You are here

Home » Gerontology

Get Started

Welcome

Welcome to the Gerontology Research Guide!

Here you will find a variety of resources related to Gerontology.

Cite your References!

Find information on popular reference styles through our "Quick Reference Guide." Remember to use the style asked for by your professor, and to check your work.

Gerontology - Core Research Database

  • AgeLine ?

    Description: AgeLine focuses exclusively on the population aged 50+ and issues of aging. AgeLine is the premier source for the literature of social gerontology and includes aging-related content from the health sciences, psychology, sociology, social work, economics, and public policy. AgeLine indexes over 200 journals, books, book chapters, and reports. Publication coverage is from 1978 to the present, with selected coverage from 1966-1977

Jump Start

Encyclopedias

The academic subject specific encyclopedias listed here are excellent tools to help define terms and concepts in gerontology.  They will offer you short introductions to key topics, concepts, methods and areas of study in the discipline.  Entries will often include a bibliography so you can learn about key authors in the subject area and articles and books on the topic.

Encyclopedias available electronically:

Encyclopedia of Aging

Encyclopedia of Health & Aging

Encyclopedia of Aging and Public Health

The Encyclopedia of Elder Care: the Comprehensive Resource on Geriatric Health and Social Care

Encyclopedia of Death and Human Experience

 

Encyclopedias in gerontology are also available in print at the Huntington University Library:

Encyclopedia of Adulthood and Aging (In Print: HUNT. HQ799.95 E53 2016)

Encyclopedia of Gerontology (In Print: HUNT. RC952.5 E58 2007)

Encyclopedia of Alzheimer's Disease (In Print: HUNT. RC528. M665 2012)

 
Handbooks
 
Handbooks provide introductory articles and chapters on sub-topics in a discipline.  They are handy if you want to get an overview of the research that has been done in a given area.
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
International Handbook of Elder Abuse and Mistreatment

The Sage Handbook of Aging, Work and Society

Print handbooks are also available at the Huntington University Library:

Routledge Handbook for Cultural Gerontology (In Print: HUNT. HQ1061 R5946 2015)

Handbook of Assessment in Clinical Gerontology (In Print: HUNT. RC451.4 A5 H358 2010)

Handbook of the Biology of Aging (In Print: HUNT. QP86 H35 2006)

Handbook of Theories of Aging (In Print: HUNT. HQ1061 H3366 2009)

SAGE Handbook of Social Gerontogy (In Print: HUNT. HQ1061 S34 2010)

Subject Librarian

NGerolami's picture
Name: Natasha Gerolami, MLIS, PhD
Position Title: Bibliothécaire agrégée / Associate Librarian
Email Address: ngerolami@laurentian.ca
Extension: (705) 675-1151 poste 3325
Office Location: Bibliothèque J.N. Desmarais Library 30-250

Library Instruction

Basic online library instruction is available in either official language using Laurentian's Desire2Learn platform.

Get Articles

Gerontology - Core Research Database

  • AgeLine ?

    Description: AgeLine focuses exclusively on the population aged 50+ and issues of aging. AgeLine is the premier source for the literature of social gerontology and includes aging-related content from the health sciences, psychology, sociology, social work, economics, and public policy. AgeLine indexes over 200 journals, books, book chapters, and reports. Publication coverage is from 1978 to the present, with selected coverage from 1966-1977

Gerontology Subject Databases

  • CINAHL ?

    Description: CINAHL (Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature) provides indexing for more than 2,980 journals from the fields of nursing and allied health. The database contains more than 2,000,000 records dating back to 1981.

  • MEDLINE (Ovid) ?

    Description: The latest bibliographic citations and author abstracts from more than 5,200 biomedicine and life sciences journals in nearly 40 languages. Every citation is indexed using the National Library of Medicine's Medical Subject Headings (MeSH) controlled vocabulary. MEDLINE is the largest subset of citations in the PubMed database. Searching MEDLINE via Ovid offers better support for complex literature reviews with the adjacency (ADJn) operator to find terms within "n" words of each other.

  • PsycINFO ?

    Description: PsycINFO is an electronic bibliographic database providing abstracts and citations to the scholarly literature in the psychological, social, behavioral, and health sciences. The database includes material of relevance to psychologists and professionals in related fields such as psychiatry, management, business, education, social science, neuroscience, law, medicine, and social work. Updated weekly, PsycINFO provides access to journal articles, books, chapters, and dissertations.

  • PubMed ?

    Description: PubMed comprises more than 21 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.

  • Sage Journals ?

    Description: More than 750 journals spanning the Humanities, Social Sciences, and Science, Technology, and Medicine, and more than 300 are published on behalf of learned societies and institutions.

  • Social Services Abstracts ?

    Description: provides bibliographic coverage of current research focused on social work, human services, and related areas, including social welfare, social policy, and community development. The database abstracts and indexes over 1,300+ serials publications and includes abstracts of journal articles and dissertations, and citations to book reviews.

  • Social Work Abstracts ?

    Description: Offers extensive coverage of more than 900 social work and human services journals dating back to 1965. Access is limited to 4 concurrent users.

Gerontology Related Databases

  • CANSIM from CHASS ?

    Description: Provides alternative access to Data from Statistics Canada (formerly CANSIM). Updated daily.

  • Evidence Based Medicine Reviews Multifile ?

    Description: Provides systematic reviews of topics; article reviews; and access to definitive controlled trials in the area of evidence based medicine. Incudes 1. EBM Reviews - Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews 2005--; 2. Database Field Guide EBM Reviews - ACP Journal Club 1991- , 3. Database Field Guide EBM Reviews - Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects, 4. Database Field Guide EBM Reviews - Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials 4. Database Field Guide EBM Reviews - Cochrane Methodology Register 5. Database Field Guide EBM Reviews - Health Technology Assessment 6. Database Field Guide EBM Reviews - 7. NHS Economic Evaluation Database

  • Native Health Database ?

    Description: The Native Health Database contains bibliographic information and abstracts of health-related articles, reports, surveys, and other resource documents pertaining to the health and health care of American Indians, Alaska Natives, and Canadian First Nations. The database provides information for the benefit, use, and education of organizations and individuals with an interest in health-related issues, programs, and initiatives regarding North American Indigenous peoples.

  • Scholars Portal - Ejournals ?

    Description: Scholars Portal is a digital repository of over 20 million scholarly articles drawn from journals covering every academic discipline.

  • OVID Nursing Journals ?

    Description: Access to 450 full text journals in nursing (including subsets of Behavioral & Social Sciences, Clinical Medicine, Health Profession, Life & Biomedical Sciences, Life Sciences, Medical Humanities, Nursing, Patient Education, Pharmacology, Physical Science & Engineering, Public Health and Science).

  • ProQuest Nursing & Allied Health Premium ?

    Description: Health care information covering nursing, allied health, alternative and complementary medicine. Includes over 890 full-text journals and 12,300 full-text dissertations plus over 2.000 Videos. More more see https://proquest.libguides.com/nahd#s-lg-box-25376941

  • ScienceDirect ?

    Description: A full-text scientific database offering journal articles and book chapters from nearly 2,500 journals and 26,000 books in the fields of physical, life, health and social sciences, engineering and the humanities.

  • Web of Science ?

    Description: A comprehensive research platform that brings together many different types of content including journal articles, patents, websites, conference proceedings, and open access material. Web of Science is located within Web of Knowledge. This resource offers access to journal articles in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities. Web of Science contains over 100 years of research, fully indexed and cross-searchable.

Get Books

Searching the Catalogue

The catalogue is your primary tool for finding books in the J.N. Desmarais Library and other campus libraries.           

 

You can also use the catalogue to find other materials, including government publications and journals (the journals themselves--not individual articles).

You can search the catalogue by:

  • Keyword                                                                       
  • Title
  • Author
  • Subject
  • Journal Title

When you know the book you are searching for, pick Title or Author; when you are searching for a topic, start with Keyword unless you know the exact Subject heading describing your topic.

More on searching the Catalogue is available in Module 5 of the Research Skills Tutorial in D2L.

 

Interlibrary Loan

 

Need a book or an article that we don't have? Interlibrary is here to help! 

Materials that are not available at our University are obtained from other libraries and shipped to Laurentian.

 

Already have a RACER account?  Log in to your account                                                                                         

 
Not registered for a RACER account? Register Now!
 
 
For more information check out the Interlibrary Loans Information Page
 

 

 

Data and Statistics

E-Data

International, national, and provincial statistical data are important sources of information for public health, allowing for the analysis, evaluation, and development of policies and services.

Stats Guide

For more information, visit our research guide on Data and Statistics.
 
Feel free to email data@laurentian.ca for further help in conducting research with data and statistics.

Statistics Canada

   Statistics Canada provides recent data, profiles, indicators, methods, and studies on Canadians.