Bibliothèque et archives

Description : The Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals is published by the Avery Architectural and Fine Arts Library at Columbia University. It offers a comprehensive listing of journal articles on architecture and design, including bibliographic descriptions on subjects such as the history and practice of architecture, landscape architecture, city planning, historic preservation, and interior design and decoration. It contains over seven hundred American and international journals including not only scholarly and popular periodical literature, but also publications of professional associations, American state and regional periodicals, and the major serials on architecture and design of Europe, Asia, Latin America, and Australia. Articles are included from key publications such as American Architect, Domus, Dwell, and El Croquis, as well as architectural articles from art and planning journals such as Burlington Magazine, Journal of Green Building, Metropolitan Museum Journal, and Urban Land. Avery Index also contains references to more than thirteen thousand obituary citations thereby providing architects, architectural historians, and researchers with an excellent source of biographical and professional information about architects. Among the obituaries indexed are those from four crucial American periodicals since their inception: American Architect (1876), Architectural Forum (1892), Architectural Record (1891), and Progressive Architecture (1920). The Journal of the Royal Institute of British Architects is indexed as far back as 1865, providing an extensive record of English architects.

Description : This database covers a broad range of related subjects from fine, decorative and commercial art, to various areas of architecture and architectural design. This database features full-text articles—as well as detailed indexing and abstracts—for an array of journals, books and more. International in scope, Art & Architecture Source includes periodicals published in French, Italian, German, Spanish and Dutch and is designed for use by a diverse audience, including art scholars, artists, designers, students and general researchers.

Description : The Artstor Digital Library is a nonprofit resource that provides over 1.8 million digital images in the arts, architecture, humanities, and sciences with an accessible suite of software tools for teaching and research. Our community-built collections comprise contributions from outstanding international museums, photographers, libraries, scholars, photo archives, and artists and artists' estates.

Description : JSTOR includes the archives of over one thousand leading academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, as well as select monographs and other materials valuable for academic work. The entire corpus is full-text searchable, offers search term highlighting, includes high-quality images, and is interlinked by millions of citations and references. Note: Normally the journals in JSTOR are five years from current; further, all JSTOR journals are available through the "Get it @ Laurentian" link from other databases. JSTOR should NOT be used as at the first resort.

Description : The ASTM (American Society for Testing and Materials) Digital Library provides you instant access to the digital edition of nearly every ASTM International book and paper spanning 140+ industries and 100+ years.

Description : "Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature... across many disciplines and sources: articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites."

Description : Historical Abstracts covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present, including world history, military history, women's history, history of education, and more. This authoritative database provides indexing of more than 2,300 academic historical journals in over 40 languages back to 1955. Access is limited to 6 concurrent users.

Description : GreenFILE is a multidisciplinary database which relates the environment to a variety of disciplines such as agriculture, education, law, health and technology. Topics covered include global climate change, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more. Includes more than 538,000 records, as well as Open Access full text for more than 5,800 records. Years covered: 1969 - present.

Description : The world's largest database of library collections in North America and abroad, including Laurentian's.

Description : The Artstor Digital Library is a nonprofit resource that provides over 1.8 million digital images in the arts, architecture, humanities, and sciences with an accessible suite of software tools for teaching and research. Our community-built collections comprise contributions from outstanding international museums, photographers, libraries, scholars, photo archives, and artists and artists' estates.

Description : More than 600 million images and audio clips available for reuse under a Creative Common license