You are here

Get started

Computer Science - Core research resources

  • ACM (Association for Computing Machinery) Digital Library ?

    Description: The ACM DL is a vast collection of citations and full text from ACM journal and newsletter articles and conference proceedings.

  • Collection of Computer Science Bibliographies ?

    Description: This is a collection of bibliographies of scientific literature in computer science from various sources, covering most aspects of computer science. The bibliographies are updated weekly from their original locations such that you'll always find the most recent versions here. The collection currently contains more than 3 million references (mostly to journal articles, conference papers and technical reports), clustered in about 1500 bibliographies, and consists of more than 2.3 GBytes (530MB gzipped) of BibTeX entries. More than 600 000 references contain crossreferences to citing or cited publications. More than 1 million references are available in full-text online. Abstracts are available for more than 800 000 entries. There are more than 2000 links to other sites carrying bibliographic information.

  • Computing Reviews ?

    Description: A compilation of reviews of computing literature from http://computingreviews.com and the ACM.

  • Springer LINK ?

    Description: SpringerLink currently offers 2,777 fully peer-reviewed journals and 56,704 books online.

Math - Core research resources

  • Web of Knowledge ?

    Description: A comprehensive research platform that brings together many different types of content including journal articles, patents, websites, conference proceedings, and open access material. Web of Science is located within Web of Knowledge. This resource offers access to journal articles in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities. Web of Science contains over 100 years of research, fully indexed and cross-searchable.

  • American Mathematical Society (Proceedings and Transactions) ?

    Description: A monthly peer-reviewed scientific journal of mathematics published by the American A monthly peer-reviewed scientific journal of mathematics published by the American Mathematical Society. Established in 1900, this journal publishes articles from all areas of pure and applied mathematics, including topology, geometry, analysis, algebra, number theory, combinatorics, logic, probability and statistics.

  • NUMDAN: Archives of French Mathematics Journals ?

    Description: NUMDAM provides free access to bibliographical data and articles of french mathematical journals. For each journal, all the volumes published up to year 2000 have been retro-digitzed.

Math and Computer Science - Related resources

  • Academic OneFile ?

    Description: More than 14,000 titles, including more than 9,000 peer-reviewed journals and more than 6,000 in full text. Extensive coverage of the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects since 1980.

  • Dissertations and Theses (ProQuest) ?

    Description: "The world's most comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses. The official digital dissertations archive for the Library of Congress and the database of record for graduate research. PQDT — Full Text includes 2.7 million searchable citations to dissertation and theses from around the world from 1861 to the present day together with 1.2 million full text dissertations that are available for download in PDF format. Over 2.1 million titles are available for purchase as printed copies. The database offers full text for most of the dissertations added since 1997 and strong retrospective full text coverage for older graduate works." -- publisher's info.

  • Google Scholar ?

    Set your "Library Links" to include "Laurentian University - Get full text" at https://scholar.google.ca/scholar_settings for easy off-campus access

    Description: "Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature... across many disciplines and sources: articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites."

  • JSTOR ?

    Description: JSTOR includes the archives of over one thousand leading academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, as well as select monographs and other materials valuable for academic work. The entire corpus is full-text searchable, offers search term highlighting, includes high-quality images, and is interlinked by millions of citations and references. Note: Normally the journals in JSTOR are five years from current; further, all JSTOR journals are available through the "Get it @ Laurentian" link from other databases. JSTOR should NOT be used as at the first resort.

  • Sage Journals ?

    Description: More than 750 journals spanning the Humanities, Social Sciences, and Science, Technology, and Medicine, and more than 300 are published on behalf of learned societies and institutions.

  • Scholars Portal - Ejournals ?

    Description: Scholars Portal is a digital repository of over 20 million scholarly articles drawn from journals covering every academic discipline.

  • WorldCat ?

    Description: The world's largest database of library collections in North America and abroad, including Laurentian's.

Subject Librarian

Name: Alain Lamothe
Position Title: Head, Technical Services
Email Address: alamothe@laurentian.ca
Extension: 3304
Office Location: 30-234

Get books

Searching the Catalogue

The catalogue is your primary tool for finding books in the J.N. Desmarais Library. You can also use the catalogue to find other materials, including government publications and journals (the journals themselves--not individual articles).

You can search the catalogue by:

  • Keyword
  • Title
  • Author
  • Subject
  • Journal Title

When you know the book you are searching for, pick Title or Author; when you are searching for a topic, start with Keyword unless you know the exact Subject heading describing your topic.

More on searching the Catalogue is available in Module 5 of the Research Skills Tutorial in D2L.

Recently ordered books

A list of the books that have most recently been ordered for the Math and Computer Science collection 

Electronic books

Electronic books (ebooks) pertaining to your research interest can be found in two different places:
  1. Many ebooks, including those published by Human Kinetics, may be located with the library’s catalogue. These records will have [electronic resource] in the title and will offer a link to the e-book on the search results page.
  2. Ebooks can also be located by searching in e-book collections. Some recommended ebook collections include:
    • Scholars Portal Ebooks (over 250,000 ebooks in multiple subject areas. Select Full Text Only to find only those ebooks with full text)
    • Ebrary (close to 40,000 ebooks in multiple subject areas)

WorldCat

With nearly 200 million records representing titles held by nearly 75,000 libraries you will find almost any book ever published in the English language in WorldCat.
Search Tips:  Once you log-in, click on the Help Button: Help button
After your search, when you see a title that interests you, click on it and within the record you will see an image for "Get it @ Laurentian" :
   Get it @ Laurentian
When you click on that, you will be led to a menu which allows you to check for availability in Laurentian’s catalogue or order the item through ILL - Interlibrary Loan.
Note: While a free version of WorldCat is available online, we recommend that you use the university's subscription version of WorldCat because it offers the "Get it @ Laurentian" feature and more powerful search functionality.