You are here

Get Reference Publications

Dictionaries - English language

Get Dictionaries

At the library we have print dictionaries such as:

Canadian Oxford Dictionary (2004)

There are also dictionaries for other languages and the academic disciplines. Do a subject search in the catalogue for:

[discipline or language] Dictionaries

Encyclopedias - General Resources

  • Encyclopedia Britannica ?

    Description: The premier general reference resource in English to access the universe of knowledge.

  • The Canadian Encyclopedia (TCE) ?

    Description: "Since its publication in book form in 1985, The Canadian Encyclopedia has provided the most comprehensive, objective and accurate source of information on Canada for students, readers and scholars across Canada and throughout the world" - publisher's description. Also includes The Encyclopedia of Music in Canada.

  • International Encyclopedia of the Social Sciences ?

    Description: Covers scholarship and fields that have emerged and matured since the publication of the original international edition (1968). Emphasizes the expanding influence of economics in social science research. Includes new articles and biographies contributed by scholars from around the world.

Get Encyclopedias

Listed above are several of the standard online resources, of which Britannica is the most encompassing. There are specialized encyclopedias as well, both print and online, for which you would search under:

[Discipline] Encyclopedias

Get Style Manuals

The Library has the standard print resources for citing scholarly work:

APA Publication Manual
Chicago Manual of Style 
MLA Style Manual
Manual for Writers of Research Papers (Turabian) is an excellent guide to Chicago for students.

Here are some useful web resources:

How to cite & organize information (OSU): APA, Chicago, CMOS, MLA
Research & citation sources (Purdue): APA, Chicago, MLA
Writing & style guides (SFU). Includes citation of Canadian government documents/statistics in APA, Chicago & MLA, as well as business sources in APA.

Please see the Library's Citation style guide for further details about style and citation.

Reference Librarian

DMaley's picture
Name: Desmond Maley
Position Title: Associate Librarian
Email Address: dmaley@laurentian.ca
Extension: 3323
Office Location: 30-246, J.-N. Desmarais Library

Biographies

Do a subject search in the library catalogue under:
[Subject or Person of interest] biography

The standard Canadian resource is:
Dictionary of Canadian Biography Online

The biography covers persons who died between 1000 and 1930. We also have this ebook:
Who's Who in Canada (2006)

Get Journals & Databases

Key Multidisciplinary Resources

  • Academic OneFile ?

    Description: More than 14,000 titles, including more than 9,000 peer-reviewed journals and more than 6,000 in full text. Extensive coverage of the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects since 1980.

Get Collections & Dissertations

Ebook Collections

We recommend our ebook collections, as issued by producers and publishers, especially since they cannot be browsed by call number. Most, but not all, of the individual books in our ebook collections are also available through the catalogue.

Graduate and Doctoral Research

  • ProQuest Dissertations and Theses ?

    Description: This database includes 2.7 million searchable citations to doctoral dissertation and Master's theses from around the world from 1861 to the present day together with 1.2 million full text dissertations that are available for download in PDF format. Full text has been added since 1997 and strong retrospective full text coverage for older graduate works. Those not available full-text may be ordered privately; they are not normally available through interlibrary loan.

  • Dissertations & Theses @ Laurentian University ?

    Description: This database gives access to the dissertations and theses produced by students at Laurentian University

  • Theses Canada ?

    Description: "Canadian universities participate in the program voluntarily by submitting approved theses and dissertation to Theses Canada." Published by Library and Archives Canada.

  • DART-Europe E-Theses Portal ?

    Description: "DART-Europe is a partnership of research libraries and library consortia who are working together to improve global access to European research theses" - publisher's info.

Laurentian 4th Year Honours Essays, Graduate Theses

The Archives holds print copies of 4th year honours essays, graduate theses, and master's theses by Laurentian students. To search for the essays/theses  of particular programmes, use this link to the catalogue and choose the "Search Library" box (lower left) to specify one of these locations:

4th year theses and essays

...or

Graduate theses and essays

...then enter the name of the discipline or program under "keywords" to retrieve what was written for that discipline or program. You can also search the catalogue under the author or title of the thesis.

Since the 1st of July, 2013, theses and Master’s Essays are submitted electronically, and are deposited in the research repository - (LUZoneUL), where they can be consulted online. You can search by author, title, subject or date. Archives will no longer receive printed copies.  We will, however, continue to hold and make accessible all copies of theses and Master’s Essays that were submitted and approved prior to 30 June, 2013.

Get Library Catalogues & Atlases

Atlases

Do a catalogue subject search under:

Atlases

...to see what print/online world atlases we have.

[Place name] Maps for national and regional atlases

[Place name] [subject] Maps for thematic atlases

There are open-access websites as well. Two of the most important resources for Canada are in the panel below. Please also consult our library guide for geospatial data.

Atlases

  • Atlas of Canada ?

    Description: Atlas of Canada offers a rich treasury of geographic information for all Canadians. You'll find hundreds of online maps about Canada's environment, society, economy and history.

  • Historical Atlas of Canada ?

    Description: Originally published in three volumes. This website makes many of the maps and much of the research data created for the Atlas available online.

Library Catalogues & Resource Tools

Library catalogues are superb for discovering scholarly work worldwide. In particular we recommend WorldCat (right panel). Below is a list of catalogues of local, regional, national and international significance, as well as other library-related tools.

Sudbury catalogues
 
Ontario catalogues
 
Canadian catalogues
 
External catalogues

Resource Tools

 

Library Catalogues Worldwide

  • WorldCat ?

    Description: The world's largest database of library collections in North America and abroad, including Laurentian's.

Library of Congress Classification

LC Classification

The books in this library are arranged on the shelves according to the Library of Congress Classification System.

 

 
A. GENERAL WORKS
AC Collections AN Newspapers
AE Encyclopedias AP Periodicals
AG Dictionaries AS Academies and societies
AI Indexes AY Yearbooks, Almanacs, Directories
AM Museums AZ History of scholarship
 
B. PHILOSOPHY, PSYCHOLOGY, RELIGION
B Philosophy (General) BP Islam, Bahaism, Theosophy, etc.
BC Logic BQ Buddhism
BD Speculative philosophy BR Christianity
BF Psychology, Parapsychology, Occultism BS Bible
BH Aesthetics BT Christianity: Doctrinal theology
BJ Ethics, Social usages, Etiquette BV Christianity: Practical Theology
BL Religions, Mythology BX Christian denominations
BM Judaism
 
C. AUXILIARY SCIENCES OF HISTORY
C General CJ Numismatics
CB History of civilization CN Inscriptions, Epigraphy
CC Archaeology CR Heraldry
CD Diplomatics, Archives, Seals CS Genealogy
CE Technical chronology, Calendar CT Biography
 
D. HISTORY: GENERAL AND OLD WORLD
D General DJK Eastern Europe
DA Great Britain DK Soviet Union, Poland
DB Austria, Hungary, Czechoslovakia DL Northern Europe. Scandinavia
DC France DP Spain, Portugal
DD Germany DQ Switzerland
DE Mediterranean region - Classical DR Balkan Peninsula. Turkey
DF Greece DS Asia
DG Italy DT Africa
DH Low Countries: Belgium, Luxemburg DU Oceania, Australia, New Zealand
DJ Netherlands (Holland) DX Gypsies
 
E-F. HISTORY: WESTERN HEMISPHERE
E America FC Canada
F U.S. local history. Latin America
 
G. GEOGRAPHY, ANTHROPOLOGY, RECREATION
G General. Atlases. Maps GF Human ocology. Anthropogeography
GA Mathematical geography. Cartography GN Anthropology
GB Physical geography GR Folklore
GC Oceanography GT Manners and customs
GE Environmental Sciences GV Recreation. Sports. Games
 
H. SOCIAL SCIENCES
H General HJ Public finance
HA Statistics HM Sociology
HB Economics HN Social history
HC Economic History HQ Family. Marriage. Women
HD Land. Agriculture. Industry. Labor HS Societies. Clubs
HE Transportation and communications HT Communities. Classes. Races
HF Commerce HV Social pathology. Social service. Criminology
HG Finance HX Socialism. Communism
 
J. POLITICAL SCIENCE
J General legislative and executive papers JN Constitutional history - Europe
JA Political science - General JQ Constitutional History - Asia. Africa. Australia. Oceania
JC Political theory. The state JS Local government
JF Constitutional history - General JV Colonies and colonization
JK Constitutional history - United States JX International law
JL Constitutional history - Canada. Latin America JZ International relations
 
K. LAW
K General KJ-KKZ Europe
KD United Kingdom and Ireland KJV-KJW France
KDZ America. North America. OAS KK-KKC Germany
KE Canada KL-KWX Asia and Eurasia. Africa. Pacific Area. Antarctica.
KF United States KZ Law of Nations
KG-KH Latin America. West Indies. South America
 
L. EDUCATION
L General LF Individual institutions - Europe
LA History of education LG Individual institutions - Asia. Africa. Oceania
LB Theory and practice of education LH College publications
LC Special aspects of education LJ Student fraternities and sororities
LD Individual institutions - U.S. LT Textbooks
LE Individual institutions - Other Americas
 
M. MUSIC
M General MT Music instruction
ML Literature of music
 
N. FINE ARTS
N Visual Arts ND Painting
NA Architecture NE Print media
NB Sculpture NK Decorative arts. Applied arts
NC Drawing. Design NX Arts in general
 
P. LANGUAGE AND LITERATURE
P Philology and linguistics PL East Asian languages and literatures
PA Classical languages and literature PM American Indian languages. Artificial languages
PB Celtic languages PN Literature. General literary history and collections. Performing arts
PC Romance languages PQ Romance literatures
PD Germanic languages. Scandinavian languages PR English literature
PE English language PS American literature
PF West Germanic languages. Dutch. German PS 8000 Canadian literature (English)
PG Slavic. Baltic. Armenian languages and literature PS 9000 Canadian literature (French)
PH Finno-Ugrian languages and literature PT Germanic literatures
PJ Oriental languages and literatures PZ Juvenile belle lettres
PK Indo-Iranian languages and literatures
 
Q. SCIENCE
Q General QH Natural history. Biology
QA Mathematics QK Botany
QB Astronomy QL Zoology
QC Physics QM Human anatomy
QD Chemistry QP Physiology
QE Geology QR Microbiology
 
R. MEDICINE
R General RK Dentistry
RA Public aspects of medicine RL Dermatology
RB Pathology RM Therapeutics. Pharmacology
RC Internal medicine RS Pharmacy. Materia medica
RD Surgery RT Nursing
RE Ophthalmology RV Botanic. Thomsonian, eclectic medicine
RF Otorhinolaryngology RX Homeopathy
RG Gynecology and obstetrics RZ Other systems of medicine
RJ Pediatrics
 
S. AGRICULTURE
S General SF Animal culture
SB Plant culture SH Aquaculture. Fisheries. Angling
SD Forestry SK Hunting
 
T. TECHNOLOGY
T General TK Electrical engineering. Electronics. Nuclear engineering
TA Engineering - General and civil TL Motor vehicles. Aeronautics. Astronautics
TC Hydraulic engineering TN Mining engineering. Metallurgy
TD Environmental technology. Sanitary engineering TP Chemical technology
TE Highway engineering TR Photography
TF Railroad engineering TS Manufactures
TG Bridge construction TT Handicrafts. Arts and crafts
TH Building construction TX Home economics
TJ Mechanical engineering and machinery
 
U. MILITARY SCIENCE
U General UE Cavalry. Armored cavalry
UA Armies UF Artillery
UB Military administration UG Military engineering. Air forces. Air warfare
UC Maintenance and transportation UH Other services
UD Infantry
 
V. NAVAL SCIENCE
V General VE Marines
VA Navies VF Naval ordnance
VB Naval administration VG Minor services of navies
VC Naval maintenance VK Navigation. Merchant marine
VD Naval seamen VM Naval architecture. Marine engineering
 
Z. BIBLIOGRAPHY: LIBRARY SCIENCE
Z Books. Book industries. Libraries. Library science. Bibliography ZA Information resources. internet. World Wide Web. Data bases.