Searching the archives using Archeion

Archeion is an archival information database that can be searched online.  It contains information about the archival holdings of approximately 200 institutions in Ontario. 

The link from our website brings you to the Archeion page for Laurentian University Archives.  Connect to our collections.

The column on the left-hand side of the screen “Browse results” provides a list you can browse of all the fonds and collections that we have in the Archives.   

Tips and Tricks for searching Archeion

The browse button at the top of the screen should be used if you are interested in searching through the archival holdings of all institutions in Archeion.  You can search specifically within the following categories:

• Archival Description: These are the descriptions of the records that archives have, including such information as fonds or collection title, dates, and details about the creators of the records. 

• People and Organizations: Theses are the individuals or organizations that created the records held in the archives.

• Archival Institutions: You can search to find out a particular archive in Archeion.  This will give you their contact information and a list of their fonds and collections. 

• Subjects / Places: you can search by subject or place names that have been used to describe fonds and collections.  Be careful because not all archives use these headings.

• Digital objects: you can search for digital objects, such as scanned photographs or digital documents, that Archives have made available.  Note that archives may have digital records holdings that are not uploaded to Archeion.  You may need to contact them to get access. 

   

“Search our holdings” should be used to restrict your result to that which is held at Laurentian University.