You are here

Welcome

Research consultations

I am available to assist with your research throughout the academic year.  If you would like to arrange for an individual research consultation, please e-mail me with a requested date and time, and a brief description of your research interest.

New books

Welcome

The purpose of this guide is to recommend print and electronic resources for conducting research in Modern Languages at the J.N. Desmarais Library. Click on the links on the left for suggestions about starting your research, getting books and articles, and citing your sources for research.

For information about the Modern Languages program, including courses and faculty, please visit the Department's home page.

Modern Languages Librarian

DMaley's picture
Name: Desmond Maley
Position Title: Associate Librarian
Email Address: dmaley@laurentian.ca
Extension: 3323
Office Location: 30-246, J.-N. Desmarais Library

More Help

In the library: The Library User Assistance Desk to your immediate left as you enter the library is a good place to start.

By email: Email the librarian responsible for your faculty for a reply during regular working hours.

By telephone: 705-675-4803, or toll free at 1-800-661-1058, ext. 2

By chat: With our "Ask the Library" service. For more information, see About Ask a Librarian.

For Distance Education students: Telephone: 1-800-661-1058, ext. 2 or email: Distance_l@laurentian.ca

Get started in Italian studies

New books at the library

Please click on this bookbag to see new books that have recently arrived or are on order.

Using reference publications

When you are looking for definitions or if you are not familiar with a subject, reference works such as dictionaries and encyclopedias become invaluable because they contain relatively short, authoritative articles. These articles lay out the parameters of a topic and can assist you in providing a specific focus. Often such articles are accompanied by lists of readings or bibliographies which allow you to explore the topic further. All of the resources listed below link either to the library catalogue record for each book or to an open-access website.

Get started in Spanish/Latin American studies

Using reference publications

When you are looking for definitions, or if you are not familiar with a specific subject, reference works such as dictionaries and encyclopedias become invaluable because they contain relatively short, authoritative articles. These articles often lay out the parameters of a subject and can assist you in trying to narrow your topic. Often such articles are accompanied by lists of readings (bibliographies) which allow you to explore the topic further. All of the resources listed below link either to the library catalogue record for each book or to an open-access website.

Reference resources in Spanish/Latin-American studies

Style manuals

Manual de estilo. 2008. 2. ed. Print.


Dictionaries

Diccionario de americanismos. 2010. Print.

Nueva gramática de la lengua española. 2009. 2 vols. Print.


Encyclopedias: Latin America

Early Spanish American narrative. 2004. Print.

Enciclopedia hispánica. 1992-93. 18 volumes. Print.

Encyclopedia of contemporary Latin American and Caribbean cultures. 2000. Online and print.

Latin American women writers: an encyclopedia. 2008. Print.


Encyclopedias: Spain

Centro virtual Cervantes. Website. Open access.

Enciclopedia hispánica. 1992. Print.

Encyclopedia of contemporary Spanish culture. 2002. Online and print.

The Feminist encyclopedia of Spanish literature. 2002. Print.


Get books

Call numbers for Modern Languages

Italian studies

PC 1001-4071 Italian language
PQ 4001-4886 History and criticism of Italian literature, literary collections, and works of individual authors arranged by era.
DG 417-975 Italian history

Spanish studies

PC 4861-4971 Spanish language
PQ 6001-6293 History and criticism of Spanish literature, literary collections, and works of individual authors arranged by era.
DP 1-638 Spanish history

Spanish American studies

PC 4861-4971 Spanish language (including Spanish America)
PQ 7061-8560 History and criticism of Spanish American literature, arranged by country and era, and works of individual authors by era.
F 1201-3799, Spanish American history, arranged by country and era.

Getting books

The catalogue is the essential tool for finding library materials at the university.

We offer a library research workshop in Desire2Learn to learn how to find what is in our collections.

WorldCat

With nearly 200 million records representing titles held by nearly 75,000 libraries you will find almost any book ever published in the English language in WorldCat.
Search Tips:  Once you log-in, click on the Help Button: Help button
After your search, when you see a title that interests you, click on it and within the record you will see an image for "Get it @ Laurentian" :
   Get it @ Laurentian
When you click on that, you will be led to a menu which allows you to check for availability in Laurentian’s catalogue or order the item through ILL - Interlibrary Loan.
Note: While a free version of WorldCat is available online, we recommend that you use the university's subscription version of WorldCat because it offers the "Get it @ Laurentian" feature and more powerful search functionality.

Racer and WorldCat

Use RACER to see what is in university libraries in Ontario. You can then request the loan of books that we don't have at Laurentian.

Use WorldCat to see what in academic libraries in North America and beyond.

 

E-book collections

We have e-book collections. Check out resources like MyiLibrary.

Get articles

Related resources

We recommend Academic OneFile.

Lexis Nexis has major newspapers worldwide, including North America, Europe, and the U.K., updated daily.

We also get major newspapers like the Globe and Mail and the New York Times, the latter in text, historical newspaper and digital microfilm editions.

Recommended databases for Modern Languages

  • MLA International Bibliography ?

    Description: Covers literature from all over the world--Africa, Asia, Australia, Europe, and North and South America. Folklore is represented by folk literature, music, art, rituals, and belief systems. Linguistics and language materials range from history and theory of linguistics, comparative linguistics, semantics, stylistics, and syntax to translation. Other topics include literary theory and criticism, dramatic arts (film, radio, television, theater), and history of printing and publishing. Since 1926.

  • JSTOR ?

    Description: JSTOR includes the archives of over one thousand leading academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, as well as select monographs and other materials valuable for academic work. The entire corpus is full-text searchable, offers search term highlighting, includes high-quality images, and is interlinked by millions of citations and references. Note: Normally the journals in JSTOR are five years from current; further, all JSTOR journals are available through the "Get it @ Laurentian" link from other databases. JSTOR should NOT be used as at the first resort.

  • Literature Online (LION) ?

    Description: "With over a third of a million full-text works of poetry, prose and drama in English, together with the definitive online criticism and reference library, Literature Online is the world's largest cross-searchable database of literature and criticism." -- publisher's description.

  • Literature Resource Center ?

    Description: Find up-to-date biographical information, overviews, full-text literary criticism and reviews on more than 130,000 writers in all disciplines, from all time periods and from around the world.

  • Arts & Humanities Citation Index ?

    Description: Fully indexes over 1,700 arts and humanities journals, as well as selected items over 250 scientific and social sciences journals — from 1975 to present. Covering subjects that include archaeology, art, architecture, asian studies, classics, dance, folklore, history, language, linguistics, literary reviews, literature, music, philosophy, poetry, radio, television, & film, religion and theatre.

  • Humanities & Social Sciences Index Retrospective: 1907-1984 ?

    Description: Humanities & Social Sciences Index Retrospective™: 1907-1984 offers a broad range of subject coverage in the humanities and social sciences with high-quality indexing of more than 1,300,000 articles in nearly 1,100 periodicals, dating as far back as 1907, as well as citations of over 240,000 book reviews.

  • Iter: Gateway to the Middle Ages and Renaissance ?

    Description: Covers secondary sources pertaining to the Middle Ages and Renaissance (400-1700). Citations for books and journal material (articles, reviews, review articles, bibliographies, catalogues, abstracts and discographies) are included, as are citations for dissertation abstracts and essays in books (including entries in conference proceedings, festschriften, encyclopedias and exhibition catalogues).

  • Historical Abstracts ?

    Description: Historical Abstracts covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present, including world history, military history, women's history, history of education, and more. This authoritative database provides indexing of more than 2,300 academic historical journals in over 40 languages back to 1955. Access is limited to 6 concurrent users.

  • FRANCIS ?

    Description: Multilingual social sciences and humanities database. English and French searching options available.

Modern Languages Librarian

DMaley's picture
Name: Desmond Maley
Position Title: Associate Librarian
Email Address: dmaley@laurentian.ca
Extension: 3323
Office Location: 30-246, J.-N. Desmarais Library

Get style manuals

The process of citation

The intent of the citation process is to list a resource that you utilized, such as a book, article or website, in an open and transparent way that makes it easy to locate. Thus the citation for a book normally gives such key attributes as:

  • title,  author, place of publication, publisher, date, and page number.

For journals, you would give:

  • journal title, article title, author, volume number, issue number, date, and page numbers. Note that you do not have to list the place of publication.

For government publications, you would list the document in terms of the agency that created it, e.g.:

  • the country, state or province, the ministry, department and/or committee, and so on.

In general, with these kinds of publications, the more bibliographic detail you can provide, the better. The same is true of local or "alternative" publications as well as archival materials, all of which are frequently hard to locate in library collections.

Style manuals

Style manuals help you to set out your sources and presentation in an organized, logical and consistent way. Below is a sampling of the most important ones:

APA Style Manual. The sixth edition (2010) of this standard publication, used especially in the social sciences, includes recommendations for citing online materials.

Chicago Manual of Style. Now in its 16th edition (2010), this book is the bible for writers, editors and publishers. It is replete with examples and advice on all aspects of form and style.

A Manual for Writers of Term Papers, Theses, and Dissertations. Kate L. Turabian. This is the classic short form of Chicago style, used in the humanities and social sciences.

MLA Style Manual. Published by the Modern Language Association, this 3rd edition (2008) is the standard resource for scholarly work in the humanities.

The Purdue Online Writing Lab is a terrific website for learning how to cite using the APA and MLA manuals.

 

The value of ethical research

The purpose of research is to develop an informed opinion and perspective on your topic that, in turn, can lead to meaningful conversation and insights, whether in written, oral or visual form. it is essential to the critical method that the sources you consulted are acknowledged and documented. This makes clear the literature you reviewed in developing your perspective. In the process you may also discover analysis and facts that you were not aware of, and this helps you to avoid the pitfall of simplistic thinking. Last but not least, you also improve your own research and writing skills, which results in a stronger presentation.  These are skills that will last you a lifetime.

Plagiarism, on the other hand, is the failure to acknowledge sources. Worst of all is handing in work that is not your own, but copying or paraphrasing the work of others without acknowledgement is also plagiarism. This shows disrespect for a major standard of academic conduct that can result in disciplinary action. Please see Laurentian's policy on Academic Integrity.