The finding aids at the Archives contain fonds level descriptions. These descriptions contain the following elements:
| Fonds level description | Explanation of elements in a fonds level description |
|---|---|
P082 CBC Radio, Sudbury fonds | P082 is the accession number. It is a unique number assigned by the archives to the fonds. It is followed by the name of the creator of the records to create the name of the fonds |
1978-2003 | The date range refers to the dates the material was created. |
22.86 m of textual records and 43 audio recordings | Textual materials are measured in linear meters rather than counting the number of pages like you would do for a book. This is referred to as the extent of the material. If there are photographs, films or audio records, the number of them will be listed. |
Administrative history or biographical sketch: CBC Radio (CBCS) in Sudbury began operations in the spring of 1978. The station’s broadcast area is from Parry Sound to James Bay and from Mattawa to Wawa. It carries a combination of regional and national programming. Local weekday shows include: Morning North, Points North, and Radio Noon. | A description of the organization or a biography of the creator will provide general background information to give context to the records and help researchers assess the relevance of the archival material. |
Scope and content: The CBC Radio, Sudbury fonds consists of scripts, logs, newscast, and research notes of some of the locally produced programs. The recordings are from Morning North. The fonds contains recorded information from the newscasts, and from Morning North. | A description is also included of the content of the fonds itself such as the types and subject matter of the records. |
Note : Immediate source of acquisition: The fonds was deposited in 1994. Accruals: A second accrual was received in 2001 and a third in October 2004. | The notes can contain a variety of different information such as the language of the archival material, whether there are restriction on access the material or refer to other related materials in the archives. The accrual information will tell when the archives received material for the fonds after the initial acquisition. |
- What are archives?completed
- Why do research in the archives?completed
- How are archives organized?completed
- How to find information in the archivescompleted
- How to read a fonds level description
- Searching the archives using Archeionnot completed
- Evaluating your sourcesnot completed
- Accessing the Archives and help with your researchnot completed