This guide brings together recommended resources for finding and doing research within the Social Work program.
Citation style: APA
APA is the citation style that is normally required in Social Work.
Social Work : main resources
Social work is an interdisciplinary field that draws on many health and health-related disciplines, such as psychology, sociology, and law & justice.
Offers extensive coverage of more than 900 social work and human services journals dating back to 1965. Access is limited to 4 concurrent users.
Provides bibliographic coverage of current research focused on social work, human services, and related areas, including social welfare, social policy, and community development. The database abstracts and indexes over 1,300+ serials publications and includes abstracts of journal articles and dissertations, and citations to book reviews.
PubMed comprises more than 21 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.
CINAHL (Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature) provides indexing for more than 2,980 journals from the fields of nursing and allied health. The database contains more than 2,000,000 records dating back to 1981.
PsycINFO is an electronic bibliographic database providing abstracts and citations to the scholarly literature in the psychological, social, behavioral, and health sciences. The database includes material of relevance to psychologists and professionals in related fields such as psychiatry, management, business, education, social science, neuroscience, law, medicine, and social work. Updated weekly, PsycINFO provides access to journal articles, books, chapters, and dissertations.
Covers the international literature of sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences since 1952. Also provides abstracts of books, book chapters, dissertations, conference papers and working papers.
Social Work : additional resources
Statistics Canada's Data service provides free access to data tables, community profiles, thematic maps, and public-use microdata files (PUMFs). It replaces the CANSIM database.
Statista is a global data and business intelligence platform with an extensive collection of statistics, reports, and insights on over 80,000 topics from 22,500 sources in 170 industries.