You are here

Get Started

Welcome


Welcome to the Religious Studies Research Guide!

Here you will find a variety of resources related to Religious Studies.

"The essence of all religions is one. Only their approaches are different."

  Mahatma Gandhi

Cite Your Sources!

Find information on popular reference styles through our "Quick Reference Guide." Remember to use the style asked for by your professor, and to check your work.

Religious Studies - Core Research Database

  • ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials ?

    Description: Database containing journal articles, book reviews, and collections of essays in religion and theology. Full text is provided for more than 380,000 electronic articles and book reviews from more than 220 journals.

Jump Start


Dictionaries

Continuum Dictionary of Religion (In Print: HUNT. BL31 M2355 1994)

HarperCollins Dictionary of Religion (In Print: HUNT. BL31 H37 1995 )

An Introductory Dictionary of Theology and Religious Studies. (In Print. HUNT BL31 I68 2007)

Key Words in Religious Studies (In Print: HUNT. BL82 G43 2006)


Handbooks

Celtic Culture: a Historical Encyclopedia (In Print. HUNT. CB206 C45 2006)

The Oxford Handbook of Religion and the Arts

The Oxford Handook of Religion and American News Media

The Oxford Handbook of Theology, Sexuality, and Gender (In Print: HUNT. BT708.094 2015)

The Oxford Handbook of Religious Diversity

International Handbook for Education, Spirituality, Care and Well-Being (In Print: HUNT. LB1092 I58 2009)

Handbook of Bioethics and Religion (In Print: HUNT. R725.55 H36 2006)

Handbook of Religion and Social Institutions (In Print. HUNT: BL60 H266 2005)

Cults: A Reference Handbook (In Print. HUNT: BL2525 L486 2005)

The Oxford Handbook of New Religious Movements

Handbook of Religion and Health (In Print: HUNT. BL65 M4 K646 2001)

The Oxford Handbook of the Sociology of Religion


Encyclopedias

Encyclopædia Universalis

Encyclopedia of Religion (In Print: Hunt Ref. BL31 E46 1986)

Encyclopedic Dictionary of Religion (In Print: U. of S. Ref. BL31 E53)

Oxford Encyclopedia of the Reformation

Encyclopedia of Religion in America

Encyclopedia of Global Religion

The Popular Encyclopedia of World Religion (In Print: HUNT. BL31 W65 2007)

Encyclopedia of Religion, Communication and Media (In Print: HUNT. P 94 E48 2006)

Encyclopedia of Religion and Film (in Print: HUNT. PN1995.9 R4E53 2011)

 

 

 

 

Subject Librarian

Dr. Paul Laverdure

Director of Library and Archive Services

Univeristy of Sudbury

(705) 673-5661 ext. 216

plaverdure@usudbury.ca

Subject Librarian

NGerolami's picture
Name: Natasha Gerolami
Position Title: Head Librarian - Huntington University
Email Address: ngerolami@huntingtonu.ca
Extension: (705) 673-4126 ext. 248
Office Location: Cochrane Rm, Huntington University

Get Books

Searching the Catalogue

The catalogue is your primary tool for finding books in the J.N. Desmarais Library and other campus libraries.           

 

You can also use the catalogue to find other materials, including government publications and journals (the journals themselves--not individual articles).

You can search the catalogue by:

  • Keyword                                                                       
  • Title
  • Author
  • Subject
  • Journal Title

When you know the book you are searching for, pick Title or Author; when you are searching for a topic, start with Keyword unless you know the exact Subject heading describing your topic.

More on searching the Catalogue is available in Module 5 of the Research Skills Tutorial in D2L.

 

Interlibrary Loan

 

Need a book or an article that we don't have? Interlibrary is here to help! 

Materials that are not available at our University are obtained from other libraries and shipped to Laurentian.

 

Already have a RACER account?  Log in to your account                                                                                         

 
Not registered for a RACER account? Register Now!
 
 
For more information check out the Interlibrary Loans Information Page
 

 

 

Get Articles

Religious Studies - Core Research Database

  • ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials ?

    Description: Database containing journal articles, book reviews, and collections of essays in religion and theology. Full text is provided for more than 380,000 electronic articles and book reviews from more than 220 journals.

Religious Studies - Subject Databases

  • ATLA Catholic Periodical and Literature Index ?

    Description: This database provides indexing of periodicals, essay collections, church documents, papal documents and electronic resources expressly addressing the practice and intellectual tradition of Roman Catholicism.

  • Arts & Humanities Citation Index ?

    Description: Fully indexes over 1,700 arts and humanities journals, as well as selected items over 250 scientific and social sciences journals — from 1975 to present. Covering subjects that include archaeology, art, architecture, asian studies, classics, dance, folklore, history, language, linguistics, literary reviews, literature, music, philosophy, poetry, radio, television, & film, religion and theatre.

  • Humanities & Social Sciences Index Retrospective: 1907-1984 ?

    Description: Humanities & Social Sciences Index Retrospective™: 1907-1984 offers a broad range of subject coverage in the humanities and social sciences with high-quality indexing of more than 1,300,000 articles in nearly 1,100 periodicals, dating as far back as 1907, as well as citations of over 240,000 book reviews.

  • Philosopher's Index ?

    Description: The Philosopher's Index is a comprehensive, bibliographic database covering worldwide research in all areas of philosophy. It features: the inclusion of documents from philosophy and interdisciplinary publications, extensive indexing, and author-written abstracts. Philosophers prescreen potential source documents for relevance to the field of philosophy; this enables the inclusion of articles from interdisciplinary journals and contributions from interdisciplinary anthologies that pertain to philosophy. The database provides global coverage, with source publications from more than 135 countries, and has records from 1940 to present, with additional records dating back to 1902. It includes more than 530,000 records in 37 languages. Sources includes: journals (print and e-journal articles from more than 1600 philosophy and interdisciplinary journals); books/monographs, including encyclopedias, dictionaries and book series; anthologies; contributions to anthologies from philosophy and interdisciplinary anthologies; and book reviews.