You are here

Welcome

Welcome

The purpose of this guide is to recommend print and electronic resources for conducting research in Geography at Laurentian University. Click on the tabs above to see a variety of research resources that are available.
 
I am available to assist you in your research throughout the academic year.  Please e-mail me to set up a date and time.

Cite your References!

Find information on popular reference styles through our "Citation Styles Guide." Remember to use the style asked for by your professor, and to check your work.
 
Use Zotero to help import, manage and export bibliographic references in various styles.

The Essentials

Atlases
National atlas of Canada. Natural Resources Canada.
Maps and geography. Statistics Canada.

Dictionaries and Encyclopedias
Dictionary of geography. 2009. Print.
Dictionary of human geography. 2009. Online.
Encyclopedia of geography. 2010. Online.
Encyclopedia of geographic information science 2009. Online & print.
Encyclopedia of human geography. 2006. Online & print.
Encyclopedic dictionary of physical geography. 1985. Print.

Geography Librarian

DMaley's picture
Name: Desmond Maley
Position Title: Associate Librarian
Email Address: dmaley@laurentian.ca
Extension: 3323
Office Location: 30-246, J.-N. Desmarais Library

More Help

In the library: The Library User Assistance Desk to your immediate left as you enter the library is a good place to start.

By email: Email the librarian responsible for your faculty for a reply during regular working hours.

By telephone: 705-675-4803, or toll free at 1-800-661-1058, ext. 2

By chat: With our "Ask the Library" service. For more information, see About Ask a Librarian.

For Distance Education students: Telephone: 1-800-661-1058, ext. 2 or email: Distance_l@laurentian.ca

Get articles & reports

Geography Recommended Databases

  • GeoRef ?

    Description: The American Geological Institute's GeoRef database provides a comprehensive history of geology and its subfields, with more than 2.9 million records. Years covered: 1693 - present.

  • GreenFILE ?

    Description: GreenFILE is a multidisciplinary database which relates the environment to a variety of disciplines such as agriculture, education, law, health and technology. Topics covered include global climate change, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more. Includes more than 538,000 records, as well as Open Access full text for more than 5,800 records. Years covered: 1969 - present.

  • JSTOR ?

    Description: JSTOR includes the archives of over one thousand leading academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, as well as select monographs and other materials valuable for academic work. The entire corpus is full-text searchable, offers search term highlighting, includes high-quality images, and is interlinked by millions of citations and references. Note: Normally the journals in JSTOR are five years from current; further, all JSTOR journals are available through the "Get it @ Laurentian" link from other databases. JSTOR should NOT be used as at the first resort.

  • Scholars Portal - Ejournals ?

    Description: Scholars Portal is a digital repository of over 20 million scholarly articles drawn from journals covering every academic discipline.

  • Springer LINK ?

    Description: SpringerLink currently offers 2,777 fully peer-reviewed journals and 56,704 books online.

  • Canadian Newsstand Major Dailies ?

    Description: Includes national and leading regional papers such as National Post, Calgary Herald, Edmonton Journal, Montreal Gazette, Ottawa Citizen, Regina Leader Post, Vancouver Sun and the Victoria Times-Colonist.

Theses and Dissertations

For additional information on advanced research as well as theses and dissertations, please consult our Research Guide for Advanced Studies.

Get books

E-books

E-books are located in two different places:
  • Some may be located by using the library’s catalogue and selecting "Electronic" item form. These records will have [electronic resource] in the title.
  • E-books can also be located by searching in e-book collections. Searching in these collections is the same as searching in a database. Recommended e-book collections:

Ebrary

Oxford Scholarship Online

SpringerLink

MyiLibrary

EBSCO Ebook Collection

Shelf Searching

Laurentian uses LC Classification. Some patrons may wish to browse for books in the stacks; Geography is classified under G - Geography. Anthropology. Recreation. The following subclasses are relational to Geography:

G - Geography (General). Atlases. Maps
GA - Mathematical geography. Cartography
GB - Physical geography
GC - Oceanography
GE - Environmental Sciences

WorldCat

With nearly 200 million records representing titles held by nearly 75,000 libraries you will find almost any book ever published in the English language in WorldCat.
Search Tips:  Once you log-in, click on the Help Button: Help button
After your search, when you see a title that interests you, click on it and within the record you will see an image for "Get it @ Laurentian" :
   Get it @ Laurentian
When you click on that, you will be led to a menu which allows you to check for availability in Laurentian’s catalogue or order the item through ILL - Interlibrary Loan.
Note: While a free version of WorldCat is available online, we recommend that you use the university's subscription version of WorldCat because it offers the "Get it @ Laurentian" feature and more powerful search functionality.