You are here

Anglican Diocese of Moosonee

Anglican Diocese of Moosonee

Search Request Forms

Please refer to the  Anglican Church Diocese of Moosonee Search Request form in pdf format to make a request for parochial records. Please be advised that this form isobligatory in order to submit your search request.

These are the only records located in the archives with information that could be relevant to genealogical research. If you are enquiring about any other records or publications (census, microfilms of newspapers, or books) pertaining to genealogical research, please refer to the online catalogue, Borrower Services desk, or reference email.

If you would like information on how to access the parochial or other records from the Anglican Church Dioceses of Moosonee, you can send a detailed email to:archives@laurentian.ca or you can call the Archives at (705) 675-1151 ext. 3306.

Ensure that you have read the rules and conditions of access as well as the list of locations in which we have some parochial records

Anglican Diocese of Moosonee

In an effort to ensure the preservation of their records and to facilitate access, the Anglican Diocese has deposited their records at the Laurentian University Archives.  We provide access under the policies and conditions stipulated by the Diocese of Moosonee.

The records deposited in the archives were generated by the Synod Office and by parishes of the Diocese.

Synod Office Records:

The Synod Office records consist of administrative and historical diocesan records documenting the history of the diocese.

Information concerning parish registers can be found under the following Parochial Records section. 

Parochial Records

Please refer to the following information which applies to the parochial records:

There are 69 parishes in the Diocese of Moosonee for which we have records. They mainly consist of documents that were produced, received, and accumulated by the parishes. Due to the fragile state of preservation of the parish registers and the nature of the information, these are not accessible to researchers. The archives' employees will do the search for any request of baptism, marriage and burial records. (See access conditions) 

Record Requests

Archives staff will provide assistance with research services; however, we are unable to commit to more than two hours of our time for such research. As an alternative, we can provide you with names of freelance researchers who, for an hourly fee, can do the research for you. Although we can provide you with names of researchers, it is your responsibility to negotiate the agreement with him or her. The LU archives is not responsible for the research done by these researchers.

Policies and conditions of access:

The following PDF document outlines the policies and conditions for accessing the parochial records. It will allow you to determine your eligibility for access, and it will identify the information that you will need prior to making a request.

Parochial record locations

Locations for which we have Anglican Church Parochial Records

For each of these locations the Archives may have all or some of the following parochial records: Parish Registers including baptism, confirmation, marriage, and burial records; service books; minutes; vestry books; account books.

A

Abitibi

Abitibi Group

Agumiska Island

Albany

Allanwater Bridge

Ameson

Amos

Angus

Ansoville

Anthony

Armstrong

Arntfield

Attawapiskat

Auden

 

B

Baie du Poste

Beardmore

Belcher Islands

Berylvale

Birch Lake

Biscotasing

Boston Creek

Bourlamaque

Brower

Brunswick House

Brunswick Post

Burleyville
 

C

Cadillac

Calstock

Cape Hope Island

Caramat

Central Patricia

Champion Lake

Chapais

Chapleau

Cheminis

Chibougamau

Chisasibi

Clute

Cobourg

Cochrane

Collins

Constance Lake

Cooper’s Camp

Coral Rapids

Currie
 

D

Driftwood

Dunns Lake

Dunning

Duparquet

 

E

Eastern Moosonee Mission

Eastford

Eastmain

Englehart

English River

 

F

Factory River

Farmborough

Fee Spur

Ferland

Flying Post

Foleyet

Fort Albany

Fort George

Fort Hope

Fort Rupert

Fort William

Fournier

Franz

Fraserdale

Frederick House

 

G

Gagnon Siding

Geraldton

Gogama

Grand Cascapedia

Grassett

Great Whale River

Ground Hog

H

Haileybury

Halet

Hanna

Hazel

Hearst

Henley

Hornepayne

Hunta
 

I

Iroquois Falls

Island Falls
 

J

Jacobs

 Joutel

 

K

Kanaapiskat

Kannapiskaw Post

Kapiskow

Kapuskasing

Kashechewan

Kearns

Kewagama

Keyano

Kirkland Lake

Kitigan
 

L

Lake Doré

Lake Nemisca

Landsdowne

Larder Lake

LaSarre

La Tuque

Lawashe

Little Long Rapids

Little Whale River

Longlac

LowBush River

Loweville

Lowther
 

M

Macamic Sanatorium

MacDougal Chutes

Malartic

Marathon

Marten’s Fall

Matagami (QC)

Matawakumma

Matheson

Matooskow River

Mattagami

Mattice

McInnis Siding

McPherson

Mic Mac, mine

Mile 113

Mine: see: under name of the mine

Miquelon

Missanibi

Mistassini

Monjambert

Monteith

Morrison River

Moose Factory

Moose Fort

Moose River

Moose River Crossing

Moosonee

 

N

Nahma

Nakina

Nemegos

Nemiscau (Camp)

Nemiska

Neokaskow

New Post

Nicholson (Siding)

Nitchequon

Noranda

Normétal

Norrie

North Bay

Nottawa

O

Oba

Ogoki

Old Factory River

Ombabika

Onakawana River Sawmill

Opasatika

Opemisca

Osnaburgh

Otter Rapids
 

P

Paguachequn

Pagwa River

Paint Hills

Parent

Parkham

Penny Lake

Perron

Peterbell

Pickle Crow

Pickle Lake

Pineal Lake

Pointe Bleue

Porquis Junction

Port Arthur

Pustikamiska
 

Q

Quevillon, Mission
 

R

Richmond Gulf

Roberval

Roggan River

Rouyn

Rupert’s House
 

S

St. Matthew’s Mission

Sault Ste. Marie

Schumacher 

Seal River

Senneterre 

Shamokan

Shawkey Mine

Shekak

Shillington

Siscoe

Smooth Rock Falls

South Porcupine

Spirit Lake 

Stackpool

Sudbury

Sullivan

Sultan

Swastika
 

T

Thornhill

Timmins

Tophet

Toronto
 

V

Val D’or

Vassan

Virginiatown
 

W

Waconici

Waskaganish

Waswanipi 

Watabeag

Webequa

Wemindji

Wenisk

Western Moosonee Mission

Weykache

Whapmagoostui

White River