You are here

Welcome

Welcome

The purpose of this guide is to recommend print and electronic resources for conducting research in Geography at Laurentian University. Click on the links on the left to see a variety of research resources that are available.
 
I am available to assist you in your research throughout the academic year.  Please e-mail me to set up a date and time.

Citations and Bibliography: Use Zotero

We recommend Zotero, a free, easy-to-use tool that helps you to collect, organize, cite and share your research.

Further information on citation styles is available in our Citation Styles Guide.

Library Instruction

To learn more about the library and its resources and how you can exploit them to your advantage, register in the Research Skills Tutorial on D2L. There are several sections in the tutorial with a short quiz at the end of each; at the end you will receive a Certificate of Completion. Many professors require you to take this tutorial--and once you finish it, you can save your certificate to reprint as often as necessary.

We can hold special classes at the request of at least 5 students. If you would like to arrange a special class, or you think your course would benefit from some in-class library instruction, please ask your professor to contact the librarian responsible for your faculty to set up some sessions.

Introductions and Reference Publications

Introductions
Geography: a very short introduction. Online. 2008.
Human geography: a short introduction. Print. 2018.

Atlases

The Atlas of Canada. Online. Natural Resources Canada.
Geography. Online. Statistics Canada

Dictionaries and Encyclopedias
Dictionary of geography. 2009. Print.
Dictionary of human geography. 2009. Online.
Dictionary of human geography. 2013. Print.
Dictionary of physical geography. 4th ed. 2016. Online.
Encyclopedia of geography. 2010. Online.
Encyclopedia of geographic information science. 2009. Online & print.
Encyclopedia of human geography. 2006. Online & print.

Handbooks
21st century geography: a reference handbook. 2011. Online.
SAGE handbook of qualitative geography. 2010. Online.

More Help

In the library: The Library User Assistance Desk to your immediate left as you enter the library is a good place to start.

By email: Email the librarian responsible for your faculty for a reply during regular working hours.

By telephone: 705-675-4800, or toll free at 1-800-661-1058, ext. 2

By chat: With our "Ask the Library" service. For more information, see About Ask a Librarian.

For Distance Education students: Telephone: 1-800-661-1058, ext. 2 or email: bibdesmaraislib@laurentian.ca

Get books and articles

Library catalogues and ebooks

WorldCat

Some E-books may be located by using the library’s catalogue and selecting "Books & eBooks" as the "Material Type" and then further filtering your results by "Available online". 

The library also has ebook collections. The recommended list is given below.

Ebook collections

  • Ebook Central ?

    Description: close to 40,000 ebooks in multiple subject areas

  • Gale Virtual Reference Library ?

    Description: Over 80 reference ebooks in multiple subject areas.

  • Intelex Past Masters: Full-Text Humanities ?

    Description: Description: Encompasses the largest collection of primary source full-text electronic editions in philosophy in the world. Includes significant collections in the history of political thought and theory, religious studies, education, German studies, sociology, the history and philosophy of science, economics, and classics. Features definitive editions of the full corpora of the seminal figures in the history of the human sciences, including published and unpublished works, articles, essays, reviews, and correspondence. Publishes collections in English and English translation, German, French, Latin, Danish, Spanish, Italian, and Russian. Also includes The English Letters Collection (letters or correspondence and in some cases the notebooks, diaries, and memoirs of the most significant figures in English cultural history, politics, religion and the arts), the Women Writers Collection, and the Pickering & Chatto Women's Studies Collection. --Publisher’s description

  • Oxford Scholarship Online ?

    Description: Over 13,960 ebooks in multiple subject areas.

  • EBSCOHost eBook Collection ?

    Description: Over 7,500 ebooks in multiple subject areas

  • Scholars Portal - Ebooks ?

    Description: Over 345,000 ebooks in multiple subject areas. Select Full Text Only to find only those ebooks with full text.

  • Springer LINK ?

    Description: SpringerLink currently offers 2,777 fully peer-reviewed journals and over 151,000 books online.

  • Taylor & Francis E-books ?

    Description: More than 15,000 e-books in multiple subject areas.

  • ACLS Humanities Ebooks ?

    Description: over 6,200 ebooks in the humanities

Geography: Recommended Databases

  • GeoRef ?

    To capture citations in Zotero, download the citation(s) for a single item or a set of search results in BibTex format.

    Description: The American Geological Institute's GeoRef database provides a comprehensive history of geology and its subfields, with more than 2.9 million records. Years covered: 1693 - present.

  • GreenFILE ?

    Description: GreenFILE is a multidisciplinary database which relates the environment to a variety of disciplines such as agriculture, education, law, health and technology. Topics covered include global climate change, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more. Includes more than 538,000 records, as well as Open Access full text for more than 5,800 records. Years covered: 1969 - present.

  • Google Scholar ?

    Description: "Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature... across many disciplines and sources: articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites."

  • JSTOR ?

    Description: JSTOR includes the archives of over one thousand leading academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, as well as select monographs and other materials valuable for academic work. The entire corpus is full-text searchable, offers search term highlighting, includes high-quality images, and is interlinked by millions of citations and references. Note: Normally the journals in JSTOR are five years from current; further, all JSTOR journals are available through the "Get it @ Laurentian" link from other databases. JSTOR should NOT be used as at the first resort.

  • Nexis Uni ?

    Description: Nexis Uni is a rich source of news, business and legal information.

  • Scholars Portal - Ejournals ?

    Description: Scholars Portal is a digital repository of over 20 million scholarly articles drawn from journals covering every academic discipline.

  • ScienceDirect ?

    Description: A full-text scientific database offering journal articles and book chapters from nearly 2,500 journals and 26,000 books in the fields of physical, life, health and social sciences, engineering and the humanities.

  • Springer LINK ?

    Description: SpringerLink currently offers 2,777 fully peer-reviewed journals and over 151,000 books online.

Dissertations and Theses

  • ProQuest Dissertations and Theses ?

    Description: This database includes 2.7 million searchable citations to doctoral dissertation and Master's theses from around the world from 1861 to the present day together with 1.2 million full text dissertations that are available for download in PDF format. Full text has been added since 1997 and strong retrospective full text coverage for older graduate works. Those not available full-text may be ordered privately; they are not normally available through interlibrary loan.

  • Theses Canada ?

    Description: "Canadian universities participate in the program voluntarily by submitting approved theses and dissertation to Theses Canada." Published by Library and Archives Canada.

  • Dissertations & Theses @ Laurentian University ?

    Description: This database gives access to the dissertations and theses produced by students at Laurentian University

  • DART-Europe E-Theses Portal ?

    Description: "DART-Europe is a partnership of research libraries and library consortia who are working together to improve global access to European research theses" - publisher's info.

  • EThOS — British Library e-theses online service ?

    Description: EThOS is the UK’s national thesis service which aims to maximise the visibility and availability of the UK’s doctoral research theses. There are approximately 380,000 records relating to theses awarded by over 120 institutions. Around 120,000 of these also provide access to the full text thesis, either via download from the EThOS database or via links to the institution’s own repository.

  • Open Access Theses and Dissertations (OATD) ?

    Description: OATD.org aims to be the best possible resource for finding open access graduate theses and dissertations published around the world. - Publisher's description