You are here


Research Help & general information

Library Hours

Visit our Library Assistance Desk on the second floor for research assistance, help with library services, and for general information about the Library. View our OneCard tips. You can also call us at extension 3242 from campus, or dial 705-675-4803 and press 1 from off campus.

Research Consultations

You can make an appointment with a Librarian or the Archivist for in-depth assistance with your research. Contact the Librarian responsible for your subject area.

Assistance by email

If you need assistance, you can also email the Librarian responsible for your subject area. We try to reply to email inquiries within one business day (Monday through Friday) of receiving your question.

If your question refers to the Special Collections housed in the archives, or pertains to an archival fonds, send your question to and the archives will answer it. Depending on the complexity of your request, it may take up to a month to satisfy your query.

Accessibility Services

Working in co-operation with Accessibility Services,  the J.N. Desmarais Library provides research and library services and assistive technologies to students with disabilities. For specific information,  please email Accessibility Services.

Centre for Academic Excellence

The Library is home to the University’s Centre for Academic Excellence, a hub of resources for students located on the second floor.  Its customized approach includes Academic Advantage, Learning Assistance, Degree Exploration and Career Planning, Student Engagement, and Tutor Training programs. For further information, please email


Title Post date Summary
Daily use lockers now available 2016-09-21 Lockers at the J.N. Desmarais Library are available for daily use and are located on the 3rd floor of the library. The...
Library Teaching Programme: Fall 2016 2016-08-15 LIBR 1000E: Orientation to the Library LIBR 2000E: Searching Library Databases and Google Scholar: Tips and Tricks LIBR...
Changes in Librarian Liaison Responsibilities 2016-07-25 The Library & Archives tries to ensure that all faculty members have a librarian to whom they can address their library-...

Direct Borrowing

Students who visit other university libraries in Canada may borrow directly from these libraries with a valid student photo ID, and may return these books at Laurentian at no charge. For further details contact:

Interlibrary Loans - RACER

Students may obtain material not held in the J.N. Desmarais Library by using the RACER system.

You must register first to be authenticated using your Laurentian ID.

Generally, ILL material is free, although small charges may be incurred if books are not picked up or returned late.

Articles will be emailed to you upon arrival. Pick up books once you are notified by email they have arrived, at the Borrower Service desk, second floor.

A book may only be borrowed once.  It may not be renewed or borrowed a second time.

For more information, please read our Interlibrary Loan policies, or email

J.N. Desmarais Library Lockers

The lockers at the J.N. Desmarais Library are available for daily use and are located on the 3rd floor of the library. The lockers are available to all Laurentian University students on a first-come, first-served basis. A valid student card must be presented in order to pick up the key at the “Library Assistance” counter.

There is no charge for locker use, but the user is responsible for any fines payable for not returning the key on time; the key is due back before the closing time of the library. A user is responsible for removing all items before returning the key.  All unclaimed items will be sent to Security.

The J.N. Desmarais Library is not responsible for any items stored in a locker. The user is responsible for his/her belongings; the use of a locker is at the user’s own risk. The J.N. Desmarais Library assumes no liability for any items stored in the lockers.

Off-Campus Library Services

If you are a distance education student or on placement in your program and you reside 50 kilometres or more from Sudbury, you are eligible for Off-Campus Library Services.

Student Photo Identification Cards

Student photo identification cards are the property of Laurentian University and are used by University faculties, services and staff to identify you as a student and to give access to campus services. These include library privileges, photocopier use, cafeteria, entrance to exams, gym and university residence access, university events, city bus pass, and discounts from community businesses. The photo identification card must also be presented for identification at exams.

Getting a student photo identification card
As of August 22nd, 2016 you may obtain a student photo identification card from the myLaurentian Hub located on the first floor, R.D. Parker Building (formerly known as the Registrar’s Student Service Centre).

Zotero is a free, web-based citation manager that allows you to: 

  • Directly import references from article databases, the library catalogue, e-book collections, etc.
  • Manage and organize your references.
  • Create a bibliography.
  • Share your references with others
  • Add in-text citation and a bibliography directly into your assignment 

Getting started with Zotero:

Floor Plans




Brenda Wallace Computer Centre

The Brenda Wallace Computer Centre is located on the second floor. You may use the computer room when it is not being used by a scheduled class. Brenda Wallace Reading Room and Computer Centre Usage Policy​. Please note--like the third floor, the BWCC has been designated as a quiet area.

Brenda Wallace Reading Room

Brenda Wallace Reading Room is situated on the third floor. Come to the reading room to read, study, or relax with a book or periodical. Brenda Wallace Reading Room and Computer Centre Usage Policy​.  Please note--like the third floor, the BWCC has been designated as a quiet area.

Library Lounge

This year, a new library Lounge has been set aside for you on the third floor (339-343)

Graduate study rooms

Graduate students may register at Borrowers Service Desk for their own private rooms located on the third floor.

These rooms are assigned on a first-come, first-served basis for the week, but because of large waiting lists, rooms unused for a week will be re-assigned. Five have been set aside for daily use. The rooms are checked regularly to see that library material in them is signed out; if it is not, room privileges may be revoked.

For further details, contact Borrower  Services, ext. 4800.

Group study rooms

The library has private study rooms that will seat from 2 to 12 people and these may be reserved at the Borrower Services Desk for up to 3 hours.


Facilities are located near the elevators on each floor of the library. All washrooms are fully accessible.

J.N. Desmarais Library Lockers

The lockers at the J.N. Desmarais Library are available for daily use and are located on the 3rd floor of the library. The lockers are available to all Laurentian University students on a first-come, first-served basis. A valid student card must be presented in order to pick up the key at the “Library Assistance” counter.

There is no charge for locker use, but the user is responsible for any fines payable for not returning the key on time; the key is due back before the closing time of the library. A user is responsible for removing all items before returning the key.  All unclaimed items will be sent to Security.

The J.N. Desmarais Library is not responsible for any items stored in a locker. The user is responsible for his/her belongings; the use of a locker is at the user’s own risk. The J.N. Desmarais Library assumes no liability for any items stored in the lockers.

Angus Gilbert Reading Room (Archives)

Located on the first floor of the library, the Angus Gilbert Reading Room is accessible to everyone, and is a great place for people looking for a quiet environment to study, read and work.

Angus Gilbert Reading RoomThe Reading Room can accommodate up to 40 researchers.



Located  just outside the main entrance to the library, the Rotunda is available 24/7 for those who like to talk, eat lunch, access the Internet--and even study. 

photo of the main stairwell leading up to the Library with the Starbucks café


The reserve collection, periodicals, the reference collection, recreational paperbacks, newspapers, as well as indexes and abstracts are located on the second floor.

Circulating books and the government documents collection are located on the third.

The Archives, located on the first floor of the Desmarais Library, houses the following special collections: Regional; Faculty; Mining Environment Vertical Files; Rare Books; 4th Years Honours Essay and Graduate Theses; and Archives.

The J.N. Desmarais Library & Archives also contains several specialized collections spread throughout the building such as the Collection franco-ontarienne and the Mining Environment collection.


Numeric and geospatial data are also available for teaching and research. Laurentian has a site licence for software such as SPSS and ArcGIS Desktop. For assistance, contact Mr. Tomasz Mrozewski,  ext. 3325 or


E-books are located in two different places:

Many ebooks may be located with the library’s catalogue. These records will have [electronic resource] in the title and will offer a link to the e-book on the search results page.

Ebooks can also be located by searching in e-book collections. Some recommended ebook collections include:

  • Scholars Portal Ebooks (over 250,000 ebooks in multiple subject areas. Select Full Text Only to find only those ebooks with full text)
  • Ebrary (close to 40,000 ebooks in multiple subject areas)



Past exams in many disciplines are available to consult in English and French.

Access to the Collections

Access to the library's collections is available from terminals throughout the building. The library is also wireless, so you may work on your own laptop.

Books within the library are accessible through the catalogue in various ways including by author, title and subject. So too are all the special collections housed in the Archives as well as government documents . If you need help finding government information in print or online, consult Mr. Tomasz Mrozewski, ext 3325.

Periodical articles are found using online indexes and abstracts from the library’s home page from on- and off-campus. We list recommended databases and other online and print resources by subject.

The library subscribes to 50,000 periodicals in full-text electronic format. For those available only in print or in microformat, use the catalogue to see whether the J.N. Desmarais Library has the periodical title containing the article you want. Like books, periodicals In print are organized on the shelves by Library of Congress call number; periodicals in microformat are organized by title.


The archival fonds are all on or from Northern Ontario. These primary sources mostly pertain to (by alphabetical order) : Arts, culture and communications media; Clubs & social organizations;  Economy; Education; Labour; Mining industries and related activities; Politics & Politicians; Population & socio-ethnic groups; Religious communities; and Sudbury.

Finding aids for Laurentian’s archival fonds are most easily accessed from the Archives or contact


A selection of popular paperbacks, most contributed by the SGA, is available on the third floor.  In 2011,  graphic novels were added to this collection.


DVDs are located on the second floor of the Library. 


Topographical maps for the country and base maps for Ontario are located in the geography department.


The library has a large collection of 33 1/3 rpm (long play) recordings comprised mostly of classical music from the baroque era through to the twentieth century.

There also is a selection of jazz and popular music recordings. The loan period is one week.


OneCard Loader

Located on the second floor in the "Learning Commons", the OneCard loader will allow you to replenish your LU ID card. You can redeem money from your card throughout the campus at various photocopiers, printers, vending machines, coffee shops and the cafeteria.

Laptops, Chromebooks and Calculators

Students can borrow laptops, chromebooks and scientific calculators at the Borrower Services Desk. For details, contact Borrower Services.

External DVD drives

The Windows workstations in the J.N. Desmarais Library & Archives (both in the Learning Commons and in the Brenda Wallace Computer Lab) do not have internal DVD drives. Students who wish to watch a DVD at the J.N. Desmarais Library & Archives and who do not have a laptop with an internal drive can borrow one of the five external DVD drives available from the Borrower Services desk:

Note: The user must supply their own headphones or earbuds with a 3.5mm jack to listen to the DVD.

Photocopiers / Scanners

Photocopiers are available on the second floor. Your student photo ID card (OneCard) serves as your photocopy card. Visit the OneCard Loading machine in the Learning Commons to add money to your card, or online at

You can scan from any of the library photocopiers and email the output to yourself. There is no charge for the use of photocopiers to scan, and it is capable of scanning in black & white, grey, or colour. For help using the photocopier to scan, please ask at the Research Help Desk.


Printers are located in the Learning Commons on the second floor. Printing is available in black & white or colour.

You can print from workstations in the Learning Commons.

Once the document is sent to the printer, swipe your OneCard next to the printers to retrieve your document.


An in-house phone which reaches university numbers is available near the book bin on the first floor.

USB Charging station

Plug your cable into our USB charging station to top up your phone or tablet - located by the vending machine.

Microform Readers

New equipment has been placed in the Microform section of the second floor, which gives you the option of converting pages on microform to .pdf documents.



A valid student photo identification card must be presented before books can be borrowed.


Undergraduates may borrow up to 30 circulating books for 3 weeks.

Graduate students may borrow up to 50 books for 4 months, subject to recall after 3 weeks.

All books may be renewed up to 3 times unless requested by another borrower. If a book is required for reserve, it must be returned within 3 days.

Reserve Material

Your professor may request that the library place material on 1, 2 or 4 hour, 1, 3 or 7 day reserve. The Reserves list enables you to search for reserve material.

Email Notification

For items with a loan period of more than four days, a reminder notice will be sent to the email address associated with your library system account before the item is overdue. Two overdue notices will be sent to the same email address after the item is overdue.

After an item is more than 30 days overdue, you will be sent another notice, and a $5 fine will be applied to your account.

Fees / Fines

Overdue book - $.50/day to $15 maximum

Overdue reserve item due at a specific hour - $.50/hour to $30 maximum

Overdue reserve item due specific day - $2/day to $30 maximum

Lost book - $5 service charge plus fines owing plus replacement cost for in-print titles; $30 for out-of-print titles.

Fees for the replacement of lost photo ID cards are set at $25.00 for the first card, $50.00 for the second card, and $75.00 for the third card (or more).

If you have incurred any library fines, you may pay in person at the Access Services desk on the 2nd floor of the JN Desmarais Library (cash or debit) or by cheque, money order, or credit card.

Cheques and money orders can be made out to Laurentian University and sent to:

Attention: Access Services

J.N. Desmarais Library

935 Ramsey Lake Road

Sudbury ON P3E 2C6

Credit card payments can be made by telephone. Please call the Borrower Services at 1-800-661-1058, extension 4 or 705-675-4800 to pay with VISA or Mastercard.


Special Processing and Searches

All items on order are indicated in the online catalogue. If there is a particular title that has been received but is not yet available for circulation, please fill out a CAN'T FIND A BOOK? form available on the pods containing library chromebooks. Under normal circumstances, you will have the book in your hands within 48 hours. You may also use this slip to request that the library search for a book missing from the shelf.

For further information about Access Services, contact Access Services.

Your LU Library Account

Login to your library account through the catalogue to renew your books, to see which books you have out, to place holds, and to verify whether you have fines owing.

Your username and password are the same as your LaurentianID account.


Renewing books


A book, if not requested by another borrower, can be renewed for a further three week period.

All books may be renewed up to three (3) times unless requested by another borrower.

  1. Open the Laurentian University Library System catalogue.
  2. then click on "My Account"
  3. then, enter your Laurentian username
  4. then, enter your "password".   If it does not work, please click on "Forgot your password?"

      my account screen shot

  5. then, click on "Items Checked Out"
  6. check the items you want to renew
  7. then, click on "Renew Selected Items"
  8. Please make note of the new renewal date.
  9. lastly, click on "Logout"

D2L Library Research Skills Tutorial

The Research Skills Tutorial can teach you how to use library resources and efficient strategies for successful academic research.

To register for the Research Skills tutorial, log in to D2L and add it to your course list:

  1. Click on the Self Registration button at the top of the page.
  2. Select "Research Skills Tutorial 2016-17" from the course list
  3. Click Register. The form should be pre-filled with your information.
  4. Click Submit and then Finish to complete the registration. The course should now appear in your course list.

If you run into problems, have any questions, or are interested in getting customized research skills instruction in your class, please contact the Librarian responsible for your subject area.

NOTE: The Ask the Library online chat service cannot help you with the Research Skills Tutorial, as the chat operators do not have access to this D2L course.

The library also offers in-person instruction sessions at the start of each term:a general orientation session a class on the Zotero, bibliographic management tool; and a session on database searching with Google Scholar.


J.N Desmarais Libary & Archives Policies

Notification of policy change

The JND Library and Archives has changed  its borrowing policy.

As of July 1, 2015, borrowing privileges were suspended as soon as library users had a balance of late fees on their account. Under the previous policy, “borrowing privileges are suspended once the fee is $10.00 or more.”

To check your library account balance, login to My Account with your LaurentianID. If you have any questions about the policy change, please write to or call the Library and Archives at 705-675-4800.

Collection Development Policy (pdf file) - to view specific details of the Collection Development Policy.

Donation Policy (pdf file)

Policy on the Access and Loan of Library Materials (pdf file) - to find out the specifics on loan periods, renewals, and charge

Library Code of Conduct (pdf file)

Brenda Wallace Reading Room and Computer Centre Usage Policy (pdf file)

Copyright at Laurentian University 


Other Campus Libraries/Resource Centres

J.N. Desmarais Library & Archives

The J.N. Desmarais Library & Archives is located adjacent to the Classroom Building. The entrance is on the 2nd floor.

Phone: 705-675-4800
Toll-free: 1-800-661-1058

Hours of Operation




Phone: 705-675-1151 ext. 3306

Hours of Operation


If your inquiry pertains to the opening hours of the special collections (Regional, Faculty, Rare Books, Essays and Thesis), they are accessible on Tuesday - Friday, between 9:30 am-12:00 pm, 1:00 pm to 4:00 pm. No appointment is necessary.

Please be advised that an appointment is required prior to your visit to the Archives for all search requests concerning archival fonds. Access to and reference for archival materials will be offered only on Thursdays and Fridays.


Architecture Collection

The Architecture Collection is located at the Laurentian School of Architecture (downtown Sudbury)

Hours of Operation

Monday - Friday
9 AM - 4:30 PM
5 PM - 8 PM
1 PM - 5 PM

Library hours are subject to change on short notice.

Please call in advance:

(705) 675-1151 Ext. 7272

J.W. Tate Library, Huntington University

The J.W. Tate Library is located on the northern end of Huntington University.

Phone: 705-673-4126, ext. 220

Hours of Operation


University of Sudbury Library

The University of Sudbury Library is located on the second floor of the Laurent Larouche Building of the University of Sudbury (Room 213.)  

The University of Sudbury has collections specialized in the following subjects: Études journalistiques, Folklore et ethnologie, Indigenous Studies, Philosophy/philosophie, Ethics/Éthique and Religious Studies/Sciences religieuses

Phone: 705-673-5661 ext. 216

Hours of Operation


Health Sciences Library, NOSM

The Health Sciences Library is located in the Northern Ontario School of Medicine.

Phone: 705-662-7282

Hours of Operation

Curriculum Resource Centre

Located in Room E-102 of the Alphonse Raymond Building, the CRC houses provincial curriculum documents, educational methods and strategy texts, specific texts for all subjects covered under the Ontario Curriculum.

You can also find picture books, DVDs, instruments, and other manipulative resources specifically used in today's classroom.

Phone: 705-675-1151 ext. 5024

Hours of Operation

Monday - Thursday :  8:30 am to 7:00 pm

Friday : 8:30 am to 11:30 am

Music Resource Centre

The MRC is located in the English School of Education, Room 106C.

Phone: 705-675-1151 ext. 2529

Hours of Operation

Monday: 10:30 to 12:30
Tuesday: 9:30 to 12:30
Wednesday: CLOSED
Thursday: 9:30 to 12:30
Friday: 10:30 to 12:30


We are always interested in your opinion about our collections and services. If you have a suggestion, you may leave it on a compliments / questions / suggestions sheet near the exit to the library. You can request the addition of books, journal subscriptions, or research databases to the Laurentian University library collection.

You may also visit, phone or write:
Mr. Dan Scott
Chair, Department of Library and Archives
705-675-1151 ext. 3315 or


Mr. Brent Roe
University Librarian
705-675-1151 ext. 4841 or