You are here

Welcome

New Books

See the list of new books ordered for the program.

Where the Music Things Are

Nearly all of  our books on music are at the J.N. Desmarais Library. All of our music scores are kept at the Music Resource Centre (MRC), School of Education, where the Department of Music is located. Compact discs, audio cassettes and videos are also kept at the MRC. The exception is the vinyl recordings, which are on the 3rd floor of the Desmarais Library.

Contacts

In the library: The Library User Assistance Desk to your immediate left as you enter the library is a good place to start.

By email: Contact the librarian responsible for your subject area. 

By telephone: 705-675-4800

The Essentials

Dictionaries

Harvard Dictionary of Music. 2003. Print. Excellent resource for definitions of musical terms.

Oxford Music Online. Choose Oxford Dictionary of Music or Oxford Companion to Music for capsule definitions of terms, genres and composer biographies.

Encyclopedias

Encyclopedia of Music in Canada. 2nd ed. 1992. Print and online. Indispensable resource for Canadian music.

Encyclopedia of Popular Music. 1998. Print. Useful for its performer biographies and recordings.

Garland Encyclopedia of World Music. Print. Excellent coverage of musical traditions worldwide, with an accompanying set of CDs.

Oxford Music Online. Grove Music Online is the most important resource for music.

New Grove Dictionary of Music. 2001. Print.

Oxford Companion to Music. Brief descriptions of terms, genres, and composer biographies.

Histories

Oxford History of Western Music. 2005. Print. Outstanding survey authored by historian Richard Taruskin.

New Oxford History of Music. 1955-90. Print. Authoritative survey.

Music Librarian

DMaley's picture
Name: Desmond Maley
Position Title: Associate Librarian
Email Address: dmaley@laurentian.ca
Extension: 3323
Office Location: 30-246, J.-N. Desmarais Library

My music background

I have been the music librarian at Laurentian University since 1985. I am a member of the Canadian Association of Music Libraries, Archives, and Documentation Centres (CAML). Until this past year, I was the books/recordings review editor of CAML Review and formerly was the general editor. I have an Associate Diploma in Piano Performance from the Royal Conservatory of Music in Toronto as well as an arts degree in history and a master's in library science.  I serve on the board of the 5-Penny New Music Concerts. From 1996 to 2014, I was the program notes writer for the Sudbury Symphony Orchestra.

Get books

Ebook collections

  • Ebook Central ?

    Description: close to 40,000 ebooks in multiple subject areas

  • Gale Virtual Reference Library ?

    Description: Over 80 reference ebooks in multiple subject areas.

  • Intelex Past Masters: Full-Text Humanities ?

    Description: Encompasses the largest collection of primary source full-text electronic editions in philosophy in the world. Includes significant collections in the history of political thought and theory, religious studies, education, German studies, sociology, the history and philosophy of science, economics, and classics. Features definitive editions of the full corpora of the seminal figures in the history of the human sciences, including published and unpublished works, articles, essays, reviews, and correspondence. Publishes collections in English and English translation, German, French, Latin, Danish, Spanish, Italian, and Russian. Also includes The English Letters Collection (letters or correspondence and in some cases the notebooks, diaries, and memoirs of the most significant figures in English cultural history, politics, religion and the arts), the Women Writers Collection, and the Pickering & Chatto Women's Studies Collection.

  • Oxford Scholarship Online ?

    Description: Over 13,960 ebooks in multiple subject areas.

  • Sage Knowledge Collection ?

    Description: Provides an expansive range of SAGE eBook and eReference content, including scholarly monographs, reference works, handbooks. The e-reference publications are available full-text.

  • Scholars Portal - Ebooks ?

    Description: Over 345,000 ebooks in multiple subject areas. Select Full Text Only to find only those ebooks with full text.

  • Springer LINK ?

    Description: SpringerLink currently offers 2,777 fully peer-reviewed journals and 56,704 books online.

  • Taylor & Francis E-books ?

    Description: More than 15,000 e-books in multiple subject areas.

Catalogues - print and ebooks

Dissertations and Theses

  • ProQuest Dissertations and Theses ?

    Description: This database includes 2.7 million searchable citations to doctoral dissertation and Master's theses from around the world from 1861 to the present day together with 1.2 million full text dissertations that are available for download in PDF format. Full text has been added since 1997 and strong retrospective full text coverage for older graduate works. Those not available full-text may be ordered privately; they are not normally available through interlibrary loan.

  • Theses Canada ?

    Description: "Canadian universities participate in the program voluntarily by submitting approved theses and dissertation to Theses Canada." Published by Library and Archives Canada.

  • Dissertations & Theses @ Laurentian University ?

    Description: This database gives access to the dissertations and theses produced by students at Laurentian University

  • DART-Europe E-Theses Portal ?

    Description: "DART-Europe is a partnership of research libraries and library consortia who are working together to improve global access to European research theses" - publisher's info.

  • British Library - E-Theses Online Service (EThOS) ?

    Description: EThOS is the UK’s national thesis service which aims to maximise the visibility and availability of the UK’s doctoral research theses. - Publisher's description.

  • Open Access Theses and Dissertations (OATD) ?

    Description: OATD.org aims to be the best possible resource for finding open access graduate theses and dissertations published around the world. - Publisher's description

Get articles

Music - Related Resources

  • Academic OneFile ?

    Description: More than 14,000 titles, including more than 9,000 peer-reviewed journals and more than 6,000 in full text. Extensive coverage of the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects since 1980.

  • LexisNexis Academic ?

    Description: Lexis-Nexis Academic is a rich source of news, business and legal information.

  • Globe & Mail (Historical) ?

    Description: Canada's national newspaper. Articles and full page reproductions of the complete newspaper from 1844 to 2012.

  • Sudbury Star Online Archives ?

    Description: The Sudbury Star Archive is an online database accessible over the Internet that provides subject access to full text articles from the Sudbury Star from 1999 to the present.

Music indexes and abstracts

RILM Abstracts of Music Literature. 1967- Online.
JSTOR. Online. Full-text journals, including for music. Embargo of three to five years.
The Music Index. 1949-78. Print.
Canadian Music Periodical Index.  To 2012. Online

Get recordings & scores

Online Listening Resources

  • Jazz Music Library ?

    Description: "The largest and most comprehensive streaming audio collection of jazz music, featuring thousands of jazz performers from legendary record labels. It currently provides streaming access to more than 130,000 tracks, with new recordings added monthly" - publisher's description.

  • Naxos Music Library ?

    Description: "Complete catalogues or selected recordings of over 400 independent labels such as ARC, Berlin Classics, BIS, Capriccio, Chandos, CPO, EMI Classics, Erato, Haenssler Classic, Hungaroton, Marco Polo, Naïve, Naxos, Nimbus, Ondine, Teldec, Vanguard Classics, Virgin Classics and Warner Classics. ...More than 78,760 CD-length recordings equivalent to 1,132,100 tracks uploaded, with addition of over 1,000 CD-length recordings every month." -- publisher's description.

Canadian Contemporary Music

Centrestreams has broadcast and concert recordings for free listening online. You must create an account first with the Canadian Music Centre.

Search Tips

Often the piece is contained in larger collections of similar works. For instance, if you are looking for Beethoven's Third Symphony, enter in the search box: Beethoven symphonies. That way you would retrieve all recordings and scores of Beethoven's symphonies. Beethoven's Third is also known as the Eroica, so you will retrieve some scores and recordings by using the keyword, Eroica.

You can search only for scores, recordings and videos. Click on the advanced search and then click on Item Types to choose such media as Notated music (scores), Musical sound recordings, or Projected medium (video).

You can search by location. The CDs at the Music Resource Centre (MRC) while the J.N. Desmarais Library (JND) has vinyl LPs. If you want to find only the CD, choose Music Resource Centre instead of Laurentian University from the Basic Menu.

Get style manuals

Style Manuals and Writing

The Music program recommends the Chicago Manual of Style and Turabian's Manual for Writers. The other books listed below are also excellent for writing and style.

How to Write About Music: The RILM Manual of Style. Print. 2nd ed. 2005.
Writing About Music. Print. 4th ed. 2009.
Chicago Manual of Style. Print. 17th ed. 2017.
A Manual for Writers of Term Papers, Theses, and Dissertations. By Kate Turabian and others. Print. 8th ed. 2013.
Purdue Online Writing Lab (OWL). Online.

Track your research

Zotero, a free, browser-based citation manager, is the recommended tool to collect, organize, cite and share your research.

Citing sources

See our Citation Style Guides for quick reference on commonly used citation styles.