You are here
To learn more about the library and its resources and how you can exploit them to your advantage, register in the Research Skills Tutorial on D2L. There are several sections in the tutorial with a short quiz at the end of each; at the end you will receive a Certificate of Completion. Many professors require you to take this tutorial--and once you finish it, you can save your certificate to reprint as often as necessary.
In the fall, the library hosts live Orientation tours as well as Zotero classes which you can sign up for at the library's entrance, and even after the formal schedule is finished, we are very happy to put on special classes at the request of at least 5 students. If you would like to arrange a special class, or you think your course would benefit from some in-class library instruction, please ask your professor to contact the librarian responsible for your faculty to set up some sessions.
Dictionaries and Encyclopedias
Encyclopedia of political science. 2011. Online.
A Very Short Introduction Series (Oxford University Press)
Citizenship: a very short introduction. 2008. Online.
Democracy: a very short introduction. 2004. Online.
European Union: a very short introduction. 2001. Online.
Fascism: a very short introduction. 2002. Online.
Globalization: a very short introduction. 4th ed. 2017. Print.
Human rights: a very short introduction. 2007. Online.
International law: a very short introduction. 2015. Print.
Liberalism: a very short introduction. 2015. Print.
Machiavelli: a very short introduction. 2000. Print.
Marx: a very short introduction. 2nd ed. 2018. Print.
Neoliberalism: a very short introduction. 2010. Print.
Politics: a very short introduction. 2000. Print.
Plato: a very short introduction. 2003. Print.
Political philosophy: a very short introduction. 2003. Online.
United Nations: a very short introduction. 2008. Online.
Librarian for Political Science
In the library: The Library User Assistance Desk to your immediate left as you enter the library is a good place to start.
By email: Email the librarian responsible for your faculty for a reply during regular working hours.
By telephone: 705-675-4803, or toll free at 1-800-661-1058, ext. 2
For Distance Education students: Telephone: 1-800-661-1058, ext. 2 or email: firstname.lastname@example.org
Recommended books on research and writing
A Student's guide for writing in political science. 1997. Online.
Making sense: A student's guide to research and writing: Social sciences. 7th ed. 2018. Print.
Nelson guide to research and writing in political science. 2013. Print.
Political science student writer's manual. 2006. Print.
Understanding political science research methods. 2013. Print.
Writing a research paper in political science: A practical guide to inquiry, structure, and methods. 2016. Print.
The Department recommends either Chicago/Turabian or APA for citation and bibliography.
Chicago Manual of Style. 17th ed. 2017. Print.
A Manual for writers of research papers, theses, and dissertations: Chicago style for students and researchers (Turabian/Booth). 8th ed. 2013. Print.
Publication manual of the American Psychological Association. 6th ed. 2010. Print.
Cite right: A quick guide to citation styles -- MLA, APA, Chicago, the sciences, professions, and more. 2011. Print.
The Purdue Online Writing Lab is a standard resource for citation styles including APA, MLA and Chicago/Turabian.
Citations and Bibliography: Use Zotero
We recommend Zotero, an open-access citation manager that enables you to:
- Directly import references from article databases, the library catalogue, e-book collections, etc.
- Manage and organize your references.
- Create a bibliography.
- Share your references with others
- Add in-text citation and a bibliography directly into your assignment