You are here

Welcome

Getting Books and Articles from Other Libraries

Welcome to RACER, our Interlibrary Loan (ILL) system, which brings a wealth of scholarship to your research doorstep!

Interlibrary loans supplement the resources available at Laurentian University Library by obtaining materials from other libraries.

Are you Eligible to Receive This Service?

In order to be eligible for Interlibrary Loan Services you must have an active library account in good standing.
 
Only current and retired Laurentian University faculty and staff, or registered students may order articles and books from other libraries.

Alumni, community borrowers, and other external borrowers should contact their local public library for interlibrary loan services.
 
If you have incurred any library fines you will be temporarily suspended from using RACER until the fines have been paid and you have notified racer@laurentian.ca.

First Time User?

Register with the online registration form. This is a one-time registration. You will receive an email confirming the creation of your account.

Once you receive your confirmation, connect to RACER.

Login using your information as selected during registration:

    Login: Your Laurentian ID (ex. mg_thomson or dgiroux)
    Password: Chosen at registration
    Library: Laurentian

Have an Account Already?

Please note, RACER is NOT to be used for a practice exercise.

Login to your RACER account

 
 

Changing Your Password

You can change your password as long as you can access your account. 

  • Login to your own account.
  • Under 'My Account' on the left side click on 'Account Details'
  • Click on 'Edit'
  • Make the changes
  • Tick 'Update Password'
  • Click on 'Save'

If you have forgotten your password, please contact RACER staff to reset the password.

Problems?

Not sure if you're registered? Forgot your login or your password?  Contact racer@laurentian.ca.

Getting Started

Important

Be sure to check the catalogue, and Google Scholar to make sure the desired material is not available in our own collection or online. Books on loan from the J.N. Desmarais Library, the Huntington University Library, the University of Sudbury Library, or at the Northern Ontario Health Information Network (Nohin) - Northern Ontario School of Medicine (NOSM) collections are considered available, and cannot be ordered through RACER. Place a hold to reserve the copy.

Once you have determined the material is not available, login to RACER and submit a request.

Submitting a Request

If you have the complete bibliographic record for a desired item, simply login to your RACER account and fill out a Blank Request Form.

In order to obtain your document, your responsibility is to provide the following *required fields

  • a book has 3 required fields: title, author, publication date
  • an article has 7: journal title, article author, article title, pagination, volume, issue/number, publication date

Interlibrary loan staff will do the rest and will find possible lending locations on your behalf.

While searching certain library databases, requests can be submitted using the database feature "Get It @ Laurentian"  "" to auto-populate a request form. Auto-populated forms often lack information, therefore you must ensure all *required fields are filled out correctly or your request may be cancelled.

Copyright ©

To receive a reproduction of an article or other content, you must agree that it will be used solely in conformity with fair dealing or other applicable copyright exceptions under Canadian copyright law. In general, RACER will not order or provide a reproduction consisting of more than ten (10) percent of a work or one (1) article from a journal issue. General information on copyright, including fair dealing, can be found on the Laurentian University Library and Archives copyright information webpage.

RACER tracks request patterns: if there are more than five requests for the same content within a three-month period, Laurentian University will attempt to purchase a copy of the work in question.

Why Can't I Order

Library materials may not be ordered more than once.

RACER may not be used to order required textbooks for courses. Please visit the University Bookstore.

No more than 15 books may be borrowed at any one time.

Normally excluded from this service: periodical volumes or issues (ie. journals), reference works, rare books, audio-visual materials. For information on how to order films, consult the Getting Films Information tab.

When Can I Expect to Receive My Documents

Articles are typically available within 10 days.

Books and microforms are typically available within 3 weeks. Books borrowed from libraries outside Canada may take in excess of 2 months to become available.

The library will contact you when book or microfilm  is available for pickup. We will also notify you if we are unable to fill your request.

All messaging to users is done via racer@laurentian.ca. Make sure to check your email on a daily basis

Delivery

Articles will normally be delivered to your Laurentian email address only, unless printed copies have been received which will have to be picked up at the Borrower Services Desk.

Books and other documents must be picked up at the Borrower Serivces Desk by the original requester.  No exceptions and no renewals.

Loan Period

Loan Period

Due dates for items (e.g., books) requested from other libraries by RACER are set by the lending libraries. The due date is printed on the book band that is wrapped around the cover of the book. Borrowers are responsible for returning all borrowed items on time; fines for overdues items may apply. 

In general, loan periods (Books / Microforms) are six weeks for books received from other Ontario universities and three weeks for items from all other sources. Loan renewal is not normally possible.

Recall

The lending library may recall books at any time. Upon receipt of a recall notice, you have 24 hours to return the requested material to the J.N. Desmarais Library.

Failure to return the recalled material will result in a fine that will be levied against your J.N. Desmarais Library record at $1 a day with no caps. You will also be temporarily suspended from using RACER.

If you are still in need of the material that has been recalled, the interlibrary loan staff will, upon your request, gladly re-order the same material from another institution providing there is one.

Manging Your Requests

Tracking Your Requests

Login to RACER, and click 'My Requests'. A list of all of your requests will appear. Please note the “Status” of your request.

If you would like to inquire about a specific request, email racer@laurentian.ca and provide the ILL Number.

If an item is no longer listed, check your email for notification about your request.

My Requests

Status Messages

he Status of a request defines its current position in the request lifecycle.

Cancel Pending - We are in the process of canceling your request.

Checked In - The lending library has the item back in their possession.

Conditional - A lending library has indicated they will supply your item as soon as some conditions are met

Idle - We will process your request shortly

New - A recently submitted request.

Not Supplied - Local library staff are searching other libraries for your item and may contact you if needed.

Pending – Your request has been sent to a lending library but have not yet been shipped or rejected.

Recalled – Requests on loan to your library which have been recalled by the lending library - these should be returned as soon as possible.

Received – Your item has arrived at the J.N. Desmarais Library and will be available shortly. Check your email for further details.

Returned – Requests which are being sent back to the lending library.

Shipped – The lending library has sent a notification that the item has been shipped.

Cancelling a Request

To cancel a request, login to RACER and click “My Requests”. Click the button "Cancel"Cancel located next to each request you no longer require. If you prefer, you can email racer@laurentian the ILL numbers you wish to cancel.

Costs

Charges to Order

Generally, there are no charges for books or articles. However, charges apply to the following:

  • Items from Canadian institutions: library will cover $12; patron any extra
  • Items from outside of Canada: library will cover $30 mailing charge; patron any extra

Patrons will be notified before their request is processed if these charges apply, so that they can accept the charges or cancel their request.  Please pay upon receipt of material.

Removal of Bookbands

Removal of bookbands will result in a $5 surcharge. 

 

Items Not Picked Up

Books or articles received but not picked up by the due date will be subject to a $5 charge.

There is a $30 charge for non-pick up of interlibrary loans obtained internationally. 

These charges will apply to each item that has been ordered and will be added to your library account.

Lost or Damaged Material

Borrowers are responsible for library materials which they lose or damage. Lost or damaged materials are subject to any overdue fines accrued when the item is reported lost, and to any replacement fees. 

Damage includes any markings, underlining, highlighting, and sticky notes of all kinds. Replacement fees and other related charges for lost or damaged materials are determined by the lending library. Interlibrary Loan staff will pass these charges on to the borrower’s library account.

The loss or damage of interlibrary loan material must be reported promptly to interlibrary loan staff.

Overdue Material

Borrowers will be charged $1 per day for any material which is overdue and there will be no cap.

Items returned late can negatively affect future borrowing with lending libraries. A pattern of late returns on items may cause a loss of ILL borrowing privileges

Payment

If you have incurred any library fines you will be temporarily suspended from using RACER. 

You may pay any charges at the Borrower Services Desk, but until you do, you will be temporarily suspended from using your RACER account.

After payment of fines, you must also email racer@laurentian to have your borrowing privileges reinstated. You must send this email or the suspension will continue.

Home Delivery

Are you Eligible to Receive This Service?

You must live 50 kilometres or more from  Sudbury AND

You are a student on placement in your program (e.g. midwifery) and your placement is 50 kilometres or more from Sudbury OR

You are currently enrolled in a Laurentian University course offered through Laurentian Online, or

You are registered in an online course given by Huntington University, Thorneloe University or the University of Sudbury.

Note: Home delivery is not available for regularly scheduled on-campus courses, regardless of the distance you live from Sudbury.

Registering for Home Delivery

  Please register for RACER by completing the online registration form. For the "Choose your location" field select "Home Delivery - for Distance Education students only".

What Can I Borrow?

Any library material that is not available to you electronically, can be ordered through RACER, whether the material is located in Laurentian's own collections - or elsewhere.

Note:

  • If the library owns a current or an older edition of a required textbook it is available for borrowing.  If it is not available, the Library will NOT order it from elsewhere.
  • Laurentian is unable to supply any loaned materials from other libraries to students residing outside North America

Important

Check the catalogue to make sure the desired material is not available online as either an e-book or electronic journal article. Read up on how to access our online resources.

In addition to searching our catalogue, WorldCat is an excellent resource for finding books on a topic.

When searching for articles on a specific topic, please consult the Research Guide for your program.

Delivery

Articles in electronic form will be delivered to your  Laurentian gmail email address only.

Othyer library material will be shipped to the address you registered with for a RACER account. If you move, please be sure to update your RACER account details.

A postage paid shipping label will be provided in your package, taped to the front of the book. When finished with your library material, return the books to the J.N. Desmarais Library taping the postage paid shipping label onto the original envelope sent to you.

Loan Periods

From Laurentian

When borrowing books from Laurentian's collections. undergraduates have a 3 week loan which may be renewed 3 times; graduate students  are allowed 120 days with 1 renewal. You are responsible for renewing your own books.

All books are subject to recall after 3 weeks of use.

The original due date is indicated on the bookband wrapped around the cover of the book, and this date allows 1 week travel time each way. If you renew your book, please adjust the due date accordingly, on the book band.  Please ensure that the material is back at Laurentian by the due date which means you must ship the material at least one week before it is due. It is important to make note of the due date as overdue fines are applicable at $0.50 per day. 

From Elsewhere

When borrowing materials outside of Laurentian's collections, the loan period varies from between 3 and 6 weeks. These books are NOT renewable. Borrowers will be charged $1 per day for any material which is overdue.

No more than 30 books may be borrowed at any one time.

Fines

If you have incurred any library fines you will be banned from using RACER.

You may pay by cheque, money order, or credit card. Cheques and money orders can be made out to Laurentian University and sent to:

Attention: Access Services

J.N. Desmarais Library

935 Ramsey Lake Road

Sudbury ON P3E 2C6                                  

Credit card payments can be made by telephone. Please call Access Services  at 1-800-661-1058, extension 4 or 705-675-4800 to pay with VISA or Mastercard.

After payment of fines, you must also email racer@laurentian.ca to have your borrowing privileges reinstated. You must send this email or the ban will continue.

Loans to Other libraries

Your Library Wants to Borrow from Laurentian

 

This information is for libraries or institutions that borrow directly from the Laurentian University J.N. Desmarais Library. Individuals should contact their local library to request materials from other libraries.

For instructions and online Interlibrary Loan request forms for libraries without an ILL management system.

In order to use this form you must have either a Library and Archives Canada symbol or a locally created symbol in our VDX system. 

Symbols and Interlibrary Loan Policies in Canada directory

Laurentian University J.N. Desmarais Library symbol and policies.

If you need further assistance, please contact racer.support@utoronto.ca.

Charges

Lost / Damaged Material

If an item is lost or returned in damaged condition, an invoice for the replacement cost, and processing fee will be issued. Material overdue for twenty-eight (28) days or longer will be declared lost. The minimum replacement cost is $100: 

-$75 minimum replacement cost, up to the actual cost of the material

-$25 processing fee

If an item declared lost is returned, the replacement charge be waived, but NOT the processing fee. 

We do not accept replacement copies for lost material.

Charges for International Requests

Without a reciprocal borrowing agreement, the J.N. Desmarais Library charges for international document delivery are:

  • Articles: $20 or 1.5 IFLA vouchers
  • Books/microfiche: $45 or 3.5 IFLA vouchers

If you wish arrange a reciprocal borrowing agreement, please contact raceradm@laurentian.ca.

 

Getting Films

Films Owned by Laurentian

Films held by Laurentian may be signed out in the library. Titles can be searched through Laurentian’s Library Catalogue.

Interfilm

Laurentian University is a member of the Interfilm Group, an informal association of 20 Ontario universities with film collections.

The Media Catalog lists thousands of film titles that may be borrowed free of charge.

All registered faculty, students and staff of Laurentian University may request films from these collections.

Using Interfilm

To order a film not available at Laurentian, please email LUFilmLibrary@laurentian.ca and specify the title, Media number, and the show date.

  • Requests should be made at least two weeks in advance of the show date.
  • Typical loan periods are for 2-3 days only.
  • Overdue fines accrue at $5/day (no maximum). 
  • There is a $5 charge for any item not picked up.
  • Film band removal will result in a charge of $5. 

You will receive an email when your film is available. Pick up films at the J.N. Desmarais Library’s Borrower Services Desk. Return films to the Borrower Services Desk the day after the show date.

Other Sources of Films

Help

For further information, please contact Ashley Thomson, the Interfilm Coordinator.

Equipment

For equipment booking, please contact IT (705-675-1151 x 2200, IT Service Desk, 2nd floor JN Desmarais Library.

Contact us

General

For general inquiries, please email racer@laurentian.ca.

If you would like to talk to someone personally about RACER, start with a visit to the Library Assistance Desk at the main entrance of the JND Library.

Interlibrary Loan Coordinator

Ashley Thomson

Telephone: 705-675-1151 or 1-800-461-4030, extension 3322

Email: athomson@laurentian.ca

Office: J.N. Desmarais Library, 30-245