You are here
Use this database to search scholarly journals published within Africa and covering a variety of academic disciplines.
AgEcon Search is a free, open access repository of full-text scholarly literature in agricultural and applied economics.
American Museum of Natural History Scientific Publications
Access a searchable database of digitized AMNH scientific publications: American Museum Novitates, Anthropological Papers of the American Museum of Natural History, Bulletin of the American Museum of Natural History and Memoirs of the American Museum of Natural History.
Archive of European Integration
Supported by the University Library System, University of Pittsburg, this electronic repository and archive provides access to research materials on the topic of European integration and unification. Coverage includes independently-produced research materials and official European Community/European Union documents.
arXiv is an e-print database that provides access to materials in physics, mathematics, non-linear science, computer science and quantitative biology.
AU Press is the centre of scholarly publishing expertise for Athabasca University, Canada's Open University. It is the first scholarly press to be established by a Canadian university in the twenty-first century. We are dedicated to the dissemination of knowledge and research through open access digital journals and monographs, as well as through new electronic media.
Our geographical focus is on Canada, the North American West, and the Circumpolar North. One of our mandates is to publish innovative and experimental works (in both fiction and non-fiction) that challenge established canons, subjects, and formats. We cultivate the areas of open-, distance-, and e-learning. We promote neglected forms such as diary, memoir, and oral history.
Australian Digital Theses Program
This site contains digital versions of theses written by postgraduate students in Australia.
AWOL – The Ancient World Online
A long list of open access journals in ancient studies.
BASE (Bielefeld Academic Search Engine)
BASE is one of the world's most voluminous search engines especially for academic open access web resources. BASE is operated by Bielefeld University Library.
The BC Historical Newspapers project features digitized versions of historical papers from around the province. The titles, which range from the Abbotsford Post to Westward Ho!, date from 1865 to 1994.
This is a database of open access journals. The journal articles are freely accessible online and include both the sciences and the humanities
bepress is a searchable, browseable repository of law-related working papers from law schools and associations.
Note: Some of the peer-reviewed journals require guest registration for viewing full text
BioMed Central is an independent publishing house committed to providing immediate free access to peer-reviewed biomedical research. Provides access to over 300 open access journals. It is possible to use BioMed to search for journals in PubMed.
A free online archive and distribution service for unpublished preprints in the life sciences.
This site contains full text post graduate theses from Caltech.
An electronic archive for self-archivepapers in any area of Psychology, Neuroscience, andLinguistics, Computer Science, Philosophy, and Biology.
Computing Research Repository (CoRR)
The Computing Research Repository (CoRR) is an open access repository for the Association of Computing Machinery.
CORE (COnnecting REpositories)
CORE (COnnecting REpositories) aims to facilitate free access to scholarly publications distributed across many systems. As of today, CORE gives you access to millions of scholarly articles aggregated from many Open Access repositories.
DART-Europe E-theses Portal (DEEP)
DART - Europe E-Theses Portal is the site of the European Working Group of the Networked Digital Library of Theses and Dissertations (NDLTD). The resource includes over one hundred thousand doctoral theses from fourteen European countries.
Directory of Open Access Books
A large collection of open access books in subjects from agriculture to philosophy.
Directory of Open Access Journals
This directory provides a searchable, browseable listing of freely accessible online scientific and scholarly journals in a wide range of disciplines.
Directory of Open Access Repositories (OpenDOAR)
OpenDOAR allows you to search for academic open access repositories, and within these repositories.
prints in Library & Information Science
Established in 2003, e-LIS is an international digital repository for Library and Information Science (LIS).
EDRS (ERIC Document Reproduction Service)
EDRS provides full text access to ERIC documents, and covers a variety of eduction related topics.
Note: The EDRS interface has been changed to a new search interface. Please see the ERIC web page to access full text Eric Documents (items in ERIC with an ED number). This database is available to everyone and there is no login requirement.
The Electronic Journals Library allows you to search for academic scholarly journals on the web. It indexes titles that provide full text freely available on the web and those that only provide citations and abstracts. To locate full text for items which are not available freely, please search Laurentian's EJournal Collection by the title of the journal.
Search the Educational Resources Information Center (ERIC) database, sponsored by the Institute of Education Sciences (IES) of the U.S. Department of Education, for indexing and abstracts of journal and non-journal items in the field of education. ERIC Documents (items with an ED number) issued after 1993 are available fulltext.
Research tip: EBSCO and Proquest offer the added advantage of linking to some full text journal articles (EJ items).
Access a collection of publicly available electronic books from academic presses on topics in the arts and sciences. The collection is searchable and can be browsed by subject, author, or title. eScholarship Editions are published by the California Digital Library.
Note: To search for e-books, it's easier to click on the Advanced Search link in the top right corner of the screen. Please allow for pop-ups in your browser to use this feature.
Over 350,000 doctoral theses from the United Kingdom made available through the British Library.
An Open Science publishing platform for with research from the life sciences.
Access to research published by the US Board of Governors and 12 Federal Reserve Banks.
This site is dedicated to the promotion of free access to medical journals over the Internet. Journals are listed by specialty, and alphabetically by title, and non-English journals are listed as well.
This database is an open access archive where authors have deposited their research for wider dissemination and preservation. It includes resources across a variety of disciplines, including the sciences, medicine, and the humanities and social sciences.
HathiTrust is a partnership of academic & research institutions, offering a collection of millions of titles digitized from libraries around the world.
Access more than two million freely available articles in the sciences from this site.
Hindawi is a rapidly growing academic publisher with 436 peer-reviewed, open access journals covering a wide range of academic disciplines.
The Humanities Text Initiative, a unit of the University of Michigan's Digital Library Production Service, collaborates with other U of M units and partners with other institutions to convert, create and deliver online texts and resources. You can access a number of freely available collections on the site.
Over 2000 open access books from across the sciences.
International Consortium for the Advancement of Academic Publication
Access ICAAP for full-text, peer-reviewed scholarly journals. ICAAP is a research and development laboratory and standards organization devoted to the advancement of electronic scholarly communication. ICAAP provides promotional and database services to resources deemed to be of interest to the scholarly community.
Japan Science and Technology Informatio Aggregator, Electronic
Research from Japanese institutions in the areas of science and technology.
JURN is a unique search-engine dedicated to indexing free and ‘open access’ ejournals in the arts and humanities.
Networked Digital Library of Theses and Dissertations (NDLTD)
The Networked Digital Library of Theses and Dissertations (NDLTD) is an international organization dedicated to promoting the adoption, creation, use, dissemination, and preservation of electronic theses and dissertations (ETDs).
OAIster provides access to over twenty two million items fom open access repositories across the globe. OAIster can be searched or browsed.
Over 2000 open access books from across the sciences.
Open Depot is mainly a repository for researchers who do not have a repository to deposit their open access work in their own institutions. It is managed by EDINA in the UK.
Open Humanities Press is an international, scholar-led open access publishing collective whose mission is to make leading works of contemporary critical thought available worldwide.
Open Research Online is the Open University's repository of research publications and other research outputs.
OpenDOAR, the Directory of Open Access Repositories, is a directory of academic open access repositories. Included in this resource are repositories from global universities and colleges, as well as Libraries, historical societies, and a range of other academically focused organizations.
A growing collection of open access preprints related to biology.
PhilPapers provides access to scholarly resources in the discipline of philosophy, including books, journal articles, and book chapters. Many resources are open access.
PLOS publishes a suite of influential journals from all areas of science and medicine that contain rigorously reported, peer reviewed Open Access research articles.
POPLINE contains the world’s most comprehensive collection of population, family planning and related reproductive health and development literature.
This database provides access to open access dissertations and theses.
Free Access upon registration to resources that connect healthcare professionals with up-to-date news and information that matters for patient care
PubMed is a service of the U.S. National Library of Medicine that includes over 16 million citations from MEDLINE and other life science journals for biomedical articles back to the 1950s. Also access the Entrez nucleotide, protein, taxonomy, structure, genome, expression and chemical databases.
PMC Canada aims to provide a freely accessible, Canada-based archive of biomedical and health research findings. PubMed Central Canada is a free digital archive of full-text, peer-reviewed health and life sciences literature based on PubMed Central, the archive developed by the US National Library of Medicine and in partnership with the National Research Council's Canada Institute for Scientific and Technical Information (NRC-CISTI) and Canadian Institutes of Health Research (CIHR). The search interface allows anyone to browse, search and download articles.
PubMed Central (PMC), "the U.S. National Library of Medicine's free digital archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature", provides access to a collection of free and open access full text journals.
Social Science Research Network
Social Science Research Network (SSRN) is devoted to the rapid worldwide dissemination of social science research and is composed of a number of specialized research networks in each of the social sciences.
Synergies provides the Canadian scholarly publishing sector with the first virtual showcase for a large corpus of research publications.
Transcription Factor Encyclopedia
The long-term goal of TFe is to create an online encyclopedic collection of well-studied transcription factor proteins in the human, mouse, and rat genomes, combining a mixture of both expert-curated and automatically-populated content to provide users with a wide set of information relevant to a transcription factor protein of their interest.
UC Press E-Books Collection, 1982-2004, includes over 700 open access books from academic presses on a range of topics, including art, science, history, music, religion, and fiction.
UC Press E-Books Collection, 1982-2004
This collection includes almost 2,000 books from academic presses on a range of topics, including art, science, history, music, religion, and fiction. This collection is published by the California Digital Library.
Universitat Regensburg Electronic Journals Library
623 institutions actively take part in the Electronic Journals Library - an index of freely available journals, which was founded by the University Library of Regensburg.any science.
Wiley Open Access publishes authoritative peer reviewed open access journals across many research disciplines.
World Bank Open Knowledge Repository
An Open Access repository for development knowledge. Subjects look through list at https://openknowledge.worldbank.org/browse?rpp=10&order=ASC&sort_by=-1&etal=-1&type=topic&starts_with=B
Access the world's most comprehensive bibliography, with millions of bibliographic records catalogued by OCLC member libraries. Includes holdings information from the world's libraries.
Zenodo is an open dependable home for the long-tail of science, enabling researchers to share and preserve any research outputs in any size, any format and from any science.