You are here

Archives

Visiting the Archives

The Archives reading room is open to all, Tuesday through Friday, from 10:00 am to 12:00 pm and 1:00 pm to 4:00 pm. We are closed daily from noon to 1:00 pm. An appointment is required to consult archival records.

We can be reached by email at archives@laurentian.ca or by phone at 705-675-1151 ext. 3306. We are available to assist you, to respond to your questions and provide reference.

We would like to acknowledge that the J.N. Desmarais Library & Archives are located on the traditional territory of the Atikameksheng Anishnaabek, and Wahnapitae First Nations which are within the Robinson-Huron Treaty territory.

Located on the first floor of the J.N. Desmarais Library, the Archive Repository houses the holdings of archival fonds of organizations and individuals from the Northern Ontario community as well as seven different special collections: the Faculty Collection, Fourth Year Honour’s Essay, Graduate Theses, the Rare Books Collection, the Regional collection, Reference sources, and Vertical files (from Mining & Environment database). 

All collections are accessible to everybody but all have to be consulted in the Angus Gilbert Reading Room, in the Archives. The Angus Gilbert Reading Room is a quiet space that can accommodate up to forty (40) researchers. No food or drink is permitted in the Reading Room.

Archives Reading Room

 

Hours of operation*  (May 2, 2022 – September 2, 2022)

Monday CLOSED
Tuesday 10:00am - 12pm; 1pm - 4:00pm
Wednesday 10:00am - 12pm; 1pm - 4:00pm
Thursday 10:00am - 12pm; 1pm - 4:00pm
Friday 10:00am - 12pm; 1pm - 4:00pm
Saturday CLOSED
Sunday CLOSED

 

* Archives hours are subject to change

 

 

Archival Fonds

Introduction

Presented in the Fonds Descriptions section are some of the private archival collections and fonds of the holdings of Laurentian University Archives. These fonds and archival collections are arranged by broad subjects or major themes. Furthermore, the subject or theme does not represent an exhaustive analysis of what topic areas are in each fonds and the list does not include all fonds or archival collection of the holdings.

The groupings are in alphabetical order.

In accordance to our policy on processing of archival materials, and in compliance to the Rules for Archival Description (RAD) the archival fonds are described in the language of the producer. Occasionally the description can be in the language of the documents instead of the producer.

Marthe Brown, Archivist

What is an Archive?

Recorded information, regardless of date, form or medium, that is of continuing value.

 

What is a fonds?

The whole of the records, regardless of date, form or medium, that are created, received, used, and automatically accumulated by an individual or corporate body in the performance of their activities or functions.

 

What is a collection?

An artificial accumulation of documents of any provenance brought together on the basis of some common characteristic (e.g., way of acquisition, subject, language, medium, type of document, name of collector) and treated as a descriptive unit under a common title. Collectors may be those outside the archives who assembled the material or in some cases may be an archival repository itself.

How to read the fonds-level description

Accession number P090-
Title of fonds 
(Name of producer of the records)
District Court of Manitoulin Records fonds
 
Dates of creation of the material 1888-1915
 
Length & nature of materials 1m 20cm of textual records
 
Presentation of the producer Administrative history: The District Court of Manitoulin located in Gore Bay, Ontario was the public administrative office where chattel mortgages and chattel mortgage renewals were filed between 1888 and 1915
Description of the material Scope and content: This fonds consists of chattel mortgages and chattel mortgage renewals filed at Manitoulin District Court from 1888 to 1915. The records provide information on what moveable property was held as collateral security.
 
History of the material Custodial history: The fonds was donated by Dr. W.R. Wightman from the University of Western Ontario, Department of Geography. It was received in one accrual on October 26, 1992. Dr. Wightman obtained these documents as part of a research project that is now completed.

Fonds Descriptions

International

P137 Fonds Tiphaine Dickson
P146 Joseph Herman Molohon fonds

National

P229 Canadian Association in Support to Native Peoples (CASNP) Collection

Northern Ontario

1. Arts, culture and communications media

1.1 Arts & culture

P023 Fonds Théâtre du Nouvel Ontario
P033 Fonds Galerie du Nouvel Ontario
P036 Fonds Jocelyne Villeneuve
P084 Sudbury Operatic Society fonds/ Société d'opérette de Sudbury
P114 Margaret (Peg) and Dennis Roberts fonds
P124 Fonds André Paiement
P126 Fonds Lucien Pelletier
P127 Fonds Robert Dickson
P133 Fonds Fondation André Paiement
P138 Fonds La Ruche des Artistes Inc.
P149 Florence Isabella Craig-Yeigh Fonds
P183 Fonds Albert Régimbal
P186 Highway Bookshop Fonds
P221 John Doerr Fonds
P222 Fonds Michael Gallagher
P226 Albert George (Bert) Weir Fonds

 

1.2 Newspapers & publications

P010 Fonds Revue Réaction
P034 Canadian Mining Journal fonds
P050 Arachnee fonds
P100 Fonds Le Communicautaire (Nouvel Ontarien)
P110 Fonds La coopérative du livre de Sudbury

 

1.3 Radio stations

P082 CBCS fonds

 

2. Clubs & social organizations

2.1 General

P049 Sudbury and District Historical Society fonds
P085 Canadian Federation of University Women, Sudbury Branch fonds
P089 YMCA John Island Camp fonds
P139 Fonds Société Historique du Nipissing
P147 Fonds Carrefour francophone de Sudbury
P198 Fonds Georgette Simard-Paquette

 

2.2 Health Services

P093 Fonds Auxiliaires bénévoles HRSRH Auxiliaries
P148 Sudbury History of Nursing Group fonds

 

2.3 Social assistance

P018 Soroptimist Club fonds
P031 IODE, Elisabeth Frye Chapter fonds
P055 Housing Resource Centre fonds
P066 Sudbury and District Ministerial Association fonds
P118 LEAF Sudbury Branch, fonds
P128 Fonds Handicap-4 de Vallée-Est.

 

3. Economy

P013 Canadian Association of Single Industry Town (CASIT) fonds
P090 District Court of Manitoulin Records fonds
P094 David Leadbeater fonds
P097 Monica Neitzert fonds
P107 Lloyd Wagner fonds

 

4. Education

P041 Fonds Roger St. Louis
P083 Fonds Liliane (Gauthier) Beauchamp
P092 Fonds Jean-Louis Bourdeau
P101 Fonds Association franco-ontarienne des conseils d'écoles catholiques
P111 Ernie Checkeris fonds
P112 Roman Catholic School Board fonds [Sudbury Region]
P115 Fonds Conseil des écoles séparées catholiques romaines du District de Sudbury
P117 Fonds Conseil scolaire de district catholique du Nouvel Ontario
P214 Jackson Pind fonds
P235 Shirley K. Wigmore fonds

 

4.1 Laurentian University

P008 Fonds Association des étudiantes et étudiants francophones (AEF)
P077 Harold Benett fonds
P109 Huntington University fonds
P134 Fonds Association francophone pour le savoir-Sudbury (ACFAS)
P143 Fonds Guy Gaudreau
P210 Joan Mount Fonds
P213 INORD fonds
P223 Norval Wynnfield Young Watson fonds

 

5. Forestry and related activities

P219 James McNiece Austin fonds
P220 Benjamin f. and Mary Adelaide (née Stone) Avery fonds
P225 George Hill fonds

 

6. Labour

P002 Cleve Kidd fonds
P003 Brian Hogan fonds
P009 N.O.L.I.A. fonds
P015 Brotherhood of Railway Carmen fonds
P019
(previously RG 11)
Mike Solski fonds
P020 IUSWA /District 6 (Timmins) fonds
P021
(previously RG 33)
Ontario Secondary School Teachers Federation fonds
P024 USWA. Local 5417, Elliot Lake fonds
P026 International Union of Mine, Mill and Smelter workers (IUMMSW) fonds
P030 Victims of Mining Environment (VOME) fonds
P035 Nelson Thibault fonds
P037 Roger Leblanc fonds
P038 International USWA/District 6(Sudbury) fonds
P040 Homer Seguin (USWA) fonds
P046 Elmer McVey Fonds
P047 Barbara Dunphy fonds
P048 Gilbert H. (Gib) Gilchrist fonds
P051
(previously RG 001)
James L. Kidd fonds
P052
(previously RG 002)
Gordon Hurley fonds
P053
(previously RG 003)
Alfred Fraser fonds
P054
(previously RG 004)
Norman Stephen fonds
P056
(previously RG 006)
Jack. L. Giroux fonds
P057
(previously RG 007)
Robert H. Carlin fonds
P058
(previously RG 008)
Frank Southern fonds
P059
(previously RG 009)
Jim Tester fonds
P060 Dorothy Wigmore fonds
P062
previously RG 012)
Tom Hannaway fonds
P064 Mike Farrell fonds
P065
(previously RG 015)
Roy Scranton fonds
P068
(previously RG 018)
Anne Morrison Collection
P069
(previously RG 19)
Dan Sweezy fonds
P070
(previously RG 20)
George Prusila fonds
P071
(previously RG 21)
Victor Baumruck fonds
P074
(previously RG 24)
IBEW fonds
P075
(previously RG 25)
Alan Senter fonds
P076
(previously RG 26)
Louis Brema fonds
P080
(previously RG 30)
Bricklayers and Allied Craftmen fonds
P081
(previously RG 31)
Paul Hatala fonds
P095 Laurentian University Staff Union fonds
P099 Canadian Union of Professional Employees, Local 1555 (CUPE) fonds
P102 David Letho and George Prusila collection
P105 Gowganda Miners Union fonds
P120 United Copper Nickel Workers fonds
P130 USWA Local 4440 fonds
P140 Robin and Archibald McArthur fonds
P150 Kerr Addison Mine Employees' Association
P151 USWA Local 4458- Timmins fonds
P152 USWA Local 4461- Timmins fonds
P153 USWA Local 4462- Timmins fonds
P154 USWA Local 4857- Timmins fonds
P155 USWA Local 6779- Timmins fonds
P156 USWA Local 7056- Timmins fonds
P157 USWA Local 7243- Timmins fonds
P158 USWA Local 7267- Timmins fonds
P159 USWA Local 8091- Timmins fonds
P160 USWA Local 9171- Timmins fonds
P161 USWA Local 13911- Timmins fonds
P162 USWA Local 4305- Timmins fonds
P163 USWA Local 7580- South Porcupine fonds
P164 USWA Local 4438- South Porcupine fonds
P165 USWA Local 9283- Kirkland Lake fonds
P166 USWA Local 4639- Kirkland Lake fonds
P167 USWA Local 7308- Kirkland Lake fonds
P168 USWA Local 7964- Kirkland Lake fonds
P169 USWA Local 6409 - Kirkland Lakefonds
P170 USWA Local 4354- Kirkland Lake fonds
P171 USWA Local 4584- Kirkland Lake fonds
P172 USWA Local 951- Cobalt fonds
P173 USWA Local 4374- Cobalt fonds
P174 USWA Local 4423- Cobalt fonds
P175 USWA Local 5138- Cobalt fonds
P176 USWA Local 6217- Cobalt fonds
P177 USWA Local 6270- Cobalt fonds
P178 USWa Local 4501- Cobalt fonds
P179 USWA Local 6896- Kirkland Lake fonds
P180 USWA Local 5506- Cobalt fonds
P181 USWA Local 4866- Cobalt fonds
P182 USWA Local 6258- Cobalt fonds 
P191 Provincial Mine Workers of Ontario fonds
P192 Fonds Jean Gagnon

 

7. Mining industries and related activities (see also Labour Relations)

P007 Denison Mines fonds
P078 Falconbridge fonds
P079 McIntyre Mines fonds
P096 Zepha Trevorrow fonds
P121 Charles Kenneth Leith fonds
P141 William Ernest Hale fonds
P208 Leslie M. Sheridan fonds
P218 John Dunlop Evans fonds

 

8. Politics & Politicians

P005 Elmer Sopha fonds
P006 Floyd Laughren fonds
P011 Graeme Mount fonds
P017 Grace Hartman Mead fonds
P028 Walford-Nepawhin Ratepayers Association fonds
P029 Barbara Hanley fonds
P043 William S. (Bill) Beaton fonds
P061 Fonds Jean Étienne (Stephen) Fournier
P108 Socialist Party of Canada, Local 33 fonds
P142 Angus Gilbert Collection
P190 Adrienne and Ricardo de la Riva fonds

 

8.1 Militancy

P001 Dorothy Zaborszki fonds
P027 Joan Kuyeck fonds
P073(previously RG 23) Mick Lowe fonds
P113 Jennifer Keck fonds
P144 Fonds Mercedes Steedman

 

9. Population & socio-ethnic groups

9.1 Socio-ethnic groups/ groupes socio-ethniques

P004 Finnish National Society of Sudbury fonds
P022 Gertrud Jaron Lewis collection
P039 Fonds Association canadienne-française d'Ontario du grand Sudbury (ACFO)
P104 Federation of the ethnic groups of Sudbury fonds
P119 Abdul Zia fonds
P123 Oiva W. Saarinen fonds

 

9.2 Early settlements (population)

P012 Sandra Slater collection
P014 Underwriter's Survey Bureau fonds
P042 Robert Boudignon fonds
P045 Charles Ferguson fonds
P088 Buchanan Family fonds
P090 District Court of Manitoulin Records fonds
P091 Rose and Nick Perkovich fonds
P103 Catharine Dixon fonds
P106 Marguerite (Buell) Blakely fonds
P116 Town of Copper Cliff, collection
P145 Fonds Joseph Alphonse Lévesque
P188 Gerald Goltz Collection
P189 Kunkel Family Collection
P195 William Meredith Ireton fonds
P196 Élorie Trottier fonds
P206 Robert S. (Bob) Atkinson Collection

 

10. Religious Communities

   
P032 Anglican Diocese of Moosonee fonds
P066 Sudbury and District Ministerial Association fonds
P086 Fonds Paroisse St. Eugène
P087 Fonds Paroisse St. Casimir Parish (Catholique)

 

10.1 Missionaries

P205 William G (Reindeer) Walton fonds
P212 James Scanlon fonds
P227 Rev. Reginald Joselyn Fonds
P233 Lina Agnes (née Jackson) Duke Fonds

11. Sudbury

11.1 Land-use Planning

P122 Sudbury Mining Heritage Committee inc. fonds
P132 Sudbury Planning Board/ Junction Creek fonds
P204 William O. Mackasey fonds

Anglican Diocese of Moosonee

Search Request Forms

Please refer to the  Anglican Church Diocese of Moosonee Search Request form in pdf format to make a request for parochial records. Please be advised that this form is obligatory in order to submit your search request.

These are the only records located in the archives with information that could be relevant to genealogical research. If you are enquiring about any other records or publications (census, microfilms of newspapers, or books) pertaining to genealogical research, please refer to the online catalogue, Borrower Services desk, or reference email.

If you would like information on how to access the parochial or other records from the Anglican Church Dioceses of Moosonee, you can send a detailed email to:archives@laurentian.ca or you can call the Archives at (705) 675-1151 ext. 3306.

Ensure that you have read the rules and conditions of access as well as the list of locations in which we have some parochial records

Anglican Diocese of Moosonee

In an effort to ensure the preservation of their records and to facilitate access, the Anglican Diocese of Moosonee has deposited their records at the Laurentian University Archives.  We provide access under the policies and conditions stipulated by the Diocese of Moosonee.

The records deposited in the archives were generated by the Synod Office and by parishes of the Diocese.

Image of Fort Albany Church

Synod Office Records:

The Synod Office records consist of administrative and historical diocesan records documenting the history of the diocese.

Information concerning parish registers can be found under the following Parochial Records section. 

Parochial Records:

There are 69 parishes in the Diocese of Moosonee for which we have records. They mainly consist of documents that were produced, received, and accumulated by the parishes. Due to the fragile state of preservation of the parish registers and the nature of the information, these are not accessible to researchers. The archives' employees will do the search for any request of baptism, marriage and burial records. (See access conditions) 

Record Requests:

Archives staff will provide assistance with research services; however, we are unable to commit to more than two hours of our time for such research. 

Policies and conditions of access:

The following PDF document outlines the policies and conditions for accessing the parochial records. It will allow you to determine your eligibility for access, and it will identify the information that you will need prior to making a request.

Related Resources

Parochial Record Locations

Locations for which we have Anglican Church Parochial Records

For each of these locations the Archives may have all or some of the following parochial records: Parish Registers including baptism, confirmation, marriage, and burial records; service books; minutes; vestry books; account books.

A

Abitibi

Abitibi Group

Agumiska Island

Albany

Allanwater Bridge

Ameson

Amos

Angus

Ansoville

Anthony

Armstrong

Arntfield

Attawapiskat

Auden

 

B

Baie du Poste

Beardmore

Belcher Islands

Berylvale

Birch Lake

Biscotasing

Boston Creek

Bourlamaque

Brower

Brunswick House

Brunswick Post

Burleyville
 

C

Cadillac

Calstock

Cape Hope Island

Caramat

Central Patricia

Champion Lake

Chapais

Chapleau

Cheminis

Chibougamau

Chisasibi

Clute

Cobourg

Cochrane

Collins

Constance Lake

Cooper’s Camp

Coral Rapids

Currie
 

D

Driftwood

Dunns Lake

Dunning

Duparquet

 

E

Eastern Moosonee Mission

Eastford

Eastmain

Englehart

English River

 

F

Factory River

Farmborough

Fee Spur

Ferland

Flying Post

Foleyet

Fort Albany

Fort George

Fort Hope

Fort Rupert

Fort William

Fournier

Franz

Fraserdale

Frederick House

 

G

Gagnon Siding

Geraldton

Gogama

Grand Cascapedia

Grassett

Great Whale River

Ground Hog

H

Haileybury

Halet

Hanna

Hazel

Hearst

Henley

Hornepayne

Hunta
 

I

Iroquois Falls

Island Falls
 

J

Jacobs

 Joutel

 

K

Kanaapiskat

Kannapiskaw Post

Kapiskow

Kapuskasing

Kashechewan

Kearns

Kewagama

Keyano

Kirkland Lake

Kitigan
 

L

Lake Doré

Lake Nemisca

Landsdowne

Larder Lake

LaSarre

La Tuque

Lawashe

Little Long Rapids

Little Whale River

Longlac

LowBush River

Loweville

Lowther
 

M

Macamic Sanatorium

MacDougal Chutes

Malartic

Marathon

Marten’s Fall

Matagami (QC)

Matawakumma

Matheson

Matooskow River

Mattagami

Mattice

McInnis Siding

McPherson

Mic Mac, mine

Mile 113

Mine: see: under name of the mine

Miquelon

Missanibi

Mistassini

Monjambert

Monteith

Morrison River

Moose Factory

Moose Fort

Moose River

Moose River Crossing

Moosonee

 

N

Nahma

Nakina

Nemegos

Nemiscau (Camp)

Nemiska

Neokaskow

New Post

Nicholson (Siding)

Nitchequon

Noranda

Normétal

Norrie

North Bay

Nottawa

O

Oba

Ogoki

Old Factory River

Ombabika

Onakawana River Sawmill

Opasatika

Opemisca

Osnaburgh

Otter Rapids
 

P

Paguachequn

Pagwa River

Paint Hills

Parent

Parkham

Penny Lake

Perron

Peterbell

Pickle Crow

Pickle Lake

Pineal Lake

Pointe Bleue

Porquis Junction

Port Arthur

Pustikamiska
 

Q

Quevillon, Mission
 

R

Richmond Gulf

Roberval

Roggan River

Rouyn

Rupert’s House
 

S

St. Matthew’s Mission

Sault Ste. Marie

Schumacher 

Seal River

Senneterre 

Shamokan

Shawkey Mine

Shekak

Shillington

Siscoe

Smooth Rock Falls

South Porcupine

Spirit Lake 

Stackpool

Sudbury

Sullivan

Sultan

Swastika
 

T

Thornhill

Timmins

Tophet

Toronto
 

V

Val D’or

Vassan

Virginiatown
 

W

Waconici

Waskaganish

Waswanipi 

Watabeag

Webequa

Wemindji

Wenisk

Western Moosonee Mission

Weykache

Whapmagoostui

White River

 

Special Collections

Special Collections

Located on the first floor of the J.N. Desmarais Library, the Laurentian University Archives houses seven different special collections: 

  • Faculty Collection
  • Fourth Year Honours Essays 
  • Graduate Theses
  • Rare Books Collection
  • Reference Sources
  • Regional Collection
  • Vertical Files (from the “Mining and the Environment database”)

Special Collections are accessible to everyone, but must be consulted in the Angus Gilbert Reading Room. All Special Collections publications can be found in the J.N. Desmarais Library online catalogue. It is unnecessary to make an appointment to view these publications.

Faculty Collection

Faculty collectionThe Faculty Collection consists of Laurentian University faculty publications.

All publications from the Faculty Collection are catalogued, and call numbers can be found in the online library catalogue.  Publications in this collection end with Fac (example: FC 3061 G47 1989 Fac).

Fourth Year Honours Essays

Fourth year honors essaysFourth Year Honours essays are written by undergraduate Laurentian University students. Call numbers for student essays can be found in the online library catalogue. You can search for an essay by author name, title, or subject.

You can also search by University department. In the Omni catalogue advanced search box enter in the search filters: call number contains: ESS. And in Any Field select the topic or department. You can also filter your search by language ( any language; English; French .. )

omni search screen
In accordance with sections 29 and 30 of the Copyright Act (Exceptions for Educational Institutions, Libraries, Archives and Museums), you must complete a form provided at the Archives in order to obtain authorization to reproduce part of a student essay.

Graduate Theses

Graduate theses

Since the 1st of July, 2013, theses and Master’s essays are submitted electronically and deposited online in the  LUZoneUL research repository. You can search by author, title, subject or date.  While the Archives continues to store and give access to theses and Master’s essays that were submitted and approved prior to June 30th, 2013, as of that date, we no longer receive printed copies for preservation.

Laurentian University students’ Graduate theses and essays (prior to 2013) are housed in the archives.

Start your search for a thesis in the online library catalogue. You can search for the thesis by author’s name, title, or subject. 

You may also search using the title of the Master’s program. In the catalogue advanced search box enter in the search filters: call number contains: THE And in Any Field select the topic or program You can also filter your search by language ( any language; English; French .. )

Omni search screen

For Master's essays use M. ESS.  (M.spaceESS,) instead of THE

Omni search screen

 

 

Rare Books

Rare booksAll rare books housed in the Archives are catalogued, and call numbers can be found in the online library catalogue.

In order to help better serve you, we require the full call number found in the catalogue listing (example: 92-3333 C44 ).

Reproduction of rare books may be restricted because of a publication's fragility.  In such a case, the use of a camera may be permitted.

Reference Sources

Reference sourcesThis collection consists of Laurentian University publications such as the Laurentianna (yearbook) and the Gazette.

It also comprises finding aids for archival fonds from our holdings and other additional repositories.

We also conserve publications produced by Federal and Provincial government archives and publications related to our archival holdings. Call numbers for reference sources can be found in the online library catalogue.

Regional Collection

Regional collectionThe regional collection includes books and publications on Northern Ontario.

All books and publications from this collection are catalogued, and call numbers can be found in the online library catalogue. Call numbers for books from the regional collection end with Reg (example: TD 171.5 C32 S92 2001 Reg.).

Vertical Files

Vertical filesAs part of the Mining and Environment database, vertical files include copies of articles, article summaries, and papers.

All vertical files are catalogued, and call numbers can be found in the online library catalogue by selecting "Mining Environment Database" in the Laurentian Library menu.

Please note that, although each item is associated with a call number, the files are arranged alphabetically by title. Please ensure that you have the full title when you come to the Archives.

Policies & Procedures

Laurentian University archives are accessible to all. We do require that you make an appointment if you wish to access archival fonds which are housed in the Archives.

Archival fonds and the special collections housed in the Archives cannot be borrowed through Inter-Library Loan services or taken out of the Angus Gilbert Reading Room. Only in-house consultation is authorised.

Archives staff will provide assistance with research services, however we are unable to commit to more than three hours of our time for such research.

Note:

  • You will be charged for postage, when applicable.
  • There is no transmission of documents by fax.
  • There is no transmission of documents by email.

Procedures and Costs for the Scanning of Photographs (PDF)
Procedures and policies for photocopies of archival documents (PDF)
Request for reproduction of archival material (PDF)
Use of a Camera by Researchers in the Archives
Rules and Registration Form (PDF)
Floor Plan in pdf format
Acquisition Policy

FAQ

Archival Fonds

  1. What is an "archival record"?

An archival record is: recorded information, regardless of date, form or medium and of continuing value.

  1. What is a fonds?

A fonds is: The whole of the records, regardless of date, form or medium, created, received used and automatically accumulated by an individual or corporate body in the course, or in the performance of their activities or functions, constituting the integral, organic and recorded information of the body or the individual.

  1. What is a collection?

A collection is an artificial accumulation of documents of any provenance brought together on the basis of some common characteristic, e.g., way of acquisition, subject, language, medium, type of document, name of collector, to be treated for description purposes as a descriptive unit under a common title. Collectors may be those outside the archives who assembled the material, or may in some cases be an archival repository itself.

  1. I need to consult records from your archival fonds, can I just show up?

To access the archival fonds, an appointment is required prior to your visit. Access to and reference for archival materials are generally offered only on Thursdays and Fridays. You can contact us by telephone at: (705) 675-1151 ext. 3306 or by email at archives@laurentian.ca

  1. Do you have old copies of LU student newspapers?

Yes we do! Currently, we carry complete series and current issues of L'Orignal déchaîné and Lambda as well as other LU student newspapers. In addition, L'Orignal déchaîné and Lamba have been digitized and are available online.

  1. I live outside of the city. Can you send me archival documents by interlibrary loan?

Archival fonds and the special collections housed in the archives cannot be borrowed through Inter-Library Loan services or taken out of the Angus Gilbert Reading Room. Only in-house consultation is authorized.

  1. I am not able to go to the archives. Can you do the research for me?

Unfortunately, the archives staff cannot provide research services. 

  1. Can I use my camera instead of photocopying or scanning the document?

It is possible under certain circumstances. When a book or document is too fragile to be photocopied or scanned, we suggest that you bring your camera and take pictures. However, you must fill out a special form and let us know that you are planning to take pictures. Please consult our policy on use of camera in the archives.

  1. I am looking for information on a family member, are there genealogical records at the archives?

The only documents in the archives that may contain pertinent genealogical information are those from the Anglican Diocese of Moosonee fonds. If you are enquiring about any other records or publications (census, microfilms of newspapers or books) pertaining to genealogical research, please refer to the online catalogue or Research Help desk or reference email.

Special Collections

  1. Do you have copies of previous exams that I can use to help study?

In March 2020, Senate directed the library to remove the previous exams database from the library website. The exams in the database were largely outdated and often failed to reflect the content or approach used in current courses. Senate instead encourages professors to share sample exams with their students on D2L or through other means. 

  1. Can I use my camera instead of photocopying or scanning the document?

It is possible under certain circumstances such as when a book or document is too fragile to be photocopied or scanned, we suggest that you bring your camera and take pictures. However, you must fill out a special form and let us know that you are planning to take pictures and we will explain the policies and procedures.

  1. Can I just show up?

If you wish to access publications from the Special Collections (Regional, Faculty, Rare Books, Essays and Thesis), they are accessible during our regular business hours.  No appointment is necessary.

  1. Can I borrow books from the Special Collections?

No. However, there is a self-serve photocopier in the Reading Room.  The rules applying to the special collections are similar to the rest of the library, except that publications need to be consulted in the Reading Room.  Exceptions may apply to our Rare Book collection, as they may be fragile and not conducive to scanning or photocopying.

  1. I need to access publications from the Special Collections, but I can’t go to the archives during your operating hours. Can I still consult these books?

YES. If you have a valid student card or LU library card, you can call us or send an email 24 hours ahead of time, and give us the title and call numbers of the books you need to consult, we will put them on reserve for you at borrower service desk (Maximum 5 books). NOTE: Only items from the 4th Year Honours’ Essays cannot be put on reserve. It also may not be possible to put some of the rare books on reserve, given their fragile state of preservation. 

  1. Do you have old copies of LU student newspapers?

Yes we do! Currently, we carry complete series and current issues of L'Orignal déchaîné and Lambda as well as other LU student newspapers. In addition, L'Orignal déchaîné and Lamba have been digitized and are available online.

  1. Do you have theses from other universities?

No, we do not keep other universities’ graduate theses. We only keep the Laurentian University graduate theses in the archives.

  1. Do you have 4th Year Honour’s Essays from every department?

No, not every department. The 4th Year Honour’s Essays are sent to the archives on a voluntary basis from different departments.

  1. I live outside of the city. Can you send me books from the Special Collections by interlibrary loan?

Special Collections housed in the Angus Gilbert Reading Room cannot be borrowed through Inter-Library Loan services or taken out of the Angus Gilbert Reading Room. Only in-house consultation is permitted.

  1. I am not able to go to the Angus Gilbert Reading Room. Can you do the research for me?

Unfortunately, the staff cannot provide research services.

Contact Us

By mail

Archives
Laurentian University
935 Ramsey Lake Road
Sudbury, ON, Canada
P3E 2C6

By email

archives@laurentian.ca

By fax

(705) 675-4877

By telephone

Archives Reception: (705) 675-1151 Extension 3306
 

In person

The Laurentian University Archives are located on the first floor of the J.N. Desmarais Library at the Laurentian University campus on Ramsey Lake Road in Sudbury, Ontario.  We are situated in the heart of the Laurentian University campus just minutes away from one of Sudbury’s main arteries, Paris Street.

Those making their way by car will find several parking lots on campus. Those flying into the Greater Sudbury Airport will want to arrange for a shuttle or taxi.

Find us on Google Maps

Directions By Car

campus map

From Highway 69 North (from Toronto)

  1. Take Highway 69 North to Sudbury, which becomes Regent Street
  2. Turn right onto Paris Street at the Paris and Regent intersection.
  3. Turn right on Ramsey Lake Road (where Science North is located).
  4. Turn right on University Road.

From Highway 17 East (from Ottawa)

  1. Take Highway 17 West towards North Bay and Sudbury.
  2. In Sudbury, take the “Kingsway,” which becomes Brady Street.
  3. Turn left on Paris Street
  4. Turn left on Ramsey Lake Road (where Science North is located).
  5. Turn right onto University Road

From Highway 17 West (From Sault Ste. Marie)

  1. Take Highway 17 East to Sudbury
  2. Exit at Long Lake Road
  3. Turn right at exit onto Regional Road 80 North
  4. Continue onto Regional Road 80 North, which becomes Paris Street
  5. Turn right on Ramsey Lake Road (where Science North is located).
  6. Turn right on University Road

From Highway 144 South (from Timmins)

  1. Take 144 South towards Sudbury
  2. Take the Big Nickel Road ramp
  3. Continue onto Regional Road 55 east which turns into Lorne Street.
  4. Turn right on Douglas Street which turns into Brady Street.
  5. Turn right on Paris Street
  6. Turn left on Ramsey Lake Road (where Science North is located)
  7. Turn right on University Road