurentian may be signed out in the library. To order a film not available at Laurentian, please email LUFilmLibrary@laurentian.ca and specify the date(s) you require the item.
Questions: Please contact Ashley Thomson who manages the Intrafilm Project.
Books for Children and Young Adults
CM: Canadian Review of Materials
Reviews Canadiana of interest to children and young adults, including publications produced in Canada, or published elsewhere but of special interest or significance to Canada, such as those having a Canadian writer, illustrator or subject. CM reviews both books and DVDs.
Worlds of Words: International Collection of Children's and Adolescent Literature, from the Univ. of Arizona College of Education.
This Web site's mission is to promote high-quality, culturally authentic children's literature. Users may do quick or advanced searches for books and receive bibliographic information and a brief description for each book found. The site presents the option of choosing from the categories of Region, Age, or Genre. Advanced Search allows users to specify one age group, one region, and one genre but precludes choosing multiple options under a category. Worlds of Words features two online journals: WOW Stories: Connections from the Classroom, containing vignettes written by educators about children's experiences reading and responding to literature, and WOW Review: Reading across Cultures, a quarterly whose reviews focus on the cultural authenticity of the text and illustrations. Also available are the WOW Currents blog and an events calendar limited to the University of Arizona area. Although somewhat narrowly focused, this site will be useful for teachers, parents, and librarians trying to pick the best books for children. Educators also will benefit from the teaching helps in the blog and from WOW Stories.
Curriculum Resource Centre (CRC)
The Curriculum Resource Centre is located in Room E-102 of the Alphonse Raymond Building #20 on this Campus Map - Carte de campus and it supports School of Education students in their studies and in their teaching placements. Its collection includes curriculum materials, textbooks, pedagogy, native studies materials, as well as teaching aides such as picture books, novels, literacy games, science kits, charts, math manipulables, and musical instruments.
The CRC follows the J.N. Desmarais Library protocols in regards to borrowing privileges, loan periods, fines, etc.
How to Search for Items in the CRC
Laurentian University’s Library catalogue includes CRC items and they can be found in a general search.
If you are looking for a children’s book about penguins, it is too time-consuming to look through that many results to find something suitable.
Instead, limiting the hits to items held by the CRC is very effective.
When your'e at the Library catalogue, click on “Advanced Search"
Please check here for its current hours of operation.
Suzanne St-Amour, Ext. 5024.
We cite sources to acknowledge the work of others, as well as to avoid academic dishonesty or plagiarism.
The University of Toronto has made available a comprehensive set of guidelines on How NOT to Plagiarize .which deserves to be read by every student
You'll find copies of the new Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association (7th ed.) in the Desmarais Library, the Curriculum Resource Centre—and in the Huntington Library. The call number is BF 76.7 P83 2020. It is often referred to as the APA Manual.
In a hurry?
The Online Writing Lab (OWL) of Purdue University has a comprehensive online guide for citing in APA.
This guide will give you general guidelines for in-text citation and for creating an APA reference list for both print and electronic documents.
It is intended as a quick reference only. To be certain you are have used APA style correctly, the APA Manual is most helpful.
Managing citations with Zotero
- Directly import references from article databases, the library catalogue, e-book collections, etc.
- Manage and organize your references.
- Create a bibliography.
- Share your references with others
- Add in-text citation and a bibliography directly into your assignment
To enable Zotero's Library Lookup service to find full-text documents licensed by Laurentian University, set Edit->Preferences->Advanced->General->Resolver to
Getting started with Zotero:
- Follow this Guide for Laurentian Users (Feb. 2021)
- Contact the librarian supporting your faculty.
- Sign up for library workshops when available.
- View Quick Start Guide (video) or Tutorials (videos)
- Consult one of Zotero's own User Guides, McMaster University's Quick Start Guide, or the Zotero Guide by Ontario Tech University