You are here
To Newspaper and Magazine Articles
- Canadian Business and Current Affairs
- Canadian Periodicals Index
- Lexis-Nexis Academic (International Coverage)
To Scholarly Articles
- CINAHL (Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature)
- Google Scholar
- Proquest Platform Databases
- Sociological Abstracts
To Research Basics
The purpose of this guide is to recommend print and electronic resources for conducting research in Human Kinetics n the Library. Click on the tabs above for suggestions about starting your research, getting books and articles, and finding other useful tools for research in Human Kinetics.
To learn more about the library and its resources and how you can exploit them to your advantage, register in the Research Skills Tutorial on D2L. There are several sections in the tutorial with a short quiz at the end of each; at the end you will receive a Certificate of Completion. Many professors require you to take this tutorial--and once you finish it, you can save your certificate to reprint as often as necessary.
In the fall, the library hosts live Orientation tours as well as Zotero classes which you can sign up for at the library's entrance, and even after the formal schedule is finished, we are very happy to put on special classes at the request of at least 5 students. If you would like to arrange a special class, or you think your course would benefit from some in-class library instruction, please ask your professor to contact the librarian responsible for your faculty to set up some sessions.
Help With a Paper
I am available to help you throughout the academic year. If you would like to arrange for an individual appointment, please e-mail me (email@example.com) with a requested date and time, and a brief description of your project.
In the library: The Library User Assistance Desk to your immediate left as you enter the library is a good place to start.
By email: Email the librarian responsible for your faculty for a reply during regular working hours.
By telephone: 705-675-4800, or toll free at 1-800-661-1058, ext. 2
For Distance Education students: Telephone: 1-800-661-1058, ext. 2 or email: firstname.lastname@example.org
Searching the Catalogue
The catalogue is your primary tool for finding books in the J.N. Desmarais Library. You can also use the catalogue to find other materials, including government publications and journals (the journals themselves--not individual articles).
You can search the catalogue by:
- Journal Title
When you know the book you are searching for, pick Title or Author; when you are searching for a topic, start with Keyword unless you know the exact Subject heading describing your topic.
More on searching the Catalogue is available in Module 5 of the Research Skills Tutorial in D2L.
Electronic books (ebooks) pertaining to your research interest can be found in two different places:
- Many ebooks, including those published by Human Kinetics, may be located with the library’s catalogue. These records will have [electronic resource] in the title and will offer a link to the e-book on the search results page.
- Ebooks can also be located by searching in e-book collections. Some recommended ebook collections include:
In addition to books, you may wish to search for book-length Master's theses or Ph.D dissertations.
Best bet: Dissertations and Theses (ProQuest).
If you are also looking for recent theses or dissertations produced by Laurentian graduates, check out our Research Repository - LUZONE. Note that since 2013, before graduation all Masters and Doctoral candidates MUST deposit their theses or dissertations in this repository.
Tips on Getting Articles
The databases to the right provide references to many scholarly journal articles and papers.
- Start off with keyword searches expressing your topic. Keyword searching crosses all fields.
- Use Search Operators such as "OR" and "AND" to expand or reduce your results.
- Review those items that look relevant, then, exploit the details within those entries to help lead you to other relevant articles.
- Pay attention to the subject headings (often called "descriptors") to see how the database describes your topic and use them to find related articles.
- Find other papers written by the same author; these will typically be on similar subjects.
- Follow citation trails: other articles that have cited this article will probably be on a related subject and will include citations to other articles of interest.
Getting articles from a citation
Given a citation for an article, you can often find that article by pasting the citation into the search box of Google Scholar. If you find a hit in the results, clicking the title of the article will lead to a copy that Laurentian has licensed - or links will be offered to versions of the article that are openly available on the Web.
In any database, when you see an article that interests you, click on the article title and within the record you will either see a link to full text HTML or PDF, or:
When you click on that icon, you will arrive at a menu which will lead to an electronic copy of the article you want from one of Laurentian's other resources, or, if not available electronically, to Laurentian's catalogue which will allow you to check if the article is available in print, and if not, to a final link which allows you to order the item through a RACER (interlibrary loan) request.
Peer Review is the evaluation of creative work by scholars in the same field in order to maintain or enhance the quality of the work in that field.
In the case of peer reviewed journals, which are usually academic, peer review generally refers to the evaluation of the articles in them prior to publication. For more, check out this definition of peer review.
- To ascertain whether a journal is peer reviewed, consult Ulrichsweb.
Recommended Research Resources
- EBSCOhost Platform Databases
- Evidence Based Medicine Reviews Multifile
- ERIC (EBSCO)
- Medline (Ovid)
- NOSM: Health Information Resource Centre Databases
- NOSM: Health Information Resource Centre E-Books
- NOSM: Health Information Resource Centre E-Journals
- ProQuest Platform Databases
Start with This
In addition, the data librarians at York University (Toronto) have compiled a thorough guide to various Data and Stats Sources, not only for Canada, but for the United States and other International locations.
International, national, and provincial statistical health data are important sources of information for health, allowing for the analysis, evaluation, and development of policies and services.
We cite sources to acknowledge the work of others, as well as to avoid academic dishonesty or plagiarism.
The University of Toronto has made available a comprehensive set of guidelines on How NOT to Plagiarize .which deserves to be read by every student.
Citation Styles in Human Kinetics Programs
At Laurentian, professors will specify the citation style to be used. In HK it is normally APA. To learn more about the APA and other citation styles, consult Laurentian's guide to citation styles.
is a free, web-based citation manager that allows you to:
- Directly import references from article databases, the library catalogue, e-book collections, etc.
- Manage and organize your references.
- Create a bibliography.
- Share your references with others
- Add in-text citation and a bibliography directly into your assignment
Connect to Zotero
Getting started with Zotero:
- Follow this Guide specially prepared for Laurentian Users by Ashley Thomson (Sept. 2020)
- Contact the librarian supporting your faculty.
- Sign up for library workshops when available.
- View Quick Start Guide (video) or Tutorials (videos)
- Consult one of Zotero's own User Guides or McMaster University's Quick Start Guide or the Zotero Guide by Ontario Tech University