You are here
Welcome to the Forensic Science Research Guide! Here you can find tips on how to find and use information pertaining to Forensic Science. Please explore the links and feel free to contact us for any additional information or help using our resources.
Dictionaries & Encyclopedias
Forensic Science: An Illustrated Dictionary (through ebrary)
The Forensic Laboratory Handbook Procedures and Practice (through SpringerLink)
Encyclopedia of Forensic Science (through MyiLibrary)
For special instruction in this subject during class time, ask your professor to arrange a class by contacting Mr. Mrozewski, ext 3325
In the library: The Library User Assistance Desk to your immediate left as you enter the library is a good place to start.
By email: Email the librarian responsible for your faculty for a reply during regular working hours.
By telephone: 705-675-4803, or toll free at 1-800-661-1058, ext. 2
For Distance Education students: Telephone: 1-800-661-1058, ext. 2 or email: Distance_l@laurentian.ca
Forensic Science Related Databases
- Alcohol Studies Database
- Google Scholar
Set your "Library Links" to include "Laurentian University - Get full text" at https://scholar.google.ca/scholar_settings for easy off-campus access
- Humanities & Social Sciences Index Retrospective: 1907-1984
- National Criminal Justice Reference Service (NCJRS) Abstracts Database
- Sociological Abstracts
- Web of Knowledge
Searching the Catalogue
The catalogue is your primary tool for finding books in the J.N. Desmarais Library. You can also use the catalogue to find other materials, including government publications and journals (the journals themselves--not individual articles).
You can search the catalogue by:
- Journal Title
When you know the book you are searching for, pick Title or Author; when you are searching for a topic, start with Keyword unless you know the exact Subject heading describing your topic.
More on searching the Catalogue is available in Module 5 of the Research Skills Tutorial in D2L.
Additional Print Resources
- Forensic Science: An Illustrated Dictionary (2nd Floor: Ref. HV 8073 B677 2004)
- Color Atlas and Manual of Microscopy for Criminalists, Chemists, and Conservators (3rd Floor: QH 205.2 P486 2004)
Laurentian uses LC Classification. Some patrons may wish to browse for books in the stacks; Forensic Science is generally classified under HV - Social pathology, public welfare, and criminology.
Some related HV subclassifications are:
- HV6001-7220.5 Criminology
- HV6035-6197 Criminal anthropology
- HV6055-6079 Criminals--identification
- HV6071 Legal photography (criminology)
- HV6074 Fingerprints
- HV6675-6685 Forgery
- HV7936 Evidence preservation
- HV8073-8079 Criminal investigation
- HV8073 Chemistry, forensic (general)
- HV8073-8077.35 Identification (criminal investigation)
- HV8075 Typewriting--identification
- HV8077.5 Footprints--identification
- HV8074-8076 Writing--identification
- HV8077 Firearms--identification. Forensic ballistics
- HV8079 Arson investigation. Computer crimes--investigation
Further related classifications are GN which includes Forensic Anthropology and RA which includes Forensic Medicine.
Need a Film Not in Laurentian's Online Film Collections?
Consult: Watmedia (Provincial Multi-media Catalogue). Material held by Laurentian may be signed out in the library. To order a film not available at Laurentian, please email LUFilmLibrary@laurentian.ca and specify the date(s) you require the item.
Questions: Please contact Ashley Thomson who manages the Intrafilm Project.