You are here

Welcome

Track Your Research

Zotero, an open source, browser-based citation manager, is the recommended tool for citations and bibliography.

Citing in APA Style

The Labour Studies Department recommends APA style:

Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association. Also known as the APA Style Manual. 6th ed. 2010. Print.

An easyguide to APA style. 2014. Print.

Purdue Online Writing Lab. Open access site for learning how to cite in APA style and other styles.

Citing Sources

Properly citing your sources is an extremely valuable and necessary skill when completing your research. See Laurentian's Citation Style Guides for quick reference guides on commonly used citation styles.

Welcome!

The study of labour and working people includes history, law, Canadian studies, sociology, management studies, and politics. This guide list a number of key resources that will help you to find what you need to know.

Please e-mail me if you would like to consult on your research.

Library Instruction

To learn more about the library and its resources and how you can exploit them to your advantage, register in the Research Skills Tutorial on D2L. There are several sections in the tutorial with a short quiz at the end of each; at the end you will receive a Certificate of Completion. Many professors require you to take this tutorial--and once you finish it, you can save your certificate to reprint as often as necessary.

In the fall,  the library hosts live Orientation tours as well as Zotero classes which you can sign up for at the library's entrance, and even after the formal schedule is finished, we are very happy to put on special classes at the request of at least 5 students. If you would like to arrange a special class, or you think your course would benefit from some in-class library instruction, please ask your professor to contact the librarian responsible for your faculty to set up some sessions.

Dictionaries and encyclopedias

The Canadian encyclopedia. Online and Print.

Historical dictionary of organized labor. 2012. Online.

The lexicon of labor.  Rev. ed. 2010. Print. American emphasis.

Encyclopaedia of occupational health and safety. 1983. Print. International perspectives.

Encyclopedia of U.S. labor and working-class history. 2007. Print. Useful for its coverage of issues like environmentalism, globalization and corporate anti-unionism.

International encyclopedia of revolution and protest. 2012. Online. Includes Canada.

Labour law and industrial relations in Canada. 1981. Print.

Labour and the law

Labour Studies Librarian

DMaley's picture
Name: Desmond Maley
Position Title: Associate Librarian
Email Address: dmaley@laurentian.ca
Extension: 3323
Office Location: 30-246, J.-N. Desmarais Library

Research and writing in labour studies

More Help

In the library: The Library User Assistance Desk to your immediate left as you enter the library is a good place to start.

By email: Email the librarian responsible for your faculty for a reply during regular working hours.

By telephone: 705-675-4803, or toll free at 1-800-661-1058, ext. 2

By chat: With our "Ask the Library" service. For more information, see About Ask a Librarian.

For Distance Education students: Telephone: 1-800-661-1058, ext. 2 or email: bibdesmaraislib@laurentian.ca

Get books

Dissertations and Theses

  • ProQuest Dissertations and Theses ?

    Description: This database includes 2.7 million searchable citations to doctoral dissertation and Master's theses from around the world from 1861 to the present day together with 1.2 million full text dissertations that are available for download in PDF format. Full text has been added since 1997 and strong retrospective full text coverage for older graduate works. Those not available full-text may be ordered privately; they are not normally available through interlibrary loan.

  • Theses Canada ?

    Description: "Canadian universities participate in the program voluntarily by submitting approved theses and dissertation to Theses Canada." Published by Library and Archives Canada.

  • Dissertations & Theses @ Laurentian University ?

    Description: This database gives access to the dissertations and theses produced by students at Laurentian University

  • DART-Europe E-Theses Portal ?

    Description: "DART-Europe is a partnership of research libraries and library consortia who are working together to improve global access to European research theses" - publisher's info.

  • British Library - E-Theses Online Service (EThOS) ?

    Description: EThOS is the UK’s national thesis service which aims to maximise the visibility and availability of the UK’s doctoral research theses. - Publisher's description.

  • Open Access Theses and Dissertations (OATD) ?

    Description: OATD.org aims to be the best possible resource for finding open access graduate theses and dissertations published around the world. - Publisher's description

Call Numbers for Labour Studies

The following call numbers of the Library of Congress classification schedule are the most important for materials on labour studies:

HA Statistics
HD Industry and labour, especially HD 4800-8900 for books on labour, work, and working people
HM Sociology. History. Theory.  Culture. Groups and organizations. Social psychology
HN Social history and conditions. Social problems. Social reform
HX Socialism, Communism, Anarchism
 

New books

See the new books on order or just received for the program.

Catalogues

Laurentian Library Catalogue
WorldCat
allows you to search for books worldwide. Our books are listed in WorldCat. If we don't have it, you could request it through RACER, our interlibrary loan service.

Ebook collections

  • Ebook Central ?

    Description: close to 40,000 ebooks in multiple subject areas

  • Gale Virtual Reference Library ?

    Description: Over 80 reference ebooks in multiple subject areas.

  • Intelex Past Masters: Full-Text Humanities ?

    Description: Encompasses the largest collection of primary source full-text electronic editions in philosophy in the world. Includes significant collections in the history of political thought and theory, religious studies, education, German studies, sociology, the history and philosophy of science, economics, and classics. Features definitive editions of the full corpora of the seminal figures in the history of the human sciences, including published and unpublished works, articles, essays, reviews, and correspondence. Publishes collections in English and English translation, German, French, Latin, Danish, Spanish, Italian, and Russian. Also includes The English Letters Collection (letters or correspondence and in some cases the notebooks, diaries, and memoirs of the most significant figures in English cultural history, politics, religion and the arts), the Women Writers Collection, and the Pickering & Chatto Women's Studies Collection.

  • Oxford Scholarship Online ?

    Description: Over 13,960 ebooks in multiple subject areas.

  • Sage Knowledge Collection ?

    Description: Provides an expansive range of SAGE eBook and eReference content, including scholarly monographs, reference works, handbooks. The e-reference publications are available full-text.

  • Scholars Portal - Ebooks ?

    Description: Over 345,000 ebooks in multiple subject areas. Select Full Text Only to find only those ebooks with full text.

  • Springer LINK ?

    Description: SpringerLink currently offers 2,777 fully peer-reviewed journals and 56,704 books online.

  • Taylor & Francis E-books ?

    Description: More than 15,000 e-books in multiple subject areas.

Get articles

National and International Newspapers

  • Globe & Mail (Historical) ?

    Description: Canada's national newspaper. Articles and full page reproductions of the complete newspaper from 1844 to 2012.

  • Canadian Newsstand Major Dailies ?

    Description: Includes national and leading regional papers such as National Post, Calgary Herald, Edmonton Journal, Montreal Gazette, Ottawa Citizen, Regina Leader Post, Vancouver Sun and the Victoria Times-Colonist.

  • LexisNexis Academic ?

    Description: Lexis-Nexis Academic is a rich source of news, business and legal information.

Regional Newspapers

The Sudbury Star. Online 1999-  The backrun is available on microfilm with an Index of issues from 1910 to 1979.

The Library also receives on microfilm the North Bay Nugget and Sault Star.

Historical and Canadian Studies

  • Labour Studies Index ?

    Description: Open-access index of recent publications in Canadian labour studies including books, book chapters, journal articles, reviews, commissioned reports, and theses. Indexes comprehensively the journals Labour/Le Travail, Relations industrielles/Industrial Relations and Just Labour: A Canadian Journal of Work and Society. The Index is produced by Desmond Maley and Dan Scott, J.-N. Desmarais Library, Laurentian University.

  • Canadian Labour History Bibliography, 1976-2009 ?

    Description: Historical studies of Canadian labour from 1800 to 1975.

  • America: History and Life ?

    Description: Covers literature on the history and culture of the U.S. and Canada from prehistory to the present. The index includes 1,700 journals from as far back as 1910. Access is limited to 6 concurrent users.

  • Canadian Periodicals Index Quarterly (CPI.Q) ?

    Description: The CPI provides access to articles from a comprehensive list of Canadian and international journals, magazines, selected sections of the Globe and Mail, Canadian biographies and other reference content from Gale™, all with a Canadian focus. Indexing from 1980 to present; Full-text articles from 1983 to present.

  • Academic OneFile ?

    Description: More than 14,000 titles, including more than 9,000 peer-reviewed journals and more than 6,000 in full text. Extensive coverage of the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects since 1980.

Legal Resources

  • CanLII ?

    Description: Published open-access by the Canadian Legal Information Institute. Provides access to court judgments, tribunal decisions, statutes and regulations from all Canadian jurisdictions. Includes arbitration awards.

  • LexisNexis Academic ?

    Description: Lexis-Nexis Academic is a rich source of news, business and legal information.

Government Publications

The Labour Gazette. 1900-1978. Print. V. 1 (1900-1901) to v.  65 (1965) is also available open-access at Internet Archive.

Economics

  • EconLit ?

    Description: Indexes full-text articles in all fields of economics including capital markets, country studies, econometrics, economic forecasting, environmental economics, government regulations, labor economics, monetary theory, and urban economics. Produced by the American Economics Association since 1969.

  • Business Source Complete ?

    Description: "Indexes and abstracts the most important scholarly business journals, dating back as far as 1886. In addition, searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,300 journals" - publisher's description (4/1/2013).

Political Studies

  • PAIS International ?

    Description: Covers public and social policy and the social sciences in general. Indexes journal articles, books, government documents (with emphasis on Canada, the U.S., and the United Nations), statistical compilations, committee reports, and directories. Includes: PAISArchive 1915-1976 & PAIS International from 1972 to the present.

Sociological Studies

  • Sociological Abstracts ?

    Description: Covers the international literature of sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences since 1952. Also provides abstracts of books, book chapters, dissertations, conference papers and working papers.