You are here

Welcome

Interlibrary Loans and Document Delivery Service

Interlibrary loans supplement the resources available at Laurentian University Library by obtaining materials from other libraries.

Are You Eligible to Receive these Services?

Only current and retired Laurentian University faculty and staff, or registered students may order books, book chapters and articles from other libraries.

Alumni, community borrowers, and other external borrowers should contact their local public library for interlibrary loan services.

Getting Started

What Can't I Order?

ILL may not be used to order required textbooks for courses. Please visit the University Bookstore.

Normally excluded from this service: periodical volumes or issues (ie. journals), reference works, rare books, audio-visual materials. For information on how to order films, consult the Getting Films information tab

When Can I Expect to Receive my Documents?

Articles are typically available within 10 days.

Books and microforms are typically available within 3 weeks. Books borrowed from libraries outside Canada may take in excess of 2 months to become available.

The library will contact you when a book or microfilm is available for pickup. We will also notify you if we are unable to fill your request.

Loan Periods

When Do I Have to Return What I Have Borrowed?

image of date due slip

Due dates for items (e.g., books) requested from other libraries are set by the lending libraries. Borrowers are responsible for returning all borrowed items on time; fines for overdues items may apply. 

In general, loan periods (Books / Microforms) are six weeks for books received from other Ontario universities and three weeks for items from all other sources. Loan renewal is not normally possible.

Recall

The lending library may recall books at any time. Upon receipt of a recall notice, you have 24 hours to return the requested material to the J.N. Desmarais Library.

Failure to return the recalled material will result in a fine that will be levied against your J.N. Desmarais Library record at $1 a day with no caps. 

If you are still in need of the material that has been recalled, the interlibrary loan staff will, upon your request, gladly re-order the same material from another institution providing there is one.

Costs

Charges When You Submit A Request

Generally, there are no charges. However, charges apply to the following:

  • Items from Canadian institutions: library will cover $12; patron any extra
  • Items from outside of Canada: library will cover $30 mailing charge; patron any extra

Patrons will be notified before their request is processed if these charges apply, so that they can accept the charges or cancel their request.  Please pay upon receipt of material.

Bookband Removal

bookband

Removal of bookbands will result in a $5 surcharge.

Item not Picked Up

Books or articles received but not picked up by the due date will be subject to a $5 charge.

There is a $30 charge for non-pick up of interlibrary loans obtained internationally. 

These charges will apply to each item that has been ordered and will be added to your library account.

Lost or Damaged Material

Borrowers are responsible for library materials which they lose or damage. Lost or damaged materials are subject to any overdue fines accrued when the item is reported lost, and to any replacement fees. 

Damage includes any markings, underlining, highlighting, and sticky notes of all kinds. Replacement fees and other related charges for lost or damaged materials are determined by the lending library. Interlibrary Loan staff will pass these charges on to the borrower’s library account.

The loss or damage of interlibrary loan material must be reported promptly to interlibrary loan staff.

Overdue Material

Borrowers will be charged $1 per day for any material which is overdue and there will be no cap.

Items returned late can negatively affect future borrowing with lending libraries. A pattern of late returns on items may cause a loss of ILL borrowing privileges.

Payment

If you have incurred any library fines, you may pay any charges at the Borrower Services Desk.

 

Home Delivery

Are You Eligible to Receive This Service?

You live 50 kilometres or more from  Sudbury AND 

You are currently enrolled in a Laurentian University course offered online

OR

You are a student on placement in your program and your placement is 50 kilometres or more from Sudbury 

Note: Home delivery is not available for regularly scheduled on-campus courses, regardless of the distance you live from Sudbury.

What Can I Borrow?

Any library material that is not available to you electronically can be ordered, whether the material is located in Laurentian's own collections - or elsewhere.

Note:

  • If the library owns a current or an older edition of a required textbook it is available for borrowing.  If it is not available, the Library will NOT order it from elsewhere.
  • Laurentian is unable to supply any loaned materials from other libraries to students residing outside North America.

Delivery of Material to Your Home

Articles will be delivered to your Laurentian email address only. Library materials will be shipped to your current address. 

shipping boxA postage paid shipping label will be provided in your package, taped to the front of the book. When finished with your library material, return the books to the J.N. Desmarais Library taping the postage paid shipping label onto the original envelope sent to you.

Loan Period

All books are subject to recall after 3 weeks of use.

The original due date is indicated on the cover of the book, and this date allows 1 week travel time each way. Please ensure that the material is back at Laurentian by the due date which means you must ship the material at least one week before it is due

When borrowing materials outside of Laurentian's collections, the loan period varies from between 3 and 6 weeks. These books are NOT renewable. Borrowers will be charged $1 per day for any material which is overdue.

Loans to Other Libraries

What Libraries other than Laurentian Need to Know to Borrow from Us

This information is for libraries or institutions that borrow directly from the Laurentian University J.N. Desmarais Library. Individuals should contact their local library to request materials from other libraries.

For instructions and online Interlibrary Loan request forms for libraries without an ILL management system.

In order to use this form you must have either a Library and Archives Canada symbol or a locally created symbol in our VDX system. 

Symbols and Interlibrary Loan Policies in Canada directory

Laurentian University J.N. Desmarais Library symbol and policies.

If you need further assistance, please contact racer.support@utoronto.ca.

Lost / Damaged Material

If an item is lost or returned in damaged condition, an invoice for the replacement cost, and processing fee will be issued. Material overdue for twenty-eight (28) days or longer will be declared lost. The minimum replacement cost is $100: 

  • $75 minimum replacement cost, up to the actual cost of the material
  • $25 processing fee

If an item declared lost is returned, the replacement charge be waived, but NOT the processing fee. 

We do not accept replacement copies for lost material.

ILL Charges for International Requests

Without a reciprocal borrowing agreement, the J.N. Desmarais Library charges for international document delivery are:

  • Articles: $20 or 1.5 IFLA vouchers
  • Books/microfiche: $45 or 3.5 IFLA vouchers

If you wish arrange a reciprocal borrowing agreement, please contact raceradm@laurentian.ca.
 

Getting Films

Films (DVD's) Owned by Laurentian

Films held by Laurentian may be signed out in the library. Titles can be searched through Laurentian’s Library Catalogue.

Interfilm

Laurentian University is a member of the Interfilm Group, an informal association of 20 Ontario universities with film collections.

The Media Catalog lists thousands of film titles that may be borrowed free of charge.

All registered faculty, students and staff of Laurentian University may request films from these collections.

Request Films Held at Other Ontario Universities

To order a film not available at Laurentian, please email bibdesmaraislib@laurentian.ca and specify the title, Media number, and the show date.

  • Requests should be made at least two weeks in advance of the show date.
  • Typical loan periods are for 2-3 days only.
  • Overdue fines accrue at $5/day (no maximum). 
  • There is a $5 charge for any item not picked up.
  • Film band removal will result in a charge of $5. 

You will receive an email when your film is available. Pick up films at the J.N. Desmarais Library’s Borrower Services Desk. Return films to the Borrower Services Desk the day after the show date.

Online Film Collections

Equipment

For equipment booking, please contact IT at 705-675-1151 x 2200

Contact Us

General

Please email illpeb@laurentian.ca or visit the Library Assistance Desk at the main entrance of the JND Library.