You are here
Newspaper and magazine articles can be a good source of up-to-date information on virtually any topic.
|Canadian Business and Current Affairs|
|Description:||With high-quality indexing for over 1,700 publications, CBCA Complete provides more than 600 publications in full-text (half are published in Canada). Broad coverage from a Canadian perspective spans agriculture, business and economics, education, government and politics, health sciences, history, literature, medical sciences, social sciences, and many more subject areas.|
|Canadian Periodical Index. Quarterly|
|Description:||The CPI provides access to articles from a comprehensive list of Canadian and international journals, magazines, selected sections of the Globe and Mail, Canadian biographies and other reference content from Gale™, all with a Canadian focus. Indexing from 1980 to present; Full-text articles from 1983 to present.|
|Eureka (Biblio Branchée)|
|Description:||Canadian French-language database containing more than 5000 reliable and pertinent news sources covering international, national, regional and local news.|
Newspapers and Magazines are considered to be primary sources since they are often the first published account of an event. Laurentian University has a wide range of newspapers from many parts of Canada. These may be available in many formats - paper, electronic, or microform.
|Early Canadian Periodicals to 1920 (via Early Canadiana Online)|
|Description:||These early periodicals are an invaluable source of information for researchers as they offer a remarkable record of the development of thought and opinion on diverse issues as Canada grew. Many of Canada's initial prominent poets, novelists, scientists and great minds were first known through their works published in periodicals. A taste of periodical titles includes The Nova Scotia Magazine, The Canadian Illustrated News, La bibliothèque canadienne; The Halifax Monthly Magazine, The Literary Garland, Les Soirées canadiennes, The Amaranth, The Kamloops Wawa, Punch in Canada, and Gazette des campagnes.|
|Description:||Includes an Annotated Index to the Canadian Bookman; Annotated Index to the Canadian Forum, 1920-2000; Annotated Index to the Canadian Magazine, 1893-1914; Annotated Index to Everywoman's World, 1914-1923; The Financial Post Index, 1907-1948; Index to Maclean's Magazine, 1905-1976; Annotated Index to Massey's Magazine, 1896-1897; Index to the Monetary Times of Canada, 1867-1929; Index to Saturday Night, 1887-1945 and Annotated Index to the University Magazine, 1901-1920|
British Colonist 1858-1910.Published in Victoria, it became the leading paper in the colonies of Vancouver Island and British Columbia, and was the paper for the province of British Columbia until the emergence of Vancouver and competitors in the 1890s.
Globe and Mail, 1844- This link leads to another link on the right, Canada's Heritage from 1844, The Globe and Mail. Searchable in five year time spans.
Google Newspapers (formerly, Paper of Record). Short runs of Canadian and some North American papers, mostly published in the nineteenth-century and early twentieth centuries.
Winnipeg Tribune 1890-1980. Available from the University of Manitoba Libraries' digital collections.
Canadian Newspapers and Magazines.
When looking for a specific newspaper or magazine, check the catalogue for holdings. You may also find it useful to browse Laurentian's collection of Microfilms
The Internet Library of Early Journals (British)
The core collection for the project are runs of: The Annual Register (1758-1778), Blackwood's Edinburgh Magazine (1843-1863), Gentlemen's Magazine (1731-1750), Notes and Queries (1849-1869), Philosophical Transactions of the Royal Society (1757-1777), The Builder (1843-1852).
The New York Times Index, 1851 - 2016.