You are here

Get Started

Welcome


Welcome to the Communication Studies Research Guide!

Here you will find a variety of resources related to communication studies.

Need more help? Feel free to visit or contact the Huntington Univeristy library.

https://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/commons/f/f7/Social-media-communication.png

Cite Your Sources!

Find information on popular reference styles through our "Quick Reference Guide." Remember to use the style asked for by your professor, and to check your work.

Communication Studies - Core Research Database

  • Communication and Mass Media Complete ?

    Description: CMMC incorpore CommSearch (anciennement de la National Communication Association) et le Mass Media Articles Index (anciennement de l’Université Penn State) ainsi que de nombreuses autres revues pour constituer dans les domaines de la communication et des médias de masse une ressource de recherche et de référence d’une ampleur et d’une profondeur sans précédent. CMMI offre intégralement (couverture de base) le référencement et les résumés de plus de 300 revues et un choix (priorité) de plus de 100 autres, pour une couverture totale dépassant 400 titres. De nombreuses grandes revues ont l’index, les résumés ainsi que les références citées consultables depuis leurs premières parutions (datant de 1915) à nos jours. CMMI contient un vocabulaire complexe contrôlé et une consultation complète des références (c.-à-d. des références citées consultables des revues à comité de lecture qui font partie de la couverture de base).

Jump Start


Dictionaries

Dictionary of Media and Communication Studies (In print: HUNT. P 87.5 W38 2000)


Encyclopedias

Encyclopedia of Communication Theory (In Print: HUNT. P87.5 E496 2009)

International Encyclopedia of Communication (In Print: HUNT. P87.5 I58 2008)

Encyclopedia of Multimedia

Men and Masculinities: A Social, Cultural, and Historical Encyclopedia (In Print: HUNT. HQ1090.3 M436 V.1 and V.2 2004)

Encyclopedia of Communication and Information (In Print: HUNT. P87.5 E53 2002)

Encyclopedia of New Media (In Print: HUNT. QA76.575 E5368 2003)


Handbooks

The Sage Handbook of Oraganizational Communication (In Print: HUNT. HD30.3 H3575 2014)

Handbook of Language and Social Interaction (In Print: HUNT. P40 H3425 2005)

Handbook of Communication and Social Interaction Skills (In Print: HUNT. HM111 H36 2003)

Handbook of Media and Communication (In Print: HUNT. P90 H3 2002)

Engaging Theories in Interpersonal Communication: Multiple Perspectives

The Routledge Handbook of Emotions and Mass Media  (In Print: HUNT. BF531 H36 2011)

Information and Communication Technologies in Everyday Life (In Print: HUNT. P96.T42 H337 2004)

The Routledge Handbook of Internet Politics (In Print: HUNT. HM851 R6795 2009)

Routledge Hanbook for Sport and New Media (In Print: HUNT. GV742 R68 2014)

21st Century Communication: A Reference Handook

Communication Yearbook

The Handbook of Communication Science

 

Subject Librarian

NGerolami's picture
Name: Natasha Gerolami
Position Title: Head Librarian - Huntington University
Email Address: ngerolami@huntingtonu.ca
Extension: (705) 673-4126 ext. 248
Office Location: Cochrane Rm, Huntington University

Get Articles

Communication Studies - Core Research Database

  • Communication and Mass Media Complete ?

    Description: CMMC incorpore CommSearch (anciennement de la National Communication Association) et le Mass Media Articles Index (anciennement de l’Université Penn State) ainsi que de nombreuses autres revues pour constituer dans les domaines de la communication et des médias de masse une ressource de recherche et de référence d’une ampleur et d’une profondeur sans précédent. CMMI offre intégralement (couverture de base) le référencement et les résumés de plus de 300 revues et un choix (priorité) de plus de 100 autres, pour une couverture totale dépassant 400 titres. De nombreuses grandes revues ont l’index, les résumés ainsi que les références citées consultables depuis leurs premières parutions (datant de 1915) à nos jours. CMMI contient un vocabulaire complexe contrôlé et une consultation complète des références (c.-à-d. des références citées consultables des revues à comité de lecture qui font partie de la couverture de base).

Communication Studies - Subject Databases

  • Arts & Humanities Citation Index ?

    Description: Fully indexes over 1,700 arts and humanities journals, as well as selected items over 250 scientific and social sciences journals — from 1975 to present. Covering subjects that include archaeology, art, architecture, asian studies, classics, dance, folklore, history, language, linguistics, literary reviews, literature, music, philosophy, poetry, radio, television, & film, religion and theatre.

  • Film Literature Index ?

    Description: Database devoted to the literature of film, television and video productions. The FLI Online contains approximately 700,000 citations to articles, film reviews and book reviews published between 1976-2001.

  • Film & Television Literature Index ?

    Description: Film & Television Literature Index is the definitive index to film and television literature. It is a bibliographic database that provides cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts for more than 380 publications, and selected coverage of 300 more. The database has been designed for use by a diverse audience that includes film scholars, college students, and general viewers.

  • Sociological Abstracts ?

    Description: Covers the international literature of sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences since 1952. Also provides abstracts of books, book chapters, dissertations, conference papers and working papers.

Communication Studies - News and Current Affairs Databases

  • Canadian Business & Current Affairs™ (CBCA) Complete ?

    Description: More than 4.5 million records from 1,730 titles covering current events, business, education, science, the arts, and academic information as produced in Canada. The database also includes a few Canadian legal journals that are in neither Hein Online nor Lexis-Nexis, also full-text.

  • Globe & Mail (Historical) ?

    Description: Canada's national newspaper. Articles and full page reproductions of the complete newspaper from 1844 to 2012.

  • ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The Globe and Mail (1844-2010) ?

    Description: This historical Canadian newspaper provides students with online first-hand accounts and coverage of the politics, society and events of the time.

Communication Studies - Legal Databases

  • Lexis-Nexis Academic ?

    Description: Lexis-Nexis Academic is a rich source of news, business and legal information.

Get Books

Searching the Catalogue

The catalogue is your primary tool for finding books in the J.N. Desmarais Library and other campus libraries.           

 

You can also use the catalogue to find other materials, including government publications and journals (the journals themselves--not individual articles).

You can search the catalogue by:

  • Keyword                                                                       
  • Title
  • Author
  • Subject
  • Journal Title

When you know the book you are searching for, pick Title or Author; when you are searching for a topic, start with Keyword unless you know the exact Subject heading describing your topic.

More on searching the Catalogue is available in Module 5 of the Research Skills Tutorial in D2L.

 

Interlibrary Loan

Need a book or an article that we don't have? Interlibrary is here to help

Materials that are not available at our University are obtained from other libraries and shipped to Laurentian.

Already have a RACER account?  Log in to your account

Not registered for a RACER account? Register Now!
 
For more information check out the Interlibrary Loans Information Page